We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful place to stay and even better staff!!”
Review of Princes Gate Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Princes Gate Hotel
Ranked #25 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Reviewed 3 August 2013

I spent a week in Rotorua at the Prince's Gate Hotel last week while attending the Altrusa International Convention and what a wonderful place to stay. Our room and bathroom were spacious and comfy, the hotel has a charm and character about it that is second to none. But the best thing about the Prince's Gate hotel is the owner Brett, Manager Ian, and all the staff there. They make you feel like you are family and coming home each time you walk into the hotel. A friendlier group I have not met, and I've travelled quite a bit. The hotel was also convenient to the Governor's Gardens and Rotorua Museum as well as downtown. Th

Room Tip: Didn't do it, but there are 3 thermal hot tubs to enjoy on the property!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DeniceRG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrincesGateHotel, Owner at Princes Gate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2013

We thank-you for your kind comments and it was a pleasure to have you stay with us. Our service is of the utmost importance and we are pleased you got to experience the great hospitality we have to offer. As you noted as-well (though unfortunately did not get to try) we have 3 outdoor and 1 private indoor thermal pool which are wonderful and relaxing and especially good on those chilly nights. We hope you can come back and try them on another occasion.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (819)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

543 - 549 of 819 reviews

Reviewed 2 August 2013

The hotel was recommended by our son who had stayed in one of the apartments a week before with his wife and son. From the outside it stands apart from any other. The staff were very friendly on arrival and the room was comfortable. The bathroom was very small for 5* hotel. Whilst sitting and relaxing in our room (28) we noticed a cobweb about a metre long hanging from the ceiling. There were holes in the walls where fittings had been removed and the backing of the carpet could be seen in places. We ordered a complimentary newspaper which did not appear, breakfast we thought was over priced. When leaving the next morning we noticed that the main staircase carpet leading from reception was in desperate need of a vacuum cleaner running over it. All in all the little things let the hotel down.

Room Tip: Get a better deal by booking on line.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Captain_Norris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrincesGateHotel, Owner at Princes Gate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2013

Thank-you for your feedback, it is always of value to us to receive both good and bad. Firstly I am pleased that you loved the look and feel of the hotel and that our service to you was of a high standard. Obviously word of mouth is the best advertising fr us so we are pleased that your son thought we were worth recommending to you.

In regard to your raised issues, firstly we apologise for cleanliness issues, these should not happen and have been brought up with our housekeeping team. We have extremely high standards and procedures in place to ensure these standards are kept. In this instance obviously there have been some issues that have been overlooked.

In regard to the small maintenance issues, these are things which do occasionally occur and we would definitely have these added to our maintenance schedule if they had been brought to our attention. Unfortunately we do not know which room you stayed in. The bathrooms are of different sizes, as with the nature of our hotel being an historic boutique hotel, all our rooms and thus bathrooms are of varying sizes & layout, even within a particular room category. The bathrooms themselves though still have all the amenities you would expect and have all been recently refurbished or are in the process of being so.

Thank-you again for your comments and we hope we may have the pleasure of you staying with us again and being able to show you that these were one off issues.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

It was by chance my friend and I drove past and were taken in by the classical beauty of the hotel, it was the sign for dinner and a show that sold it for us. The staff were very professional and polite and the entire establishment carried itself well.

The room was very basic but had lovely details with the furnishing. I was dissapointed with what you do get for the price that you pay for both the accommodation and the dinner (would have been nice to see some special touches, above and beyond). The ensuite bathroom was very small but it suited for one night stay. I could not fault the staff who are the most lovely and professional people in the industry.

The cabaret show was greatly entertaining, I don't know why this wasn't more popular!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Taniamorgan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrincesGateHotel, Owner at Princes Gate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2013

It is always great to hear from those who have stayed with us purely by happenstance and to know they enjoyed their stay. We do have a beautiful property as-well as fantastic entertainment every Saturday night (and any other night by request). The shows are very special and the 3 course meal is delicious. We do feel our accommodation, dinner & show package is excellent value @ $350.00 for 2 persons, but each person has a different budget.

We are also extremely pleased to hear that you received fantastic service, and as stated on other comments, our personalised service is the hallmark of the hotel. We hope you had a great rest of your holiday in NZ.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

My husband and I found this boutique hotel whilst searching for accommodation deals for Rotorua. I loved the history of it and the hotel looked lovely on the site. I didn't expect it to be as good as the pictures but it was and there was no disappointment. The hotel sits down at Government Gardens, away from the hustle and bustle of the other hotels and motels but very accessible to the town, tourist information and beautiful gardens. I was very impressed with the gentleman who took our case to our intended room as he decided to find us a different room due to a crying baby, without us having to request it. Breakfast was yummy but I regret not having had dinner there the night we arrived.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Crooksi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrincesGateHotel, Owner at Princes Gate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2013

Thank-you very much for your wonderful comments, they are much appreciated. All your points you made about our hotel are exactly what we are all about, especially recognising individual, guests requirements and reacting accordingly to make your stay as comfortable & enjoyable as possible.

We hope to have the opportunity to host you again and then you may get to try our delicious dinner menu on this occasion.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

we stayed at the Prices Gate for two nights recently on our trip through Rotorua.

we originally booked one of the Mayfair Apartments and requested a 2bed 2bath unit as we were travelling with our adult daughter. however when we arrived the room we had been allocated had only one bathroom and the only other 2x2 unit available was an additional $100/n which we didn’t want/need to pay, so they were happy to change our booking and moved us into two separate classic rooms in the main building.

the rooms are a little smaller which is probably to be expected in hotel of its age, but they are tastefully decorated and provide a quiet restful sleep. the only minor issue we had was the temperature in the rooms was a bit cool for us as the only heating is provided by an old steam heater on the wall, but again I would think that’s an age issue.

the hotel has a pleasant old world feel and the location is very central with easy walking to a wide variety of restaurants and cafés.

the staff were friendly and provided excellent advice on walks, tours, and attractions in the area.

overall it’s a pleasant place to stay and I think it’s a little better than average

Room Tip: make sure you check the facilities in the room/apartment you book as they are all different.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ColinAJA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrincesGateHotel, Owner at Princes Gate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2013

We appreciate your great comments about our hotel & the service you received. We are glad an agreeable solution was found for your initial issue and that this did not detract at all from your stay with us. As we have stated before, those who bring an issue to a hotels attention straight away allow the issue to be remedied & therefore the guest can enjoy their stay.

In regard to the heating, we apologise if the temperature was not hot enough. Normally the hotel is extremely warm and the heaters in the rooms provide a toasty environment for a cold night. As we are thermally heated though, every now and then we can get a drop in pressure leading to a slight drop in temperature - the nature of thermal heating. We do however have spare heaters available on request.

We do hope to have you stay again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

From the moment we arrived we had fantastic service with great food, the public areas are truly stunning and hot springs in the courtyard. It was great to see that the rooms are being updated as this is a beautiful historic building

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davidblackie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrincesGateHotel, Owner at Princes Gate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2013

Dear reviewer,

We are extremely happy to hear of your enjoyable stay. The service you received & our beautiful property are the hallmarks of our wonderful hotel. We are still renovating our last few rooms for the season and these will of course be fantastic additions to our other recently completed rooms & outdoor areas.

We hope to welcome you back to enjoy more great service & tasty food.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2013 via mobile

We stayed here in june. Our travel agent booked this as a five star place. When we were shown to our room it was in the adjoining building. It had "old charm" with really old fitting's. The bed had depressions in it from the thousands of people that had been through it. The carpet didn't join up and was frayed and even the guest information card had a greasy mark from a previous guest.

We sat in our room feeling deflated as this was by far the only "horrible" room we had seen in new Zealand. Once we muscled up the courage to see recption we were told that was the room our travel agent booked for us. This sole comment from their staff made me so angry. I have read the replies from princess gate on here and they will most likly claim my review is unfair. It is however honest in my eyes and from our experience. If you advertise 5 star it should reflect most of the rooms in your establishment if they don't meet that maybe you should fix them to avoid these kind of reviews. I would give a 2 star rating for the attached "apartments"

They did manage to change our room but only as I was about to demand a refund. The next room was better, but by my standards hardly 4 star with no in room safe and a shower with poor flow and minimal hot water and with no heating in a stone cold bathroom. Again their cleaning standards
were not really high.

In conclusion if you want to stay close to town and walking distance this place is great. If you don't mind a few little quirks and some old style charm it's for you. If you like cleanliness and modern maybe stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank PaulRutherford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrincesGateHotel, Owner at Princes Gate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2013

Dear reviewer,

In regard to previous comments, I have only been upfront and honest and offered a view from the other side. Firstly you did everything right as far as the hotel is concerned. You contacted reception and gave us the opportunity of rectifying your concerns. In terms of the actual complaint, I mentioned in a previous review approximately 2 weeks ago that the apartment that you were staying in is a beautiful space, large living area, great bathroom with spa bath and good size bedroom. I would imagine you would agree with these comments. In my last comment I also mentioned & I explained that we had 2 more apartments that we were completely revamping that included new carpet throughout. This is already under-way with new curtaining already in place with the time frame for completion in the next 14 days. I am pleased that you were shown to another room. I can assure you a refund wouldn't even have come into our decision process. Our main concern is that our guests leave fully satisfied and even if that meant the guest not wanting to stay we certainly would not have held them against their will. As I have stated many times, our motivation does not come from money, but from guest satisfaction. The receptionist has done the right thing here by upgrading to a Designer Room.
We are a thermally heated hotel and to be honest we don't normally have a problem with heating and on top of this the room has air-conditioning which just needs the guest to select their preferred temperature. Thank-you though for once again expressing the wonderful location we have. I do take exception to the cleanliness comment and this might have been a little emotive from the writer. If the information did have a grease mark then obviously this is unacceptable but I don't think fair to say the room was not clean because of that.
All in all in summary, I think as a hotel we reacted to the concerns appropriately.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.3 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
735 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aura Accommodation
Aura Accommodation
#3 of 92 in Rotorua
245 reviews
0.3 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#18 of 92 in Rotorua
886 reviews
6.7 mi away
Hamurana Lodge
Hamurana Lodge
#16 of 92 in Rotorua
410 reviews
0.3 mi away
Millennium Hotel Rotorua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Princes Gate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Princes Gate Hotel

Address: 1057 Arawa Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Rotorua
#11 Spa Hotel in Rotorua
#23 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
#28 Romantic Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range: £77 - £225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Princes Gate Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Princes Gate Hotel, the ideal accommodation whilst staying in Rotorua. The most famous Hotel in Rotorua built in 1897. This timeless, beautiful hotel is privately owned and operated. Our hotel rooms offer style and sophistication that depict a bygone era. The Princes Gate Hotel is not just a hotel but also an attraction. It has been masterfully restored through passionate attention to details. We look forward to having you stay with us in our beautiful & grand Princes Gate Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Princes Gate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Princes Gate Rotorua
Hotel Princes Gate

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing