We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed”
Review of Princes Gate Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Princes Gate Hotel
Ranked #35 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Opotiki, New Zealand
1 review
“Mixed”
Reviewed 26 February 2014

I have stayed in this hotel twice, once in the main hotel and once in the apartments. I loved the apartment, u felt like you had your own place but had the perks of a hotel, the outdoor hot pool is lovely and being so close to town is its greatest asset. The main building however, I didn't enjoy so much. The rooms were small and dark and you can't open the windows and u have to fill up the kettle with the bath tap which is not ideal. Definitely recommend the apartments!

Room Tip: Stay in the apartments
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Staceybrooks12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrincesGateHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Princes Gate Hotel, responded to this review, 16 March 2014
Thank you for your comments regarding the Princes Gate Hotel We recognise that as a Heritage property, there will be some instances where the hotel room’s individuality may not appeal to all that stay with us. Having the apartments is a great option for those that like the ability to use the Hotel facilities while maintaining a level of separation as you noted.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Princes Gate on your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

758 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    283
    221
    139
    64
    51
See reviews for
125
411
23
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Grapevine, Texas
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Good location, walking distance to the bars and restaurants plus close to the gardens. Our room was nice, 2nd floor over looking the street. Great parking (always a plus in NZ). Didnt eat there so can't comment. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ItAintFlat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrincesGateHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Princes Gate Hotel, responded to this review, 16 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay at The Princes Gate Hotel.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel at some stage soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level Contributor
115 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

stayed here two nights recently on a WOTIF special, I knew beforehand we would be put into the adjacent building. What we saw of the main hotel it was comfy and had a lovely atmosphere with the collection of matched furniture to suit the building.
In the adjacent rooms we found the shower very tiny and very dark and in the wrong place in the bathroom water went everywhere and out to the kitchen area, the water temp changed constantly. The setee and chair were probably the most uncomfortable I have ever sat in and the furniture was mis-matched from different time periods- its not that I would usually notice but we both felt there was something not right with the décor then it dawned on me that there was a small chandelier, a schoolhouse utility table and chairs, modern suite and a 1960 style TV cabinet. The mini fridge was very noisy.
The breakfast was basic choice as was the continental buffet- not much to choose from.
On the plus side the waiter-Rudi- seems like he works every shift. Nice to see there are still professional waiters around he's excellent. The maids are very helpful and a lovely group of ladies nothing was too much trouble for them.
I was very disappointed that there is street parking and to be able to park in the back yard there was a fee. No one in Rotorua charges for parking. The yard sat empty- such a small thing can put people off, this just seemed mean to me.
Its very handy to town just a couple of hundred yards to the new eat street or the waterfront and placed just outside the government gardens and across the road from the events ctr so the hotel is well placed for convenience. don't know if we will re visit as some of the other hotels have the edge (but no Rudi :-()
The high Qualmark rating is for the main hotel so if staying in the adjacent rooms they are about 3star

Room Tip: wotif rooms are usually in the adjacent building, if booking direct then go into the main hotel buil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NZBunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrincesGateHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Princes Gate Hotel, responded to this review, 16 March 2014
Thank you for your feedback on the Princes Gate Hotel and the central location of the hotel in relation to the Rotorua landmarks. We recognise that as a Heritage property, there will be some instances where the room’s individuality and decor may not appeal to all that stay with us.
In regards to breakfast dining, we have a continental breakfast set up daily for guests as you have noted. In addition to this we have a la carte options for cooked items which range from a Big Breakfast to Eggs Benedict.
Unfortunately our small car park, located behind the hotel, is not large enough to hold all of our guests vehicles and as such, the decision has been taken that the Free street parking is the first option offered to our guests.
On a positive note, we have passed on your lovely feedback to Rudi, as you noted, he is a real asset to our hotel.
We would love to the opportunity to host you in the near future should you wish to stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2014

This hotel is full of character and atmosphere. On arrival we were greeted by the owner who carried our bags to a very comfortable room and so from the beginning we were made to feel very welcome. The staff in the bar and elsewhere were attentive but not too pushy and we were well looked after at all times. Breakfast was well presented and there was plenty of it. Had our itinerary permitted, I would have liked to have stated longer.

Room Tip: The Lewis Room is quiet, spacious and very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charles A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrincesGateHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Princes Gate Hotel, responded to this review, 16 March 2014
Thank you for your wonderful comments with regards to your recent stay at the Princes Gate Hotel. We are very proud of the Hotels history and heritage decor and aim to ensure that each guest experiences the old world hospitality that hotels of this era are renowned for.
We appreciate your feedback, particularly on our Staff members. It is always nice to be able to pass on positive comments to our team members.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel at some stage soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harpenden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

I thought I'd treat myself to two nights here. I found the service lacking and felt like the poor relation. I couldn't have dinner as it was Valentine's night and a wedding. But they omitted to tell me when I checked in. I wasn't told where the hot pool was.
I thought I had booked one room and had a two bedroom apartment in the modern block . So no smart bedroom as I had thought. No internet access and the receptionist appeared to blame my I pad. Worn carpet on the stairs towards my room.
For me, a waste of money and not the luxury it appeared to be.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a room in the main hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Katie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrincesGateHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Princes Gate Hotel, responded to this review, 16 March 2014
We are sorry to hear of your recent experience at the Princes Gate Hotel. We can assure you that generally our dining facilities are available for all hotel guests. Unfortunately on this occasion, our team was not able to accommodate you due to bookings already obtained.
With regards to the room, we appreciate that guests choose this hotel because of its History and Heritage status, however on occasion we upgrade guests to our larger apartments adjacent to the hotel. When we are made aware by guests that they wish to be in the heritage part of the Hotel, we endeavour to rectify the situation. We are sorry that you did not get to experience the Hotels facilities and our usual high standard of Service. We can assure you we strive hard to ensure all of our guests experience our wonderful world of hospitality.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rotoruA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014 via mobile

my partner and i arrived at the princes gate hotel on time for our booking we were told there would be a 10-15 minute wait and taken through to the bar where we were told to have a drink and they would get us when a table was free. Only to be standing at the bar for 5 minutes while we were ignored by the lady behind the bar, we finally got served and got our wine bottle and two glasses just plonked onto the counter and found our own place to sit. We felt very awkward and uncomfortable as we seemed like a huge inconvenience for her .. as we chose to look past this so it didn't ruin our night we opened and poured our own wine and waited to be taken to the dining room we listened in on the lady behind the bar be extremely rude and disrespectful to the wait staff collecting drinks for the dining room. This made us both feel really uncomfortable. 20 minutes later a couple that had arrived After us were seated before us then 5 minutes later another couple were about to be taken through when they mentioned we were before them. As we were finally seated we noticed the atmosphere wasnt relaxing and everybody could hear each others conversations and mentioned to the waiter that could we possibly have some music played. we were given our options for the evening meal and decided to go for the a la carte which would take longer to arrive because it was valentines night we were absolutely fine with that. When the mains did come out the meat was so overcooked they were dry accommodated by hard undercooked vegetables which u wouldn't even pay ten dollars for at a pub! We decided to get out of there without a thought of desert and as we grew impatient waiting for the bill we decided to take it upon ourselves to pay at the front desk , while walking through the bar to the front desk we were surprisingly spoken to by the bar lady only to be hollering at us saying "um are you gonna pay?! " my partner said her mouth nearly hit the ground and we were both genuinely gobsmacked as to how we were spoken to as throughout the nights mishaps not once had we been close to being rude to any of the staff as some were highly unprofessional and clearly weren't happy about being there, On the exception of one very hardworking and lovely waiter called Rudi he was awesome. We highly recommend looking into the staff you have working on "valentines day " because ours was hugely disappointing because of the appalling attitudes of a staff member. After sharing our experience with others we found this seems to be a common occurrence at the princes gate hotel and for a place that has huge potential you're going about it the wrong way.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kong101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrincesGateHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Princes Gate Hotel, responded to this review, 16 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to document your experience at Princes Gate Hotel. Please accept our apologies for the experience you had on this occasion. Unfortunately, as you noted, this behaviour was completely unprofessional and not an example of our expected level of service. We have recently had a change within our food and beverage department which has rectified the issue.
On a positive note, we have passed on your feedback to Rudi as is always nice to pass on positive comments to our team members.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2014

My mum and I went for dinner and had a wonderful experience. We enjoyed beautiful cocktails in a classic setting before dinner in an equally classic and elegant restaurant. Rudi our waiter was exceptional! Nothing was too much trouble. He was friendly, courteous and very attentive. A true asset to the company and fantastic at whipping up our various cocktails. The food was to die for, and all three courses were thoroughly enjoyable (we endulged in some of the traditional delights). We left very happy indeed! We will certainly be recommending this restaurant! See you next time Princes Gate!!

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank ChrisKellyNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrincesGateHotel, Owner at Princes Gate Hotel, responded to this review, 16 March 2014
Thank you for your wonderful comments with regards to your recent dining experience at Princes Gate Hotel. We appreciate your feedback, particularly on our staff member Rudi. Rudi has been a real asset to the Princes Gate, an Austrian who has been a waiter for 40 years. One of the sayings we have at the Princes Gate is; by every table you’ll find a waiter. What we are saying here is we really are focussed on the guest experience.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel at some stage soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.3 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 685 reviews
1.2 mi away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
0.3 mi away
Millennium Hotel Rotorua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
0.4 mi away
Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua
1.1 mi away
Lake Rotorua Hotel
Lake Rotorua Hotel
#48 of 92 in Rotorua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Princes Gate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Princes Gate Hotel

Property: Princes Gate Hotel
Address: 1057 Arawa Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Rotorua
#28 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
#28 Romantic Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Princes Gate Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Princes Gate Hotel, the ideal accommodation whilst staying in Rotorua. The most famous Hotel in Rotorua built in 1897. This timeless, beautiful hotel is privately owned and operated. Our hotel rooms offer style and sophistication that depict a bygone era. The Princes Gate Hotel is not just a hotel but also an attraction. It has been masterfully restored through passionate attention to details. We look forward to having you stay with us in our beautiful & grand Princes Gate Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, TravelUp, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Princes Gate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Princes Gate Rotorua
Hotel Princes Gate

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing