We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely and historic hotel - a step back in time.”
Review of Princes Gate Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Princes Gate Hotel
Ranked #26 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Perfect location and reasonable cost, this lovely old private hotel exudes history with its fittings, decor etc. Unfortunately, buildings of this age require considerable maintenance and I suspect that such minor repairs are beginning to become a bit too much for the current owners. This said, one can't expect a historic building to compare with modern 5 star accommodation and so it is not unreasonable to turn a blind eye to small and inconsequential deficiencies ..... just as long these don't compound too much in years to come.
Very comfortable, very tastefully furnished, somewhat noisy from other patrons socialising on the large veranda's, limited on-street parking but all in all wonderful accommodation and a great experience. When we visit Rotorua again, would we stay there .... Definately YES.

Room Tip: Don't forget to use the thermal pools ..... They are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jocarinoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrincesGateHotel, General Manager at Princes Gate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2013

It is always nice when our guests appreciate our beautiful, classic hotel. We, the staff, are very proud of this hotel, and it is a pleasure to work here, so thank you for your kind words.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (819)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

518 - 524 of 819 reviews

Reviewed 25 November 2013

I stayed here for one night on a business trip to Rotorua. Due to this being a historical hotel from 1897 and a five star hotel, I expected something out of the ordinary.
However I was bitterly disappointed. Although this is a period hotel, and the owners try to keep it that way, some areas are dated. Due to my room being the last one available, it felt like it was a room enclosed by two more elegant. The walls were thin and I was able to hear the people in the other room whenever they walked
The cost was rather on the high side considering there were a lot of hotel rooms vacant in Rotorua.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roborhodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrincesGateHotel, Owner at Princes Gate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write. I am sorry we did not meet your expectations. As you have stated, we have tried and believe personally that we have succeeded in offering a wonderful hotel. With an older hotel, this process is an on-going one. We have taken the long term view that to do something worthy, you have got to do it right. We have now been owners of the hotel for 28 years. We feel proud of what we have accomplished and will continue our journey to offering a product that is special.

With an older hotel, you have the positives and negatives. One of the negatives can be the transmitting of sound, muffled as it is, it can be disconcerting to the noise conscious person. Can I suggest if people are conscious of noise, please request an upstairs room, there are 40 of these.

In regard to costings, we have three categories of rooms and believe most sincerely that we offer something to everyone. We do note from this review, this guest got the last room which obviously they don’t have the opportunity of choice.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to write.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013

I was entirely delighted with this hotel. It is a very old building, with turn of the century charm, but has been nicely updated inside. The staff were wonderful and very helpful to me. If you happen to be there when they have the "cabaret dinner" be sure not to miss it.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FatherNick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrincesGateHotel, Front Office Manager at Princes Gate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

Dear guest,

We very much appreciate your wonderful comments. As mentioned, we have a beautiful historical hotel with loads of charm and the best service in town. Our cabaret show is a fantastic evening of entertainment available every Saturday night with a beautiful 3 course meal.
We do hope the rest of your holiday was enjoyable as-well and we hope we may have you stay again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

The building is memorable and our room was interesting with access to the lovely verandah. We enjoyed the old world feel. However, it was disappointing that the advertised wifi did not work at all and the internet on the lobby computer was intermittent. The bathroom was fine and the bed comfortable. Fittings were a but dusty. Location was excellent and very quiet at night. The free street parking outside the hotel was great. This is an interesting 3 star type hotel.

Room Tip: We liked the rooms accessing the front balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ausbirdlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrincesGateHotel, General Manager at Princes Gate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2013

Dear guest,

We thank-you very much for your kind words & feedback. We are very much a character hotel with boutique charm, personality & guest focused service. We are a Qualmark Graded 5 Star Guest & Hosted property and we are very proud of our rating.
In regard to your feedback, we appreciate your remarks both on the wi-fi & dustiness in your room. We have now fixed the Wi-Fi which had a broken antenna and we have met with our housekeeping department to ensure all aspects of our cleaning standards are being maintained at all times. As you also mention, yes there is plenty of free parking all around our hotel and for those who like a little more security we do have limited off-street parking available as-well (for a small fee).
Once again thank-you and we do hope very much that you had an enjoyable holiday all around.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2013

When you stay at all sorts of hotels in all sorts of places it is often hard to remember one from the other, but you will remember the Princes Gate. It is not really 5-star, but it clean, it is comfortable and it is quirky. The staff are friendly and efficient and the food in the restaurant was good. It is in a good location. Next visit to Rotorua I will stay at the Princes Gate again.

Room Tip: All of the rooms have their own character. Probably the best rooms are the ones on the top floor th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RLFP_WSP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrincesGateHotel, General Manager at Princes Gate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2013

Dear guest,

We are extremely pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that every aspect of our hotel was up to par. We are a Qualmark Graded 5 Star Guest & Hosted property which means we very much focus on personalized customer service along with being a beautiful historical boutique hotel. As you also mentioned, we do have rooms located in different areas, upstairs, downstairs, balcony, internal hallway and all are individually designer decorated. It does pay to ask our staff for a particular location should you have a preference or to see a different room should you not like a particular room design. We are only too happy to accommodate these types of requests as everyone has different preferences & needs and we want all our guests to be fully happy with their chosen room.
We do hope to see you here again on a future occasion.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Every staff member I spoke to exceeded their job description. Very welcoming, exceptional assistance when required. This coming from someone expecting nothing more than a place to spend the night.
Again absolutely loved the service from staff the next morning at breakfast.
The Hotel was Óld world', absolutely different from the 'Norm'....loved it!
Nice location very close to the town.
Only 'feedback' would be the bathroom (no air-con/shower strength weak), but the price I paid 'reflected this'. ..i.e. very resonable priced ground level room in a "Hotel"

Room Tip: Ground floor room was bed/ensuite (small as per advertising). Some may find this too small or '...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ahwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrincesGateHotel, Owner at Princes Gate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2013

Dear guest,

Thank-you very much for your kind comments and it is extremely pleasing to hear you enjoyed your stay and we exceeded your expectations. As a small historic hotel we pride ourselves on our guest service as we not only want you to have a good stay, but to have it feel like a home away from home.
In respect to your room feedback, we take this on board and will be going through our rooms during our next scheduled maintenance round and ensuring these issues are resolved. Your tip is also a good one, as being an older hotel, the sound does travel a bit especially from above and it does pay to ask us either on reservation or at check-in whether it is possible to have an upstairs room.
Once again it was a pleasure to have you stay and we hope to welcome you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

I see the reviews sent to trip adviser are very mixed for this property so it seems the type of place were you hope to receive what you are expecting but it is not always what you get.
The following is a letter I sent to the hotel after our very disappointing stay. I haven't received a reply so the service of ignoring guests continues in my case.

Good morning
My husband and I have just returned from a three night stay in your hotel.
We occupied a one bedroom suite.... room number 31.
We chose your hotel on the basis it was FIVE stars, the winter warmer package was tempting and the web photos look modern and luxurious. Please take a look at the photos on your website of the one bedroom suites, the modern kitchenette with dish-drawer the beautiful bathroom with large bath (this is what I thought I had reserved and what I expected) then look at suite number 31 it is like going back to the days of the cheap, old, motel units, the kitchen, the cook-top, the shower with its rusting shower caddy and the bathroom. A supposedly ‘queen bed’ is two singles pushed together with a ridge down the middle, bedding so old it has fur balls. The lounge carpet dirty and stained, the window sills full of dust and so on. The heated outdoor pools look old and uninviting.
I asked one of your staff for a change to a more updated suite and my request was ignored the same when I asked for a newspaper to be delivered each morning it never happened so my request ignored once again, you call this FIVE star service I don’t think so. We stay at five star hotels all over the world what you see on their web site is what you receive and the service usually impeccable.
So I am not just disappointed I am furious that I was silly enough to think what I saw on your website is what I would get and had actually paid for. Yes the website is completely misleading, false advertising and the suite and the service nowhere near five star.
Before I take this any further do you have an explanation for our very disappointing accommodation? I don’t just want to hear sorry we are upgrading at the time of booking that was never pointed out to us although we did have to listen to the noise of the builders, which was never apologised for.
You ask if we would recommend the hotel. NO WAY...... our family, friends and Trip advisor will be told to stay well clear because what I see on your website I certainly didn’t receive. You advertise as being historic and opulent just old and scruffy is what we found.
Explain please.
Christine Bennett

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Corost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrincesGateHotel, Owner at Princes Gate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2013

Dear Guest,

In reference to your comments, please find the following:
We are very sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay with us. Firstly let us say that we take all feedback on board and never shy away from replying to guests as you can see we reply to every comment on TripAdvisor and every guest letter received. In this case we did not receive your letter hence why no reply until now. We are a 5 Star Guest & Hosted Property and are advertised as such. This is an extremely high grade and well deserved but also very different from a 5 Star Hotel.
Secondly the images on our site are all correct. As we have many rooms within our hotel and all very different, we cannot possibly put up all images of every room we have.The facilities in your room are very reflective of what is across most rooms of this type and provide a great space with cooking facilities, separate lounge, queen split bed (not 2 singles pushed together) along with being refurbished, re-painted and upgraded in the last two weeks.
Any cleaning issues should not have occurred so for this we do apologise. We have high standards and rigorous checks so in this regard we let ourselves down and have re-iterated with our housekeeping team our expected level of service. We also apologise for your paper not being noted for delivery each morning.
Our outdoor heated pools and dining area has had a complete renovation and re-fit over the last few months and the area looks absolutely beautiful. We have a maintenance person who looks after our pools daily monitoring & cleaning them so are never dirty. Some people do confuse some thermal discolouration for the pools being dirty.
In regard to your comment that you asked to be removed and were ignored, this we definitely do not agree with. We never have a problem moving our guests to another room of their choosing if they ask so long as there is another viable option. In this case there were no alternatives as we were almost fully booked and the only alternative would have been a smaller room. We go out of our way for any guest who has any issue and would happily have moved you both should this have been an option.
In summary, once again it is disappointing to hear of your experience, but we can assure all other guests that what is advertised is what you will receive; history, charm, elegance, great location and the best service in town.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.3 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
736 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aura Accommodation
Aura Accommodation
#3 of 92 in Rotorua
246 reviews
0.3 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#18 of 92 in Rotorua
886 reviews
6.7 mi away
Hamurana Lodge
Hamurana Lodge
#17 of 92 in Rotorua
410 reviews
0.3 mi away
Millennium Hotel Rotorua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Princes Gate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Princes Gate Hotel

Address: 1057 Arawa Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Rotorua
#11 Spa Hotel in Rotorua
#23 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
#28 Romantic Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range: £77 - £225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Princes Gate Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Princes Gate Hotel, the ideal accommodation whilst staying in Rotorua. The most famous Hotel in Rotorua built in 1897. This timeless, beautiful hotel is privately owned and operated. Our hotel rooms offer style and sophistication that depict a bygone era. The Princes Gate Hotel is not just a hotel but also an attraction. It has been masterfully restored through passionate attention to details. We look forward to having you stay with us in our beautiful & grand Princes Gate Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, HotelsClick and getaroom.com so you can book your Princes Gate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Princes Gate Rotorua
Hotel Princes Gate

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing