We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“holiday xmas present”
Review of Princes Gate Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Princes Gate Hotel
Ranked #30 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
tauranga
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“holiday xmas present”
Reviewed 14 February 2011

Location excellent room nice and we had a lovely meal dinner and show couldn't fault at all, When we went to bed at night the bedroom was so hot, it was unberable. I sat outside until 2.00am just to keep cool once I did go to sleep the mossie decided it was dinner time. I would stay there again if aircon was availabe or a fan, Another couple who were at the same dinner show had to move rooms because it was so hot. When I pointed this out to reception in the morning was told we have problems with contractors trying to get them to put in air con Where told that this is common complaint .(People have moved out because it is to hot) Not a good look for New Zealand see will be right attidute ) We had breakfast which was very nice and I must take my hat off to them they were fantastic, Just have to sort out the aircon, being a hotel you would think that a fan would be in every room

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jamesbondtauranga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrincesGateHotel, Owner at Princes Gate Hotel, responded to this review, 20 February 2011
Thank-you for your feedback, we really appreciate knowing that you had a wonderful experience with us and do hope we have the opportunity to have you stay with us again. In response to your comments on our rooms being very hot, we are definitely taking steps to remedy this. We have got fans for all our rooms and are currently in the process of insulating our rooms to prevent the heat distribution causing the rooms to become so hot. This will be be completed very soon and will also help to keep the rooms warmer in the winter too.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

774 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    292
    226
    141
    64
    51
See reviews for
128
420
25
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Traverse City, Michigan
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 22 January 2011

My actual stay was April, 2009. This is a beautiful little botique hotel that has charm, great service, great food, drinks and amenities. I would stay there again in a heartbeat were I to travel to New Zealand. I was only there two days, as I was on a tour, but next time I would definitely like to spend a week or more in this beautiful little community and in this charming Hotel.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Friesians52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrincesGateHotel, Owner at Princes Gate Hotel, responded to this review, 23 January 2011
We would like to thank-you for your feedback and are really please you had an enjoyable stay. We strive hard to please each and every guest and we are very happy when a guest lets us know that is exactly what we have acheived. We definitely look forward to having you stay with us again in the future. Regards, Brett Marvelly (Owner)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 January 2011

Arriving at the hotel on a rainy evening I was very impressed to have the manager greet me and accompany me to the car to collect my bag and carry it to my upstairs room. One rarely experiences such lovely service these days.I stayed two nights while attending a conference acros the road at the conference centre. The location was ideal, I loved the "old world" decor of this charming historic hotel and the warmth and friendliness of the staff. When we needed photocopies for the conference the staff were very helpful. The room was clean and comfortable and I appreciated the comfortable bed.
The only thing I would have liked was free internet access for my computer. There was a small fee for this but good to have wi-fi in room. Would definitely stay again if visiting Rotorua

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geranium_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrincesGateHotel, Owner at Princes Gate Hotel, responded to this review, 23 January 2011
Thank-you for your positive feedback. Our staff go out of their way for our guests and something like carrying a guests bags from their car to their room is all part of our expected standard of service. It is great that you enjoyed your stay with us and that we could make your life easier and provide warmth and friendliness as we strive to do for all our guests. As for the internet, we do provide both wi-fi and broadband in all our Hotel rooms for a small fee in-line with many other Hotels around New Zealand. Regards, Brett Marvelly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 January 2011

I'd looked at this hotel for years and wondered because I admired the colonial style building- then when we saw it had been upgraded, we decided to visit. The rooms are stylish and comfortable with everything one could want. The dinner we had was excellent and the service was friendly and first rate. What more could you want?

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dsmdgm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrincesGateHotel, Owner at Princes Gate Hotel, responded to this review, 23 January 2011
We really appreciate your wonderful comments. As your comment states we have recently upgraded our rooms and they are really wonderful and comfortable while still staying true to the aesthetic of the Princes Gate Hotel. We hope to see you again and that your next stay with us is not another few years away. Regards, Brett Marvelly (Owner)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2011

We made the big mistake of going for the High Tea at the Princes Gate. As previous reviewers have stated the website presents a wonderful picture of the hotel and of a high tea on the usual three tiered stand with a great selection of sandwiches and cakes. What you get however is a miniature version with a mini scone which was about the size of an old 50 cent piece was accompanied by two huge bowls of cream and jam which took up most of the plate and were totally out of proportion to the size of the scone. The waitress offered a top up but before we could say anything made the point that it was only for the tea. A real rip off, I complained to the hotel but the hotel management don't seem interested in listening and addressing problems. We paid 100 dollars for two small plates of food.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HIghteafan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrincesGateHotel, Owner at Princes Gate Hotel, responded to this review, 21 January 2011
As to your feedback, please find the following explanation. I leave this up to Tripadvisor readers to make up their own opinions. Firstly high tea is a very old tradition dating back over 100 years. The concept of high tea was never to be had as a meal. It was designed as something fine for the ladies to have prior to dinner. I make this point so as people can know that it is not a substitute for lunch or dinner. In regards to the comment that the high tea at the Princes Gate Hotel is expensive, it certainly isn't and I will break down the cost so as to leave for future reference, the quality and value of our high tea. Having partaken in high tea at the likes of Claridges in london which equated to something around $90NZpp and the Plaza in New York at around $80NZpp, it certainly puts our price in a league of it's own. We at the Princes Gate Hotel serve approximately 10,000 high teas a year, and to be honest, probably 99% of those people are extremely happy with not only the food but the surroundings and service, which, as what high tea is all about, is the overall experience. In regards to our costings, $22.00 includes GST (15% or $3.30). We offer a selection of tea which is an endless pot. We look at this as $4.00. The high tea has a selection of 4 sandwiches @ $1.50 each. Take off the scone, the butterfly cake and 1 other chefs selection and you cost these at $3.00 each we are in debit by $0.30. I trust the above explains not only the concept, but the value of our high tea and also the overriding picture of high tea in general.

Kind regards, Brett Marvelly (Owner 25 years).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 18 December 2010

The is a beautiful hotel and location however the double bed in the 2 bedroom apartment was very small and extremely uncomfortable. The windows were very small which opened outwards and this only let in a limited amount of air. There were no fans in the apartment. The bedrooms were a good size and the lounge and kitchen facilities were good. The decor was nice. Great hot pools. Parking was also limited with two spaces for the apartments. First in best dressed.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Boonatics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrincesGateHotel, Manager at Princes Gate Hotel, responded to this review, 21 December 2010
Thank-you for positive comments. In regards to your other comments, there is free parking all around the hotel and the apartments. The two parks you talked about, are our drop off bays. There is also off-street parking available which is a security car-park. In respect to the windows, yes they do open out which is, I think, quite normal. In respect to the fan, we normally do have fans in the rooms so I do not know what went wrong there, but our guest services folder does alert the guest to being able to contact our 24 hour desk for any assistance during your stay.
We do again thank-you for your lovely comments and feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Illawarra
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2010

We picked this place due to a Lonely Planet entry and a wotif special price. The atmosphere of the place is great - really charming old hotel: lots of old pictures everywhere; lounging room with leather couches; cute rooms; balcony to sit on. Also has a little pool with 2 warmer pools to the side. Staff was very efficient on check-in/out. We stayed in a "classic room" - a bit squished/small - but had DB, decent size bathroom, mini-fridge/kettle and balcony access, as well as great armchair to lounge in. We were happy until we went to bed - we had the worst night on our whole trip thanks to a terrible mattress that was hard on the edges and soft in the middle, meaning me and my husband rolled into the middle of the bed and could never be even/straight. Things might be better in their more expensive rooms, but considering their classic room is not exactly cheap, I was disappointed. We were in Rotorua for another night, but moved to a different hotel because of the bed.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alexia99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrincesGateHotel, Owner at Princes Gate Hotel, responded to this review, 4 December 2010
Dear Alexia, i have mentioned before that it is a great help to a hotel if when a guest does find something they don't like, to inform them so they can do something about it. It is therefore frustrating for a hotel that hasn't had an opportunity to rectify this, but instead to hear it through the social pages of the internet. We do however thankyou for your wonderful comments about the Princes Gate Hotel. I can assure guests that we have a continual upgrading policy in all our rooms and now that Alexia has brought this bed to our attention it will be replaced.
Regards, Brett Marvelly, Owner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.3 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
696 reviews
0.3 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
0.3 mi away
Millennium Hotel Rotorua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
0.4 mi away
Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#17 of 92 in Rotorua
839 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Princes Gate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Princes Gate Hotel

Property: Princes Gate Hotel
Address: 1057 Arawa Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Rotorua
#25 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
#28 Romantic Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Princes Gate Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Princes Gate Hotel, the ideal accommodation whilst staying in Rotorua. The most famous Hotel in Rotorua built in 1897. This timeless, beautiful hotel is privately owned and operated. Our hotel rooms offer style and sophistication that depict a bygone era. The Princes Gate Hotel is not just a hotel but also an attraction. It has been masterfully restored through passionate attention to details. We look forward to having you stay with us in our beautiful & grand Princes Gate Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Princes Gate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Princes Gate Rotorua
Hotel Princes Gate

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing