We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Prince's Gate Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$180
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$174
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$190
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$159
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Arista of Rotorua(Rotorua)(Great Value!)
US$138
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$134
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Rotorua(Rotorua)(Great Value!)
US$172
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$148
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Wai Ora Lakeside Spa Resort(Rotorua)(Great Value!)
US$138
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$114
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Braeside Rotorua(Rotorua)(Great Value!)
US$118
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$107
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$140
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$136
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$112
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$88
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$558
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$472
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cedarwood Lakeside(Rotorua)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (909)
Filter reviews
909 results
Traveller rating
338
277
168
73
53
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
338
277
168
73
53
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshistoric hotelgovernment gardensdesigner roomhot poolshigh teadinner showmain buildingrotorua museumsmall roompolynesian spanew zealandcentral locationeat streetcabaretsuiteyesteryearrudi
Filter
Updating list...
608 - 613 of 909 reviews
Reviewed 6 October 2013

We had a terrific run of good hotels in NZ over three weeks and hate to be negative but I must say that the Princes Gate Hotel was our only disappointment. It fell far short of the sales talk. Really, the carefully taken photographs on their website and five star rating is quite misleading. On arrivival, we were led like dispirited convicts from the rather nice entry shown on all brochures to an adjacent building which looked more like a conventional motel. We shared one toilet and bathroom between the four of us. The bathroom, which also contained the toilet, had a small bath over which hung the shower. WiFi access was weak and expensive in the room but I concede was free in the lobby of the old hotel building. At best, I would say that this hotel may please hopeless romantics if they manage to secure a place in the old building and don't mind the cost, but compared to other hotels we in Rotorua we have used previously, we would have to say that it was poor value and so decided to make a note of this on TripAdvisor.

Room Tip: Insist on being within original old Princes Gate site, not adjacent motel building. But expect to pay and pay.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Neil97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrincesGateHotel, Owner at Prince's Gate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2013

This review is extremely disappointing from a hoteliers point of view. Please find the following facts:
Firstly, the people booked a 2 Bedroom Suite on the website. It is quite specific that these are not in the Old Hotel but in the adjacent apartment block which incidentally has an historical grading and are over 90 years old. The Suites are extremely well appointed with a separate kitchen, lounge, bathroom with toilet & 2 separate bedrooms.
If the guests had wanted to stay in the main hotel, they could have asked and taken up 2 rooms, though this would have been more expensive to do this. If that had been what they had wanted, then we would have been happy to accommodate this. The guests at no time gave us this option.
In summary, we could not have done anything more. The hotel has superb location, a wonderful restaurant, bar and a style that is Special. But in life you cannot please everyone even if you know you have done your best.

Brett Marvelly - Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

This is a lovely old hotel in a convenient location, walking distance from the main town centre and the lake. We stayed in a King room. It was quite spacious and had a large bathroom. The bed was comfortable. It was right at the back of the building and the only negative was that the wireless internet didn't work in our room. The hot pools were a nice way to relax at the end of the day. The staff were friendly and helpful. The cabaret show (Saturday nights) was excellent - high quality entertainment!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LW1810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrincesGateHotel, Owner at Prince's Gate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2013

Thank-you for your comments, it is always great to hear positive feedback from our guests. In regard to the internet problem, we have since got a technician to look at this and we will be implementing a new faster system that will prevent any issues with our network in the future. Hopefully you may stay with us again and have a complete experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013

My husband and I recently stayed at the Princess Gate during a driving tour of New Zealand. Given that Rotorua is overloaded with motel-type accommodations, the Princess Gate was exactly what we wanted--old world charm, interesting history, great amenities, amazing staff, and perfect location. I can't say enough about the staff--helpful and fun which made our stay even more pleasant. I wouldn't have traded the character, ambiance, charm, and brilliant service for anything. Yes, the sulphur smell takes getting used to, but we knew that before coming to Rotorua--we were there for the baths, the history, and the spa. I highly recommend the Princess Gate to anyone traveling to Rotorua who wants a stay that is out of the ordinary.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HarrietLowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrincesGateHotel, Front Office Manager at Prince's Gate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2013

Dear guest,

Thank-you for your wonderful comments and we are extremely pleased you enjoyed your time with us. It is always great to hear when our guests have had a good experience and you hit upon all the aspects of what makes staying with us so special. We have fantastic personalised service with a smile, old-world charm and history, excellent location and the character & charm you would expect from an independently owned boutique hotel.
We hope we may have the opportunity to host you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

This was our second stay at Princes Gate. Sadly on our first stay I fell ill and couldn't attend their dinner and show. We did so this time and we are so glad we did. What a fantastic night of entertainment.The hotel is beautiful and charismatic, the staff are lovely and the food is more than adequate. I have to say that I don't really understand the (admittedly few) bad reviews on tripadvisor. Yes, this is an old building, with decor to match. Yes, coming to Rotorua involves adjusting to the sulphur smell. And yes, there are probably quieter, more modern places to stay. But in terms of character, personal service and old-fashioned hospitality, Princes Gate is absolutely unbeatable in my opinion. I'd love to see them update the brochures and newsletters in the rooms - they really do convey the history of the hotel and highlight it's unique features - they were just a little out of date. But overall, just a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jesseliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrincesGateHotel, General Manager at Prince's Gate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2013

We write in response to the review Brilliant. Thank you for your nice comments. To be more specific your understanding and perception of the Hotel is correct. As we have said many times why people take exception in the reviews to the old Hotel is strange. The Government of NZ has made the Hotel a Category A Historic Building which means it has to be protected for future generations to enjoy its significance. The Princes Gate is 117 years old, for 28 years we slowly but surely restored the Hotel into what it is today. A 117 year old building with wonderful character, 2 Restaurants, Bar, Pool, a great City location overlooking Museum and Art Gallery and 10 hectares of garden and is graded 5 star Guest and Hosted. Yes there is a sulfur smell which slowly dissipates the longer you stay. In saying this, the geothermal attractions attract 1.5 million visitors each year. Yes and we do agree that our newsletter does need upgrading, looks like this is my job tomorrow. Once again, thank you for your perception.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

We had one night to spend in this tourist town and had (by mistake) booked into the Princes Gate, and what a lovely turn of events. It only takes one look to see that the building dates from the 19th century, so we were nervous. But the welcome we had in reception was warm, as if we had arrived in their home. After a tour of the wonderful lounge area it was up the creaking staircase and out onto the verandah, and around the corner to our room ... quite a trek. The room was freshly renovated, the bed lovely and comfortable. My only complaint was the small ensuite with a difficult shower.
Luckily there was an outside staircase for us to get our suitcases up to the room, shame about the rain.
We ate dinner in the restaurant and had a delicious meal, with a wonderful bottle of NZ wine, all at a competitive price.
All in all it was quirky, but a great experience which we thoroughly enjoyed. The only issue was the all pervasive sulphur smell (Rotorua special) which wafted in through the open window (no aircon), but it didnt spoil our visit.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank kazm0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrincesGateHotel, General Manager at Prince's Gate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2013

We write in response to review Old World Charm. Thank you for your positive comments. One of our objectives is for our guests to feel as if they are at home so it was nice to hear you felt that way. And yes the Hotel is certainly a landmark in Rotorua. This beautiful Victorian Building with the wonderful verandahs which overlook the gardens and Musuem and Art Gallery certainly relates to one of our comments that "the Hotel is so good, they built the city around it".

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews