We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Let Down”
Review of Princes Gate Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Princes Gate Hotel
Ranked #35 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Let Down”
Reviewed 24 October 2010

The pictures on the website is very misleading. We booked an executive room which looked nothing like the picture showed when making the online booking. The shower pressure was so low and the temperature of the water took 2 mins to get warm.
It was impossible to watch tv in bed as the tv was mounted on the wall adjacent to the bed.

The staff were very unfriendly - when we requested more towels to be sent up to our room the girl at the desk asked us why with an attitude.

When we wanted to use the wireless internet we were asked whether we would want the $5, $10, $15 or $20 deal. you have to pay for the internet!?! Also, the floors are so creaky, and none of the rooms are sound proof so conversations and creaky floors were very audiable. The most annoying thing about the whole stay was that after a long day of activites we were looking forward to just relaxing - except we had to put up with all the dishes and cutlery being cleared in the kitchen.
As if the service and the misleading pictures of the rooms weren't aweful enough - the "newly" built pool is tiny. the THREE pools that they have are just three small spa sized pools. The private spa consists of a big grubby hottub in a plain white wall, single light bulb room.

The awards that this hotel as won as stated on their website was won around 1991 and so on - almost a decade ago !!!!

Please be warned - the website is very misleading. We even discussed our disappointment with the locals in Rotorua and we were told that the Owner of Princess Gate has a very bad reputation and confirmed that the pictures used on the website are to mislead excited tourists.

Definitely not worth $185 ! Specially considering it's only for the room - no breakfast included or wireless internet.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dania05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrincesGateHotel, Owner at Princes Gate Hotel, responded to this review, 26 October 2010
In reply to your let down, it is always difficult to make a guest happy when they are unhappy. These guests asked whether we had a room overlooking the pool, which we did but was one of our suites. When advised that we could accommodate this but that the price would be a little more they declined. Two hours later, these guests arrived down to reception stating they had to rush back to Auckland urgently as their employer had requested their return. Advised this was fine they were told their first night still had to be paid, they then decided they didn't need to go back to Auckland. This, of course from the hotels perspective, is really russian roulette as you are never going to make the guest happy. In regards to the specifics, all pools are thermally heated love pool type. The larger pool has a depth of 1.5m, the smaller pools are just for sitting in. In respect to personal slight on the owner, this as always is not woth commenting on as being an employer in Rotorua for over 25 years and is very well respected.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

758 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    283
    221
    139
    64
    51
See reviews for
125
411
23
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
174 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2010

The website didn't allow me to talk about the restaurant alone so ignore the rating above. We did not stay here.

We had a dinner at the hotel restaurant while staying at the Heritage hotel at the other end of the city. I'd walked past the hotel a number of times previously and as it is rather a unique hotel this time we went in for dinner. They offer an early sitting meal for just NZ$29.95. This is a very low price in New Zealand for an a la carte three course meal so we were nervous.

Our waitress was friendly, well presented and professional. She dealt with our selections efficiently and they arrived swiftly. Although this was meant to be "a la carte" really it was "table d'hote" with two choices for starters, no choice for mains and two choices for dessert. My partner had pate and I had tomato soup. Both were served pleasantly enough. My soup was more of the consistency of a spaghetti sauce but tasty enough. The pate was pate. The main course was Tarakihi ( a NZ fish similar in flavour to cod) in a "grape and wine sauce". I have to say that while it would win no awards in terms of trendy presentation or health conciousness it tasted fine. The plate left empty! For dessert we both opted for tiramisu, something I regularly make at home using cream, marscapone cheese, freshly brewed coffee, marsala, sponge fingers, chocolate shreds and cocoa powder. It's a light, moist, delicate dessert. It is not firm, slightly rubbery and certainly does not contain gelatine - that's closer to a bavarois. We got a chocolate bavarois with sponge fingers in it and no discernable coffee flavour. It was rather a disappointment. That said the hotel does claim to be 5 star. So we may turn up for one of their opera evening meals in the future and see if that meal is any better.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Int_Academic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Balclutha, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviewed 29 September 2010

This grand hotel takes you back to yesteryear in style and comfort. The hotel is magnificent with its chandeliers, antique fixtures and super comfy rooms. The staff are fantastic, nothing was a problem when we stayed at the Princess Gate. The cocktail hour is to die for. There are 3 heated pools set in a fabulous garden bar for the ultimate relax after a hard day. Downstairs there is a lounge area in which you can relax on big oversized comfy leather couches. There is a first class retaurant on premises which has a very yummy menu and it is so convient to wine and dine and then wander up the stairs to your comfy room at the end of your night. I would highly recommend you stay here when in Rotorua I absolutely loved it.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank slimm39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tolaga Bay, New Zealand
Level Contributor
53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2010

We were there to celebrate my wife's Aunties 80th birthday and so were booked into the cabaret on the Saturday night. Both my wife and I had one of the best nights out we have had for a very long time. The service was excellent as was the food and the entertainment was absolutely first class.
This hotel is over a hundred years old and has been kept in excellent condition.We appreciated the history and ambience of the place and would go back again. If we were staying in Rotorua we would without hesitation stay at Princes Gate.
We would reccommend the dinner and show without reservation.
As already stated the service was excellent and a special mention to Brett, Geoff and
Sue you made us feel very special. Thank you

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jandkNgatea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 September 2010

I was really excited to stay in this hotel after reviewing their website but found it to be a gross exaggeration of what the place is really like. The room was small with outdated furniture - no where near what the internet images had been like and the staff came across as though they would have preferred to be elsewhere. They showed no enthusiasm and were cold rather than welcoming. I know that Rotarua's main attractions come with the smell of sulpher but the smell of a nearby mud pool was SO strong inside our room even with all the windows and doors closed and curtains pulled. We couldn't get away from it all night then finally woke up in the morning still choking on the smell of rotten eggs. We will not be going back to the Princes Gate and I don't recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chip85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrincesGateHotel, Owner at Princes Gate Hotel, responded to this review, 8 September 2010
One million+ tourists venture to Rotorua every year. One of the main reasons for this is the geothermal activity. Geysers, mud pools etc. With this activity comes the natural smell of sulphur. I'm sorry if this individual didn't appreciate this natural experience, but it certainly is not something that is repulsive. In regard to the Hotel, I can only imagine that these guests have stayed in a Classic Room. The reason I say this is they described it as being small. The room price would have reflected this choice of theirs as i imagine the rate would have been apprx. $95. The guest would have had many opportunities to choose our estate or designer rooms or 1 & 2 bedroom suites. I can only imagine that through their dislike of the sulphur that obviously there was not a lot we could do to make their visit an enjoyable one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2010

Don't let yourself be fooled by the colonial style and great exterior.

When you get to the room you will soon find out that this place is more run down than charming. Clearly a place that profits on the unsuspecting tourist. The bed would have been a disgrace even in a 2* motel. The bathroom was dirty.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KevinCrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chichester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 August 2010

We had travelled up from Christchurch by air to Auckland and car to Rotorua and arrived very late in the afternoon and were looking for somewhere to stay the night . Having viewed 3 potential sites (hotel/motel) ,all of which did not suit, we found ourselves at the door of the Princes Gate Hotel. As we huddled in the dark, backs against the rain and looking at the hotel's advertising board, a welcoming voice bade us to enter. It was a most welcome invitation as we were tired, wet and ready to drop! The elegance, warmth and charm of the hotel were immediately apparent and we had soon agreed a 2-day stay! Assisted from car to room, we knew we had found the right place to stay. The room had been recently refurbished and its unique styling and sumptuous comfort brought immediate relaxation and a sense of well-being.

During our stay we observed a very close-knit, friendly and courteous team deliver service on all fronts to the highest professional standard. The room was kept perfectly serviced each day; public areas were maintained in spotless condition at all times; bar and food service was enthusiastic and helpful and the quality of fare and presentation just wonderful!

Set right by the Government Gardens and adjacent to the Polynesian Spa, we found it a great location from which to explore the city. The facilities of the hotel were first class and from our experience it is a fantastic place to stay. Having worked all my life in the catering industry and with my partner a lecturer in Hospitality we know just what it takes to deliver such superlative standards Well done Brett and Vlasta Marvelly and your team!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brit545
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.3 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 685 reviews
1.2 mi away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
0.3 mi away
Millennium Hotel Rotorua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
0.4 mi away
Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua
1.1 mi away
Lake Rotorua Hotel
Lake Rotorua Hotel
#48 of 92 in Rotorua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Princes Gate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Princes Gate Hotel

Property: Princes Gate Hotel
Address: 1057 Arawa Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Rotorua
#28 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
#28 Romantic Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Princes Gate Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Princes Gate Hotel, the ideal accommodation whilst staying in Rotorua. The most famous Hotel in Rotorua built in 1897. This timeless, beautiful hotel is privately owned and operated. Our hotel rooms offer style and sophistication that depict a bygone era. The Princes Gate Hotel is not just a hotel but also an attraction. It has been masterfully restored through passionate attention to details. We look forward to having you stay with us in our beautiful & grand Princes Gate Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Princes Gate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Princes Gate Rotorua
Hotel Princes Gate

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing