We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not an ordinary hotel.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Princes Gate Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Princes Gate Hotel
Ranked #39 of 93 Hotels in Rotorua
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
66 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Not an ordinary hotel.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014

After consulting Trip Advisor, we just "dropped in" and were given choices of which type of room to rent and a guided tour by the reception to see them.
The rooms are as can be expected in a Victorian style hotel. Very "British" with wall to wall carpets, a small bathroom aso.
No aircon made the nights rather warm.
Service was very good and personal and the restaurant served good meals. In style.
If you like hotels with a bit of oldfashioned style, go there!
If you are more conserned about big flatscreens, CNN and minibar, stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Livsnyterne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrincesGateHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Princes Gate Hotel, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Thank you for your wonderful comments following your recent stay at Princes Gate Hotel.
We offer 117 years of history with a wonderful location, individually decorated rooms, with a high emphasis on personal service, fine food and wine. We like to provide each guest with a unique experience and are pleased you enjoyed your stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back next time you return to NZ.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

732 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    272
    212
    135
    62
    51
See reviews for
119
399
20
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2014

I have wanted to stay at this Hotel many times but always thought it would be out of my price range. I was delighted to find a rate for Bed & Breakfast which made a stay more than affordable. The Hotel is lovely and the decor and furnishings are a joy to behold. Our one bedroom apartment was light & airy with comfortable furnishings. The breakfasts were lovely and it was nice to have our food cooked to order.
My brother will be coming to NZ in November for a vacation. The last time he was in Rotorua was in 1960 so I am taking him for a trip down memory lane. Of course I have already scoped Princes Gate and am looking forward to another enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank moiral359
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrincesGateHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Princes Gate Hotel, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
It was lovely to have you stay with us during your recent trip to Rotorua. Thank you for providing feedback on your stay and the enjoyment you received in staying at our Hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you and your brother back in November.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2014

We booked this on the internet for one night, so we are not sure if this is why we were given a small, airless, shabby room! The room next door was much larger and brighter! Although the hotel itself has character, it certainly needs some maintenance and redecoration. Our room was very small, dark and depressing and the shower was old and useless! There was also no air conditioning and apart from a door that opened onto the communal balcony, we couldn't let any air into the room. The TV was also situated badly, which couldn't be seen from the bed. To top all this free wifi was only available in the lobby and not in the rooms - not very good for a five star hotel!

Room Tip: Don't book online.
See more room tips
Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Rosemary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrincesGateHotel, Owner at Princes Gate Hotel, responded to this review, 16 March 2014
Thank you for your feedback. In answer to your opening comment; Firstly, we are 5 Star 'Guest and Hosted' property graded by Qualmark (NZ Government organisation). This takes into account the privately owned and operated nature of the Hotel. Also; location, restaurants and guest facilities. It was a category that was created some 5 years ago to recognise the personal flavour that these hotels can offer to the guest looking for something different.
In our case, we offer 117 years of history with a wonderful location, individually decorated rooms, with a high emphasis on personal service, fine food and wine.
Specifically to the room type we have three categories of rooms in the hotel. Classic rooms are our lead in room type which is priced accordingly. Our next category is an Estate room, which is a bigger room and then we have our Designer rooms and Suites. I can only imagine that the writer has come in on a classic room type. I can assure other readers that this would have been priced accordingly. The Hotel is an historic building, which has a historic places trust category A, meaning it has been recognised as a building that is part of NZ's history and cannot be replaced. This is a positive to most guests who are staying because of its Character and Special Qualities. However for others that may not appreciated the historic Nature of the hotel, this can be a negative.
I trust the above offers an insight to the above review and we certainly look forward to welcoming all future Guests to our wonderful world of hospitality.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wanganui
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

I took 36 experienced (and hungry!) Canadian and American Road Scholars to Princes Gate for lunch last Saturday. We drew up outside a delightful Victorian Hotel and were met on the verandah by the proprietor, Brett Marvelley, who ushered us inside, introduced us to the Maitre D' and from then on, Brett, Rudi and the cooking and table staff managed to serve us 37 hot, perfect mains, followed by wonderful desserts and cheese boards.

Coffee and tea was served in lovely China crockery, napkins starched and gleaming white, beautiful cutlery, impeccable surroundings, what more could a bunch of travelers ask for?

We were on time, the meals come out soon after our arrival, the service was excellent and the meals so good, our group asked for the chef and burst into a spontaneous round of applause.

Thoroughly recommended. We gave Princes Gate 5 STARS!

Room Tip: We were there for lunch, but several of the group asked to see rooms and pronounced them of excellen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Albert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrincesGateHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Princes Gate Hotel, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Thank you for your wonderful comments with regards to your recent dining experience at Princes Gate Hotel. We appreciate your feedback, particularly on Rudi and our other staff members. It is always nice to pass on positive comments to our team members

We are pleased that your guests took the time to view the property during their visit as we are very proud of the Hotels history and love to show people the heritage decor.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
53 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

A lovely old building, with much more soul and character than the generic modern chain hotels.

Very friendly and helpful staff.

Perfectly located in the heart of the city, and adjacent to Government Gardens/Polynesian Spa.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Haydn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrincesGateHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Princes Gate Hotel, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Thank you for your wonderful comments with regards to your recent stay at the Princes Gate Hotel.
We appreciate your feedback, particularly on our Staff members and the service provided to you during your stay.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel at some stage soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014

Good accommodation with comfortable room. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Dining facilities were excellent with great menu selections for evening meal and options for breakfast - cooked or continental.

Room Tip: Look at hotel website which provides great overview of what rooms are on offer
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HeyJohn1056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrincesGateHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Princes Gate Hotel, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Thank you for your wonderful comments with regards to your recent stay at the Princes Gate Hotel. We are very proud of the Hotels history and Dining experiences. We aim to ensure that each guest experiences the old world hospitality that hotels of this era were known for.
We appreciate you taking the time to provide feedback, particularly on our Staff members. It is always nice to be able to pass on positive comments to our team members.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel at some stage soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014

We had two reasons to return to New Zealand after visiting here fifteen months ago. One was to be in attendance at the annual "Art Deco" weekend in Napier, with the other being to stay at the "Princes Gate Hotel" in Rotorua, which we had happened upon during our previous visit. We were certainly not disappointed with all energies, efforts and monies expended to stay at, and experience, this wonderfully historic hotel, from seemingly a long forgotten, and possibly now ignored, old world.
The hotel is a sheer delight, steeped in old world charm. All of the personnel were also well aware of the gentility of their surrounds and acted accordingly. The attendant from a part of Europe added a superb aura of graciousness to all of his dealings and was a delight with whom to converse.
Another allure for us was the dinner and show, which was to be convened during the Saturday evening and to which we obviously attended. The idyllic surrounds, reminiscent of a beautiful long gone era, were ideal for the serving of, and consumption of a delectably delicious three course meal. The professional entertainment was ideally superb and made for a most memorable night, the memories of which we will always cherish.
In attendance at breakfast the ensuing morning, in yet another gorgeous room, there was a slight misunderstanding over payment but this concern was quickly assuaged by the owner/manager.
The Princes Gate is a delight to behold and actually beckoned to us from Australia. We thoroughly enjoyed our experience, albeit oh! so brief.

Room Tip: To us, they all gave the appearance of being "good" rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Graham701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrincesGateHotel, Owner at Princes Gate Hotel, responded to this review, 16 March 2014
Thank you very much for the wonderful comments. It is always a pleasure to welcome guests to our wonderful world of glamour and sophistication who really appreciate the old style and attention to detail, not just in the building, but to service and the true word of hospitality.
In a world that is becoming more and more the same, I feel it is refreshing to have a hotel so distinctive as the Princes Gate Hotel. As this guest has mentioned, our dinner shows are a wonderful experience and as i have said before, you can dine at a restaurant anytime, but to be entertained while you dine, is another one of the unique experiences you can capture at the Hotel.
Than you again for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.3 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 93 in Rotorua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 660 reviews
1.2 mi away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
0.3 mi away
Millennium Hotel Rotorua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
0.3 mi away
Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua
0.4 mi away
Ibis Rotorua
Ibis Rotorua
#29 of 93 in Rotorua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,084 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Princes Gate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Princes Gate Hotel

Property: Princes Gate Hotel
Address: 1057 Arawa Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Rotorua
#28 Romantic Hotel in Rotorua
#30 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Princes Gate Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Princes Gate Hotel, the ideal accommodation whilst staying in Rotorua. The most famous Hotel in Rotorua built in 1897. This timeless, beautiful hotel is privately owned and operated. Our hotel rooms offer style and sophistication that depict a bygone era. The Princes Gate Hotel is not just a hotel but also an attraction. It has been masterfully restored through passionate attention to details. We look forward to having you stay with us in our beautiful & grand Princes Gate Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, TravelUp and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Princes Gate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Princes Gate Rotorua
Hotel Princes Gate

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing