We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't get the High Tea”
Review of Princes Gate Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Princes Gate Hotel
Ranked #26 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Reviewed 9 December 2009

Charming building in a good location with lots of potential but rather oversells itself.

They promote their high tea and charge a reasonably high price but you get a choice of 4 teabags, chipped crockery, no silver service, and very ordinary sandwiches and scones. The photos on the website do not reflect the reality.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank local58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (806)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

760 - 766 of 806 reviews

Reviewed 25 November 2009

My husband and I stayed after finding the hotel on-line, and thought, "wow, this place looks lovely".

Lovely looking the hotel may be, but was disappointing in all other regards.

Firstly there was a wedding going on in the main lounge area, which meant you were unable to walk through this area to get to your room. So you had to walk outside and around the Hotel to find another access point. I think because of this we were given a different room that what we organised. We had booked a queen size room, but were taken to the apartments which were next door. This would have been fine, but the room they gave us was a double, and was decorated modernly. We explained that we had booked a queen room, so they moved us to a room next door. This was also decorated modernly (though a queen). We explained to the receptionist that we had booked a room, not an apartment, and had expected to be staying in the main hotel. Fortunately they moved us again, and this time we were taken to a room inside the hotel. The room itself was just like the pictures on the net which was great, however it was a double. By this stage we had enough and just gave up and said nothing.

The room was nice, however there was a continuous hum, which we found very distracting, especially when you wanted to sleep. Also the room was near the kitchen, so that was quite noisy as well. Fortunately the noise stopped around 11pm, but started up again at 5am.

Around 5pm we thought we'd go out and have a drink by the pool. Access was limited through 2 rooms. One was occupied with the wedding, and the other was through the restaurant, whch was setting up for dinner so we felt quite intrusive walking through. However, we saw no other way around it so used the restaurant access. Finally we were in the pool area, only to find that the hotel had let the area out to what looked like a company christmas party. Quite fed up by this point, we decided to spend the evening elsewhere.

It seemed like the hotel management was only interested in making money, and not in the comfort of their guests.

We not recommend to anybody!

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FernM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrincesGateHotel, Owner at Princes Gate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2010

A very apt heading. I also feel very disappointed, knowing my motivation for my guests and guest satisfaction. No-one in our city would ever describe me as not interested. My wife and I, as mentioned earlier have spent 25 years growing our business, have been 3 times consecutive finalists in the New Zealand Tourism Awards, Winner of the Best Tourism Industry Award in Rotorua, Winner of the Best Medium to Large Business Award in Rotorua, and Winner of the Best Business of the Year Award in Rotorua. As anyone in business knows, these awards do not come lightly. I do agree however with the writer that we have a wonderful location overlooking beautiful gardens, the museum and art gallery.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2009

I stayed in the Princes Gate for 3 nites during a work conference. The experience could have been very nice but was tainted severely by the poor service. To begin with, the staff were incredibly rude and unprepared when our group arrived, treating a question I asked with total disregard. Secondly there were 4 hot pools. After the first nite, one pool was locked for the rest of our stay. And the other three pools became successively hotter (the area is known for use of geothermal heat) - - - it seemed to me that the staff was deliberately making the pools too hot for guests to use. The food was quite unappetizing. The first nite, it was apparent that the staff went out of their way to provide a nice selection from a prepared menu. After the first nite we were faced with eating from a poor buffet set up. Plates were also taken away before guests were finished, drinks were very hard to acquire. Lastly, the internet connection was down for 2 of the 3 days. I would not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sunshine_Grl8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrincesGateHotel, Owner at Princes Gate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2010

The pool that was locked was the private pool, which is locked for privacy reasons, the key being available at reception. The pool heat is controlled by thermostat, that has 3 different temperatures for the 3 different pools. I have commented before in regards to the high standards that we have in our restaurant. We seldom offer a buffet as we focus on our a'la carte. It is very hard dealing with a complaint like this when I know that we are very focussed on the very best at all times.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2009

We had booked this hotel on Wot-if.com because it was really cheap for the weekend - about the same price as it would have been for a private room at a backpackers!
Then we read some of the reviews online and started doubting whether it would actually be any good.
Because of these concerns, we went prepared. We took a couple of bowls and spoons and some breakfast makings so we didnt have to buy breakfast. We ate out for dinner all three nights we were there rather than at the hotel. The room was so hot that we didnt sleep well, and the bed was also really soft!
Also, the carpark at the back of the hotel floods in bad weather (which we had), and the only way from the guest pool to the main rooms in the hotel is through the dining room (which is a bit odd!!)
That said, we enjoyed our time at the hotel (what little of it there was). We had nearly no interaction with the staff, the room was clean (and cleaned daily, with fresh towels and soaps). Dont know if we would pay normal rates to stay there again though, especially in Rotorua, where you really spend very little time at your accommodation

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mel-Kiwi_NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrincesGateHotel, Owner at Princes Gate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2010

I would never classify the Princes Gate Hotel as cheap as it offers a connotation. We, as mentioned earlier on a previous comment, a whole range of accommodation options. This is not because of the wonderful facilities that we have, but beacause of the age of the Hotel, that we offer many differnet size rooms. It is pleasing to know that we do have optiions available for everyone.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2009

If you like historic places, this is for you. The decor has been kept in keeping with the late 19th century, right down to large floral rug designs. The staff was very attentive and friendly. The room was not overly big, but adequate; the bathroom a little small but adequate and everything very clean. It is right next to the Government Gardens and within easy walking distance to the QE Spa, Polynesian Spa and waterfront as well as downtown shopping (such as it is). Nice geothermal hot-tub, free to guests.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hillymika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2009

We booked into the Princes Gate Hotel late on a Friday night in Rotorua as all of the other main hotels were full because of an event in the town on the Saturday. The building is built in a very traditional style and is furnished as such - don't expect and contemporary decor here! Service from the Reception was polite and helpful, the room was in the main part of the hotel, accessed from the front balcony. Pink and chintz fabric featured heavily and the room was incredibly and quite uncomfortably hot even though we turned off the heating as soon as we got in there. I felt the room was fairly small for the price we paid and breakfast was not included. The bathroom was rather clinical although it was clean. One of the main drawbacks was the fact that smokers seemed to congregate on the balcony walkways and the noise and smell of smoke kept on coming into our room - there were even smokers banging around out there at about 4am!

We had to move on early in the morning so didn't sample the full range of facilities that the hotel had to offer but they apparently have cabaret on Saturday nights, the fact of which was plugged a number of times by the receptionist when I checked out.

This hotel would be ideal for older travellers but I would not recommend it for younger people unless they were of a fairly traditional mindset.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fork_handles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2009

We had just been at the Hamilton Fieldays expo for 4 straight days working and were in need of a comfy bed, hot thermal bath and a few beers. Well this place had it all. Not sure what the other reviewers were expecting but we couldn't have been happier. We were welcomed by the owner himself who explained a bit about the hotel and what was provided and showed us around. When asked if the room had a bath we were told no but they had private thermal baths at the hotel that we could use. Well that did us. We got to our room, booked our private thermal bath and soaked away. We then booked in for the caberet show, watched the All Blacks get beaten by the Frogs while having a few after dinner drinks at the bar then stayed on until the late hours enjoying the company of the bar staff who were extremely friendly. There was no need to find an expensive thermal pool place the next day so we also saved on that. A very relaxing & enjoyable stay and would recommend to anyone who is looking for old fashioned hotel accommodation.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JonFinola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.3 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
721 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aura Accommodation
Aura Accommodation
#3 of 92 in Rotorua
219 reviews
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#19 of 92 in Rotorua
868 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
0.3 mi away
Millennium Hotel Rotorua
2.4 mi away
Best Western Braeside Rotorua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Princes Gate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Princes Gate Hotel

Address: 1057 Arawa Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Rotorua
#11 Spa Hotel in Rotorua
#23 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
#28 Romantic Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range: £61 - £218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Princes Gate Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Princes Gate Hotel, the ideal accommodation whilst staying in Rotorua. The most famous Hotel in Rotorua built in 1897. This timeless, beautiful hotel is privately owned and operated. Our hotel rooms offer style and sophistication that depict a bygone era. The Princes Gate Hotel is not just a hotel but also an attraction. It has been masterfully restored through passionate attention to details. We look forward to having you stay with us in our beautiful & grand Princes Gate Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Princes Gate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Princes Gate Rotorua
Hotel Princes Gate

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing