We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Princes Gate Hotel -Rotorua”
Review of Princes Gate Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Princes Gate Hotel
Ranked #28 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Reviewed 2 February 2014

We went to a surprise birthday party held at the Princes Gate Hotel and as we travelled from out of town we booked a room.
The hotel itself comes with a lot of history connected to it and is in an ideal location at the entrance to the main gates to the museum and a short stroll to the shopping hub. By vehicle everything is only a short distance.
The room we had was small and dark...the bathroom was even smaller and darker and in need of updating and a detail clean. With no aircon in the height of summer and a note to not leave the one window which opens, open -due to bugs -we were stifling.
The staff were friendly and we highly recommend the cabaret dinner show although the waiters got everyone's meals mixed up and our table of 20 rated the meal an average 5/10.
Breakfast the next morning again was screwed up amongst the tables with the same waiting staff from the previous evening.
We have been and it was ok however I could not recommend it. Not bad but not great. The history is amazing though.

Room Tip: Stay in the older part as the newer part is too distorted from the main building and if there is a f...
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joanne V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrincesGateHotel, Manager at Princes Gate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2014

Thank you for your comments regarding the Princes Gate Hotel and its wonderful location and History. The Hotels Cabaret Show as you mention, is highly recommended and an enjoyable way to dine. We recognise that as a Heritage property, there will be some instances where the room’s individuality may not appeal to all that stay with us. Unfortunately due to the nature of Rotorua, there can be an issue with trout flies in the summer months which can affect the ability to keep the windows open after dark. We do provide fans in the rooms to mitigate any issues with heat however.
With regards to the Staffing and meals: please accept our apologies for the inconvenience. We have recently had a change within our food and beverage department which has rectified the issue.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (794)
There are newer reviews for Princes Gate Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

474 - 480 of 794 reviews

Reviewed 1 February 2014

I had booked the hotel through Expedia, a two bed suite. I hadn't realised our room was in the 'modern' wing although modern is not really how I would use to describe it - felt more like a travelodge. The main lobby area of hotel is beautiful with lots of character and the hotel is also in a great location. Our room however felt a bit rough around the edges, I feel like the bathroom etc could do with a spruce up. Our 2 yo ran into one of the bedrooms and shut the door behind her and got locked in as the door was faulty. Luckily the manager more than saved the day by climbing through a window and helping her out!
The travel cot we were given was faulty and broke whilst my daughter was in it. If I was returning to Rotorua, I would probably stay elsewhere although I didn't get to look at any of the rooms in the historic part which might be nicer.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tartan69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrincesGateHotel, Owner at Princes Gate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2014

That you for taking the time to write a review. Yes our hotel lobby is beautiful and yes the location is great. I firmly believe we have the best location in town overlooking the beautiful Government Gardens. In terms of your review and specifically the door handle, I have always been of the belief that things can happen in any hotel. It is how you react to the problem that sets you apart. As you rightfully stated, the Duty Manager on the day reacted quickly and efficiently to the problem. As you would also recall the problem was rectified the very next morning by our tradesman. We do however apologise that this did happen. In respect to the carry cot, I am not sure why this happened but you can be assured that this has been rectified. Once again thank you for your comments. We do look forward to you hopefully returning at which stage we would like to the have the opportunity to show you that we can do better but also being able to show you our other room types, not just the hotel rooms which are beautiful but also other two bedroom suites which may be to your personal liking. Once again thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2014 via mobile

Room was very clean and the hotel had a great atmosphere. All staff were really friendly and helpfull. Close to all attractions. Will look at coming back to stay here again in the future for sure and will recommend it to friends and family..................

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Rangitane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrincesGateHotel, Owner at Princes Gate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Yes the hotel has a wonderful location overlooking the museum, art gallery and is located in the historic part of the city surrounded by gardens with the lakefront and city centre only 100 meters away.

Thank you for your complimentary remarks about our property and our team. We do strive to offer our guests a home away from home experience and are pleased we met your expectations.

We look forward to welcoming yourself, friends and family back to the Princes Gate Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

We stayed here for one night as we were taken in by the building. The initial impression is positive with a lovely entrance and lobby and the staff on the desk were pleasant. The room however wasn't what we were expecting, it had an odd layout, an extremely weak air con unit and a bathroom that could have done with an update. Out of all the hotels in the area it's got the most character and having a room at the front with a balcony was nice. Our stay was ok but I don't think we'd rush back.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Paul A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrincesGateHotel, Owner at Princes Gate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We do appreciate your comments and yes you are right in a city that has many hotels, most of which are very similar.

There is only one like the Princes Gate Hotel which was built in 1897. This hotel is now 117 years old and it has so much history. It is located directly opposite the beautiful Government Gardens. With a building of this vintage, so often the positives can also be the weakness depending on every individual guest’s personal opinions. All rooms are different. Just the way they built hotels 117 years ago. Whereas today most hotels are built in module form i.e. all the same. The Princes Gate Hotel rooms have their own personalities which offers our guests the opportunity of choice.

We have three categories of rooms and every room is different as mentioned. Like a boutique that sells ladies fashion clothing. They are a one off and sometimes we cannot please everyone but we assure the readers we certainly try with our motivating factor being to make every guest feel as if they are at home.

Once again that you for writing a review. We trust you enjoyed Rotorua and do hope you will return and hopefully experience a different room.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014

My friend and I stayed one night at the Princes. The room was dated and there was no Air - Con!
The swimming pool was dirty - so much so that someone had written "Clean Me" on the grim on the side.
The hotel itself was also very dirty - Yuck stay
Would never stay again

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Erin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrincesGateHotel, Owner at Princes Gate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

My wife and I have been the owners and operators of the Princes Gate Hotel for the past 28 years and have always been passionate about our building, but more importantly, service and standards. And to have a genuine passion that offers the very best possible service at all times. We have always held the philosophy that there is nil tolerance to poor service and the identification of guest needs.

Unfortunately, due to my wife’s ill health, we have had to step away from the daily rigours of 7 x 24 x 365 operation of our beautiful hotel. We were left with a dilemma of what to do. There was no compromise in terms of health decisions but we did not want to sell our hotel and business that we have worked so hard to build over 28 years and one that had become such a big part of our lives.

We decided that we needed to engage someone else to love and continue our philosophy of hospitality and to run our business. We decided on another Hotel Company that being Distinction Hotels. To this day we have been pleased in the process but with all things, we knew there would be a transitional period that would throw up anomalies. At the time of writing this response, we accept your comments as factual but assure you and future travellers that measures have been taken to ensure that our beautiful hotel will continue to offer the very best in service and style.

In terms of our personal journey, we will continue to be involved and in some ways this will allow us more time to look more objectively at design and to continue with our upgrade to this truly magnificent building.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to write a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014

I grew up in Rotorua and looked forward to staying at Princes Gate as it is such a Rotorua landmark. Our experience mirrors many of the other comments. Room very closed in and airless (although we did discover a fan in the wardrobe - thanks for that), no sign of the 'garden view' advertised when we booked, decor tired and dated, bathroom completely lacking in ventilation, no assistance offered to take our luggage upstairs (yes, I understand it is an historic building, but surely, for the price the facilities don't need to be quite so historic!) All in all a mixed experience - one to tick off the 'bucket list' but not one worth repeating.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MPC55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrincesGateHotel, Owner at Princes Gate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

My wife and I have been the owners and operators of the Princes Gate Hotel for the past 28 years and have always been passionate about our building, but more importantly, service and standards. And to have a genuine passion that offers the very best possible service at all times. We have always held the philosophy that there is nil tolerance to poor service and the identification of guest needs.

Unfortunately, due to my wife’s ill health, we have had to step away from the daily rigours of 7 x 24 x 365 operation of our beautiful hotel. We were left with a dilemma of what to do. There was no compromise in terms of health decisions but we did not want to sell our hotel and business that we have worked so hard to build over 28 years and one that had become such a big part of our lives.

We decided that we needed to engage someone else to love and continue our philosophy of hospitality and to run our business. We decided on another Hotel Company that being Distinction Hotels. To this day we have been pleased in the process but with all things, we knew there would be a transitional period that would throw up anomalies. At the time of writing this response, we accept your comments as factual but assure you and future travellers that measures have been taken to ensure that our beautiful hotel will continue to offer the very best in service and style.

In terms of our personal journey, we will continue to be involved and in some ways this will allow us more time to look more objectively at design and to continue with our upgrade to this truly magnificent building.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to write a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014

Stayed at the hotel in December.

The hotel has an excellent location, close to the gardens, museum and town (in particular Eat St which has a number of restaurants and bars).

The room was quite dated and musty smelling (as noted by other reviewers). There was not really any ventilation in the bathroom. The bed only had two pillows to sleep on. I asked for an additional pillow, which took 45 mins to be delivered. The pillow was a decorative embodied cushion, not suitable to sleep on.

The other issue with the room is you could hear everything that the people upstairs were doing. Both days we were woken at around 6am by the guests upstairs 'falling' out of bed.

We ate breakfast one day, the food was very average and the coffee was pretty bad.

The hotel looks lovely but we will not be staying there again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nzxnick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrincesGateHotel, Owner at Princes Gate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2014

Yes our location is great. As mentioned before, the best location in Rotorua. I suppose when you have first pick in 1897, you trust you get it right.

It is interesting when the comment is that the rooms were dated. The hotel is dated with a Historical “A” Category which means it has been recognized as a gem of the Country and has to be preserved. It is also worth noting that there is only one other building in Rotorua with the same category that is the Bath House which houses the museum and art gallery which is opposite the hotel in the Government Gardens.

In regard to décor, we are very aware that we have to offer a hotel that is relevant to its years. All the rooms over the past 24 months have been totally re-vamped. This includes wall paper, curtains, bed linen etc. We cannot alter the hotel because of its historical significance to the Country.

The rooms are certainly not musty in any way. It is a very warm hotel with geothermal heating and with its wrap around balconies offers natural light and ventilation. Being a geothermal city, we do have the natural smell of sulphur.

With an older hotel, you have the positives and negatives. One of the negatives can be the transmitting of sound, muffled as it is, it can be disconcerting to the noise conscious person. Can I suggest if people are conscious of noise, please request an upstairs room, there are 40 of these.

In regards to breakfast, we do offer a wide selection of choices. We pride ourselves in our service and strive for excellence. On an average, we do produce over 1000 meals per week. In a restaurant you can produce the same meal to 100 people, 98 people will enjoy, 2 may not. Human nature tells us you can’t please everyone.

Once again we assure readers we do strive for excellence. I am sorry if we did not meet expectations this time but trust our explanation helps for future visits.

Once again thank you for taking the time to write.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.3 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
717 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aura Accommodation
Aura Accommodation
#3 of 92 in Rotorua
206 reviews
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#17 of 92 in Rotorua
857 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
0.3 mi away
Millennium Hotel Rotorua
0.3 mi away
Ibis Rotorua
Ibis Rotorua
#35 of 92 in Rotorua
1,156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Princes Gate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Princes Gate Hotel

Address: 1057 Arawa Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Rotorua
#24 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
#28 Romantic Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range: £54 - £199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Princes Gate Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Princes Gate Hotel, the ideal accommodation whilst staying in Rotorua. The most famous Hotel in Rotorua built in 1897. This timeless, beautiful hotel is privately owned and operated. Our hotel rooms offer style and sophistication that depict a bygone era. The Princes Gate Hotel is not just a hotel but also an attraction. It has been masterfully restored through passionate attention to details. We look forward to having you stay with us in our beautiful & grand Princes Gate Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Princes Gate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Princes Gate Rotorua
Hotel Princes Gate

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing