We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An old lady still at the height of her powers”
Review of Princes Gate Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Princes Gate Hotel
Ranked #29 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Warkworth, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“An old lady still at the height of her powers”
Reviewed 29 June 2012

In one of the best locations in Rotorua, this "Oldie Worldie" gem is a classic of charm and service at a reasonable price. Large, well appointed rooms with comfortable furnishings, including the classic New Zealand extra large bathtubs, combine with a welcoming lounge and open fireplace for winter comfort. Breakfast options include either a continental choice or full cooked English one. The bar is well appointed with a wide choice of beverages.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank harrisbigstevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Guest Relations Manager at Princes Gate Hotel, responded to this review, 8 July 2012
Many thanks for your kind feedback.

Aside from its obvious historic charm, the convenience of Princes Gate Hotel to many local and notable attractions is for many of our valued guests, like yourself, one of the draw-cards of staying with us.

We're also glad to see that the standard of service and facilities met with your expectation, and we look forward to hosting you again in the not-too-distant future when you're next in Rotorua.

Warmest regards,

The PGH Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

783 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    296
    228
    143
    65
    51
See reviews for
131
424
25
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (226)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 June 2012

Gorgeous hotel with lovely rooms, friendly staff and wonderful lounge to read books in. Comfy leather chairs and couches. This would have been like a Grande Dame in the 1880's. Lovely hot pool and jacuzzi as well. The dinners were superb - fantastic chefs who produced delicious food. Nothing like it in Rotorua. Will return for one of their cabaret or opera evenings. Phantom of the Opera with the artists coming down the magnificent staircase must be awesome. Wish I had known about this hotel twenty years ago!

Room Tip: Would recommend the Estate or Designer Rooms. We stayed in Designer. The Classic Rooms are nice thou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Guest Relations Manager at Princes Gate Hotel, responded to this review, 8 July 2012
Hi Karen,

Thank you for taking time to share your feedback following your stay at our Hotel. We're so pleased you enjoyed the opportunity to relax and enjoy the ambience Princes Gate Hotel affords guests looking for a uniquely different experience. It's great to hear you also took advantage of our fabulous facilities, delicious menu, and exceptional service.

Please do stay with us again when you are next visiting our beautiful City, as it would be our pleasure to host you.

Warmest regards,

The PGH Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Napier
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2012

We stayed one night in this hotel as a post wedding treat.
Highly recommended if you want a experience of times gone by, but with modern additions such as an ensuite etc.
A high standard throughout - genuine - there are no compromises on quality of fittings. Fresh and clean - no musty old smells here - The owners should be proud.
Staff were experienced and excellent.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrincesGateHotel, Owner at Princes Gate Hotel, responded to this review, 21 June 2012
We would like to thank you for your wonderful comments, we really feel you have captured what our Hotel is all about. We offer that old world charm while losing none of the modern conveniences that are expected by todays guests. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and the great service you received. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards,

Brett Marvelly - Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2012

We loved our stay at this hotel for all the right reasons - wonderful personal service, a comfortable room which has retained its charm and the decor reflects this, staff who are absolutely passionate about the hotel, and a wonderful 'drawing room' with roaring fire and comfy leather couches. It was also a short walking distance to the nearby street which has a wide variety of places in which to dine. We will definitely return to this Rotorua treasure, and have recommended it to friends already!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrincesGateHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Princes Gate Hotel, responded to this review, 17 June 2012
Hi Linda,

Thank you for your kind comments and for becoming an "Ambassador" of our Hotel by recommending friends to stay with us based on your own recent stay.

We're genuinely pleased to hear that you received both a standard of service and accommodation which met with your expectation, and enjoyed the charm and ambience which has been the highlight of so many discerning travellers seeking a unique Hotel experience.

As you've already noted, given Princes Gate Hotel's convenient location in the heart of Rotorua, it's within easy walking distance of many of the City's most notable attractions and wonderful Cafe's and Restaurants.

We do hope you will visit with us again soon, as it would certainly be our pleasure to host you both when you're next in Rotorua.

Warmest regards,

PGH Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2012

We arrived for a spur of the moment overnight trip but this rates among the best hotel experiences we have ever had. We were greeted at reception and given a brief tour of the hotel and facilities. The staff member's passion for the hotel shone through, and for good reason - it is absolutely beautiful. Yes, expect the floors to creak, but the history is this place is palpable. Our room was huge and well appointed, and we were surprised that we couldn't hear the cabaret that was going on downstairs. Sadly, I fell ill on the one night we were there, so we couldn't take advantage of the show, but we heard people enthusing about it over breakfast and I think we will be back to make up for the fact we missed it the first time round. The pools were also a highlight. Well worth a visit and a good deal more charismatic than the faceless hotel chains that Rotorua has so many of.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jesseliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrincesGateHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Princes Gate Hotel, responded to this review, 10 June 2012
Many thanks for furnishing your comments with regard to your stay at our Boutique Hotel.

We're pleased that you enjoyed the history afforded in the such an iconic building as Princes Gate, and like us, you recognise that unlike our modern-day counterparts, our Hotel is an acquired taste best suited to travellers seeking something uniquely different in a Hotel.

As you've noted in your comments, our individually appointed rooms can be very spacious, and each room is beautifully and tastefully decorated.

We do hope you will stay us again, and take advantage of our Cabaret on your next visit, as we're sure you'll find this equally enjoyable.

Warmest regards,

The PGH Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2012

We decided to spend a second night in Rotorua after seeing this magnificent hotel after a short visit at the Rotorua Museum. We inquired about the price for one night and were suprised how low it was the reason being it was off-season in NZ (end of May) and we were even upgraded. The room was lovely, clean, quaint, very comfortable, and the staff was so friendly and so professional. We enjoyed the foyer where we can sit in leather couches, close to a fireplace, and do our internet stuff free of charge. Dinner was lovely and delicious and the waiter was very very nice. Breakfast was also nice and simple but this was our choice. My only negative comment is the shower (pressure is low and temperature of water varies a lot without warning). Otherwise, I would recommend this hotel to anybody who likes a bit of history and enjoys a nice environment with friendly staff. One comment to the owners: you should not clutter the outside of your lovely building with all that advertisement. It gives the impression that business is not doing well and you do not need that to capture the interest of possible clients. Congratulations on keeping this lovely building in excellent conditions. We enjoy our stay very much. Odette Dumas and Carroll Garayt from Montréal, Quebec, Canada.

Room Tip: We were upgraded so it is not easy for me to tell you about the other rooms but as the doors were op...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Odette D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrincesGateHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Princes Gate Hotel, responded to this review, 10 June 2012
Dear Odette and Carroll,

Thank you for investing the time in providing us feedback of your recent stay at our Hotel. We're so pleased your overall experience was an enjoyable one. We strive to provide the highest standard of service and we're glad this was evident to you through both the helpfulness of our staff and the ambience of the Hotel.

We look forward to hosting you again when you next visit New Zealand.

Warmest regards,

PGH Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2012

Forget your Novotel's, Hyatt's and Hilton's. This authentic, charming Hotel oozes charm and sophistication of an earlier age. Imagine Downton Abbey in Rotorua, and you're halfway there.
No, it's not perfect, but that's half the charm! Our first impression was 'WOW, what a brilliant entrance, with roaring fires, leather lounges, charming original pictures and prints of a bygone era....we couldn't wait to change and have a champagne by the fire (which we did!).

OK - down to business.

On arrival, we were greeted by a wonderful woman (sorry, forgot her name) who welcomed both my wife and I warmly. She showed us to our room (room 15). Superbly situated on the corner with windows on 2 sides, allowing ample sunlight. A small room, but beautifully decorated and in keeping with the period...we were delighted.

We changed and decided to eat at the here. I ordered the Rib eye fillet medium rare (arrived medium well) and Sue had the scallops. The Maitre'd was courteous and professional and offered a new steak (refused)...but it was nice to be asked.
The rear of the hotel has a delightful courtyard with outdoor furniture and 3 magnificent spas each cascading into each other. Very private and hot.
We went to the Caberet show the next night - and to be honest, it was fantastic! Up close and intimate dining during the show made it more enjoyable. Professional and upbeat, great music in the ballroom and a delicious winelist made the evening a great success.
We read the various reviews on this establishment (both good and bad), and we've come to this conclusion: We didn't want flash and new. We wanted something of substance, where premises like this has a million of stories to tell, of drinking port by a roaring fire in beautiful old leather chairs. The creak of the grand staircase and knowing that, for only a short time, we lived 'just like the old days'.
Thank you to all the staff. We have convinced 5 other couples to have a weekend of indulgence (of an old fashioned sort) in the very near future here.

If in Rotorua, it would be a crime not to stay here!

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms (especially room 15) with the balcony entrance/exit add to the charm of this exquisit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SC22363
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrincesGateHotel, Owner at Princes Gate Hotel, responded to this review, 16 May 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank-you for your wonderful review and we are extremely glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Your words capture exactly the essence that we at the hotel strive to provide each and every guest. If you want history and personalised service then this is exactly the place for you. We look forward to greeting you again in the future.

Regards

Brett Marvelly - Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.3 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
706 reviews
0.3 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#18 of 92 in Rotorua
847 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Millennium Hotel Rotorua
0.1 mi away
Aura Accommodation
Aura Accommodation
#3 of 92 in Rotorua
185 reviews
1.2 mi away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Princes Gate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Princes Gate Hotel

Property: Princes Gate Hotel
Address: 1057 Arawa Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Rotorua
#25 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
#28 Romantic Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Princes Gate Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Princes Gate Hotel, the ideal accommodation whilst staying in Rotorua. The most famous Hotel in Rotorua built in 1897. This timeless, beautiful hotel is privately owned and operated. Our hotel rooms offer style and sophistication that depict a bygone era. The Princes Gate Hotel is not just a hotel but also an attraction. It has been masterfully restored through passionate attention to details. We look forward to having you stay with us in our beautiful & grand Princes Gate Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Princes Gate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Princes Gate Rotorua
Hotel Princes Gate

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing