We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Prince's Gate Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$180
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$173
Novotel
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$175
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$154
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$186
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Holiday Inn Rotorua(Rotorua)(Great Value!)
US$199
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$174
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$557
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$474
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Wai Ora Lakeside Spa Resort(Rotorua)(Great Value!)
US$138
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$114
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Braeside Rotorua(Rotorua)(Great Value!)
US$118
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$106
Hotwire.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$140
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$136
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$112
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$87
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cedarwood Lakeside(Rotorua)(Great Value!)
US$114
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$111
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (909)
Filter reviews
909 results
Traveller rating
338
277
168
73
53
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
338
277
168
73
53
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshistoric hotelgovernment gardensdesigner roomhot poolshigh teadinner showmain buildingrotorua museumsmall roompolynesian spanew zealandcentral locationeat streetcabaretsuiteyesteryearrudi
Filter
Updating list...
570 - 575 of 909 reviews
Reviewed 3 March 2014

We had high expectations of this unique Boutique Hotel-the style is elegant and conveniently located in a quiet part of this lovely town- we stayed in a second floor room which was small, dark and dingy -compounded by the lack of Air-conditioning, also we were unable to open the Edwardian sash windows so we fried.

The service staff were polite and sociable serving excellent food within the restaurant and swimming pool areas were a credit to the Hotel.

Regrettably, I feel unable to commend this particular Hotel to others

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrincesGateHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Prince's Gate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

Thank you for your feedback on the Princes Gate Hotel and it fantastic central location and facilities. We pride ourselves on our excellent food and great service as you experienced during your stay.
We are sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your room. We recognise that as a 117 year old Heritage property, there will be some instances where the room’s individuality may not appeal to all that stay with us. If advised of the issues with your room at the time of stay, we would have endeavoured to provide a solution. We do provide fans in the rooms to mitigate any issues with heat however.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014

If you are looking for an unique and central located accommodation in Rotorua.
This is the place for you, the style is elegant and dining environment and dining service is great.
There are only a couple of hotels and restaurants like this in NZ.
Can see the owner's passion about this hotel.
And owners are very friendly , I would return with my families again if not served by the gentlemen on Thursday night.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RexChen2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrincesGateHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Prince's Gate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2014

Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay at the Princes Gate Hotel. As you noted, there are only a few properties like this remaining. We are very proud of the hotels 117 year history and the heritage styling.
We continue to strive hard to create a unique guest experience on every occasion. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

I have stayed in this hotel twice, once in the main hotel and once in the apartments. I loved the apartment, u felt like you had your own place but had the perks of a hotel, the outdoor hot pool is lovely and being so close to town is its greatest asset. The main building however, I didn't enjoy so much. The rooms were small and dark and you can't open the windows and u have to fill up the kettle with the bath tap which is not ideal. Definitely recommend the apartments!

Room Tip: Stay in the apartments
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Staceybrooks12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrincesGateHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Prince's Gate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2014

Thank you for your comments regarding the Princes Gate Hotel We recognise that as a Heritage property, there will be some instances where the hotel room’s individuality may not appeal to all that stay with us. Having the apartments is a great option for those that like the ability to use the Hotel facilities while maintaining a level of separation as you noted.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Princes Gate on your next stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Good location, walking distance to the bars and restaurants plus close to the gardens. Our room was nice, 2nd floor over looking the street. Great parking (always a plus in NZ). Didnt eat there so can't comment. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ItAintFlat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrincesGateHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Prince's Gate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2014

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay at The Princes Gate Hotel.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel at some stage soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

stayed here two nights recently on a WOTIF special, I knew beforehand we would be put into the adjacent building. What we saw of the main hotel it was comfy and had a lovely atmosphere with the collection of matched furniture to suit the building.
In the adjacent rooms we found the shower very tiny and very dark and in the wrong place in the bathroom water went everywhere and out to the kitchen area, the water temp changed constantly. The setee and chair were probably the most uncomfortable I have ever sat in and the furniture was mis-matched from different time periods- its not that I would usually notice but we both felt there was something not right with the décor then it dawned on me that there was a small chandelier, a schoolhouse utility table and chairs, modern suite and a 1960 style TV cabinet. The mini fridge was very noisy.
The breakfast was basic choice as was the continental buffet- not much to choose from.
On the plus side the waiter-Rudi- seems like he works every shift. Nice to see there are still professional waiters around he's excellent. The maids are very helpful and a lovely group of ladies nothing was too much trouble for them.
I was very disappointed that there is street parking and to be able to park in the back yard there was a fee. No one in Rotorua charges for parking. The yard sat empty- such a small thing can put people off, this just seemed mean to me.
Its very handy to town just a couple of hundred yards to the new eat street or the waterfront and placed just outside the government gardens and across the road from the events ctr so the hotel is well placed for convenience. don't know if we will re visit as some of the other hotels have the edge (but no Rudi :-()
The high Qualmark rating is for the main hotel so if staying in the adjacent rooms they are about 3star

Room Tip: wotif rooms are usually in the adjacent building, if booking direct then go into the main hotel buildng
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NZBunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrincesGateHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Prince's Gate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2014

Thank you for your feedback on the Princes Gate Hotel and the central location of the hotel in relation to the Rotorua landmarks. We recognise that as a Heritage property, there will be some instances where the room’s individuality and decor may not appeal to all that stay with us.
In regards to breakfast dining, we have a continental breakfast set up daily for guests as you have noted. In addition to this we have a la carte options for cooked items which range from a Big Breakfast to Eggs Benedict.
Unfortunately our small car park, located behind the hotel, is not large enough to hold all of our guests vehicles and as such, the decision has been taken that the Free street parking is the first option offered to our guests.
On a positive note, we have passed on your lovely feedback to Rudi, as you noted, he is a real asset to our hotel.
We would love to the opportunity to host you in the near future should you wish to stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews