We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Prince's Gate Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$174
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Free cancellation until 01/06
Book now, pay at stay
US$175
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$154
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$112
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$89
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 27/05
US$186
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Holiday Inn Rotorua(Rotorua)(Great Value!)
US$199
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$174
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$557
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$474
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Wai Ora Lakeside Spa Resort(Rotorua)(Great Value!)
US$138
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$114
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Braeside Rotorua(Rotorua)(Great Value!)
US$118
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$106
Hotwire.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$140
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$136
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cedarwood Lakeside(Rotorua)(Great Value!)
US$114
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$111
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (909)
Filter reviews
909 results
Traveller rating
338
277
168
73
53
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
338
277
168
73
53
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshistoric hotelgovernment gardensdesigner roomhot poolshigh teadinner showmain buildingrotorua museumsmall roompolynesian spanew zealandcentral locationeat streetcabaretsuiteyesteryearrudi
Filter
Updating list...
844 - 849 of 909 reviews
Reviewed 22 August 2010

Don't let yourself be fooled by the colonial style and great exterior.

When you get to the room you will soon find out that this place is more run down than charming. Clearly a place that profits on the unsuspecting tourist. The bed would have been a disgrace even in a 2* motel. The bathroom was dirty.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KevinCrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2010

We had travelled up from Christchurch by air to Auckland and car to Rotorua and arrived very late in the afternoon and were looking for somewhere to stay the night . Having viewed 3 potential sites (hotel/motel) ,all of which did not suit, we found ourselves at the door of the Princes Gate Hotel. As we huddled in the dark, backs against the rain and looking at the hotel's advertising board, a welcoming voice bade us to enter. It was a most welcome invitation as we were tired, wet and ready to drop! The elegance, warmth and charm of the hotel were immediately apparent and we had soon agreed a 2-day stay! Assisted from car to room, we knew we had found the right place to stay. The room had been recently refurbished and its unique styling and sumptuous comfort brought immediate relaxation and a sense of well-being.

During our stay we observed a very close-knit, friendly and courteous team deliver service on all fronts to the highest professional standard. The room was kept perfectly serviced each day; public areas were maintained in spotless condition at all times; bar and food service was enthusiastic and helpful and the quality of fare and presentation just wonderful!

Set right by the Government Gardens and adjacent to the Polynesian Spa, we found it a great location from which to explore the city. The facilities of the hotel were first class and from our experience it is a fantastic place to stay. Having worked all my life in the catering industry and with my partner a lecturer in Hospitality we know just what it takes to deliver such superlative standards Well done Brett and Vlasta Marvelly and your team!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brit545
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2010

We stayed for 2 nights, location was great,you could walk everywhere you really needed to go in the city centre. Dark rooms with too much flowered printed carpets and wall paper. You can hide a lot with this type of decor. Bed covers still had hair from previous customers. They put their little bar fridge inside a cabinet so it really struggle to keep cool thus making lots more noise then necessary. We would keep the door of cabinet open so air could circulate better for fridge. Internet service available in lounge but computer station very dirty.
Keyboard doesn't look like its ever been cleaned.

Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
Thank redpoppy17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrincesGateHotel, Owner at Prince's Gate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2010

I refer to the above, there is no excuse for uncleanliness in any area of the hotel. We therefore apologise for this. A part of this new 5 star rtating, was the implementation of an executive housekeeper, whos responsibility is checking every room prior to guest check-in. In regards to carpet and decor, we have spent considerable investment in employing a designer to individually decorate our rooms. He has been very mindful of the era, but by utilising modern. All our fabrics and carpets are of the highest quality. Luckily for us we have a high acceptance rate of these beautiful designer rooms. I know you can't please everyone, our objective is to offer 1897 character, with all the modern conveniences associated with today.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2010

We chose this hotel for its central location and because it offered "a modern one bedroom apartment" as part of the hotel complex. When we checked in we found the apartment was in a older building next door (Mayfair Apartments). The foyer of the apartment smelt musty. Our apartment was upstairs and reasonably nicely renovated and decorated except for the bedroom. This contained a double bed and a single bed, a tacky little wardrobe, one bedside table between the beds and no other storage space. Oh well, we thought, it's only two nights, the sitting room was pleasant enough and the bathroom was good. But trying to sleep in this poky bedroom was a challenge. The room was extremely hot, there was no air-conditioning, and even with open windows there was no air flow. I just could not sleep under those conditions. In the end I pulled all the sofa cushions off, placed them on the sitting room floor in the coolest spot and slept most of the night there.

Next day we asked for a change of room. We were offered a choice of two hotel rooms, both very nice. We chose one on the upper level right at the end of the side of the hotel. We had the added benefit of a table and two chairs on the verandah outside our room. Again the room was very warm with no air conditioning but windows on two sides gave us enough air flow so that we could sleep.

The hotel itself was charming and the decor suited the age of the building. The bar was a bit sterile and service was slow. I ordered a liquor coffee and it took ages to come. Think they had to go milk a cow for the cream! The breakfast selection was small but interesting and tasty. We didn't dine in the hotel so can't comment on this aspect.

The hot pools were wonderful. There were four pools, three outdoors and one indoors (presumably could be used as a private pool). The larger pool was warm and the two smaller pools above it were hot and even hotter. I like my hot pools seriously hot but that one was a challenge to get in to! In fact all the pools were probably a bit too hot for the average traveller and I would recommend that the hotel reduce the temperatures by a couple of degrees in each case. Access to the pools was great from the apartments but harder to get to from the hotel itself - had to go through a function room / restaurant, I think, which seemed odd. Maybe there was another way out to the courtyard that I didn't see!

The hotel is in a great location, opposite the Government Gardens, and a short walk from the restaurant strip and the lakefront. There was plenty of free parking outside the hotel (side) and also valet parking if required at $10 per night. Most of the staff were pleasant and helpful, particularly the young man at reception. I'd stay there again but would be sure to book a hotel room not an apartment. Air conditioning or ceiling fans would solve the heat problem - something is desperately needed!

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jjester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2010

You can read a lot of blabla about the (supposed) glorious past of this hotel (in the hotel itself or on the website). But the glory has been definitely lost...We spent two nights there and in spite of the quite good location of the hotel we have been very dissapointed by the room, the service and the restaurant.
(i) the room :
- the hotel is rather stylish (you like it or your don't) but our room was just a mix of outdated unmatched furnitures
- the bed and the mattress were probably older than the hotel itself
- the absence of air-conditioned and the single glass windows (not the case in every rooms) made the room warm and noisy
(ii) the service
- the room had been not been made after the first night , when we came back at the hotel at 8 pm. the staff did not apologise.
- the bath gel bottle in the bathroom was already half empty when we checked in
- we found rubbish (an empty plastic bottle) under the bed
- staff not that friendly and often unavailable
- swimming pool had not been cleaned up for a while
(iii) the restaurant
- do not expect to find in your plate what is specified on the menu...

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BelgianJudge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrincesGateHotel, Owner at Prince's Gate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2010

I refer to the above comments. Obviously you can't please everyone. In regards to our restaurant, we operate breakfast, lunch and dinner with a specialty High Tea, turning over apprx. 1000 meals each week. The hotel is renowned for it's culinary delights and is a celebratory Hotel. Our menus are wide ranging offering something for everyone. I have mentioned in a previous comment in regards to it is very hard to comment on issues of housekeeping some 4 months later. All I can do is assure TripAdvisor readers, is with our 5 Star Rating we have implemented systems which have eradicated these problems that might have occurred. In regard to staff, the overwhelming comment we get from our guests is how professional and attentive our team is. I can only imagine that for this guest not to be satisfied, something unusual has happened.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews