We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hotel In Rotorua”
Review of Princes Gate Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Princes Gate Hotel
Ranked #29 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Whakatane, New Zealand
1 review
“Best Hotel In Rotorua”
Reviewed 8 March 2011

From the moment we arrived we were treated like royalty. Staff were so friendly and helpful - Rooms were absolutely georgeous, clean & tidy and very spacious.
Very resonable priced with a great location (we went to concert at events centre) If it hadnt rained we could have walked. Check out was so simple and caring staff to take care of us again like for check in. So cant wait to stay there again. Would recommend this Hotel to the world.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shar1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrincesGateHotel, Owner at Princes Gate Hotel, responded to this review, 13 March 2011
Thank-you for your wonderful comments. Indeed one of our main selling points is that we are extremely central to a lot of Rotorua's attractions and events centres. Combined with the excellent service we provide and our beautiful rooms of all types and for all budgets we definitely strive to uphold our 5 Star Qualmark rating. Word of mouth is very important to an independent Hotel such as ours and we really appreciate you passing on to others the story of your wonderful stay. We look forward to having you stay with us again in the future. Yours sincerely, Brett Marvelly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

781 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    296
    228
    141
    65
    51
See reviews for
130
424
25
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (226)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2011

We came down to Rotorua for a romantic weekend, but the room we were given ("Classic") at the Princes Gate soon destroyed all hopes of that. It was nothing short of awful:

Small, cramped, musty, reeking of tobacco smoke, wallpaper peeling in places, marks everywhere including across the bathroom mirror, insufficient ventilation, and inadequate security (one flimsy lock on a door which faced the balcony overlooking the street). Very shabby to the point of being depressing.

Please bear in mind that this is only a short summary of the problems.

I know the hotel is historic and meant to be true to the period etc, but that is no excuse for not getting the basics right, even in the lower-priced rooms. We complained, and, to their credit, fortunately received our money back. This just as well, otherwise I would have sued for misrepresentation (the pictures we saw beforehand were misleading). We left immediately in absolute disgust and returned to Auckland, our weekend ruined.

The fact that the manager feels as if he has to respond (and somewhat aggressively at that) to most of these reviews says it all really.

Quite simply, Qualmark has got the 5 star rating all wrong here.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kiwitraveller95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrincesGateHotel, Owner at Princes Gate Hotel, responded to this review, 9 March 2011
I refer to this guest review of 6th March and have pleasure in advising the following. The Princes Gate Hotel has 3 categories of rooms not including our 1 & 2 bedroom suites. They are Classic, which are a smaller room but are priced accordingly. The hotel only has 6 of these and are ideal for the budget minded. Our next category is our Estate rooms and our 3rd are our newly appointed Designer rooms. All our rooms on any booking sites, have pictures of exactly what each room type looks like, so there is no misrepresentation of what you get when you book one of our rooms. It is when checking guests into the hotel, it is standard procedure that our guests are individually taken to their rooms. We would expect if people were in town for a specific reason eg. a romantic weekend, and this didn't meet their expectations, then they would advise us of this fact. It is always extremely difficult to rationalise the guest complaint in regard to style of room, when they have sometimes spent a good part of the day and night in the room. It is however at this point worth noting, that on the same day we have a review that has a 5 star rating. Because the guest signed their name we could see these guests actually stayed in our premium room, the Designer room, which as mentioned are priced accordingly. Now being specific to the letter, I must firstly state that this is only one persons opinion. Thankfully we have hundreds of guest every week who do enjoy the splendour of the hotel. The hotel is totally non-smoking and has been so for 3 years and the housekeepers are certainly in tune with finding and neutralising any odours. in regards to security issues, there are 2 security devises on each room door, one lock and one safety catch. I must also state at this point that this Hotel is very safe and have never had any problems in this regard. All our rooms are being continually upgraded. These Classic rooms are at present in the middle of another upgrade, but in saying that , these rooms are still of a very high standard, just needing a fresh look every now and then. It is always our absolute desire for every guest to leave 100% satisfied. We do however know, like anyone in business, when dealing with people, you will always get those you cannot please. To me the bottom line here is that the letter writer even stated that the hotel did not charge him for his stay. This underlines our sincerity and genuine desire for guest satisfaction. We look forward to welcoming any future guests to the Princes Gate Hotel knowing that this 5 Star Guest and Hosted is a very special product. Yours sincerely, Brett Marvelly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 March 2011

We were pleasantly surprised with the accommodation we were offered as I had booked under Mayfair Apartments website. Well preserved colonial building dating back to 19th century, she offered guests a look into glorious history and charm of a bygone era. The service was impeccable and we dined in the fine dining restaurant deliberately over a couple of days because there was no better food or friendly service and it was right on the doorstep.
We would definitely recommend this hotel for her position and accommodation.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shelly_dwyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrincesGateHotel, Owner at Princes Gate Hotel, responded to this review, 13 March 2011
We greatly appreciate your comments and we are extremely pleased you had a first class stay with us. We pride ourselves on maintaining the Princes Gate Hotels old world charm and beauty while maintaining the high standards needed in the modern age within our rooms, restaurant and our service to our guests. We definitely look forward to welcoming you back here in the future. Yours sincerely, Brett Marvelly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 18 February 2011

I stayed at the Princes Gate with my mother for 2 days. It was very comfortable, with attentive staff and a great building in a great location. I particularly enjoyed having breakfast outside in the sunshine. Back in the UK, it was wintry grey February - what a contrast!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DickMillard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrincesGateHotel, Owner at Princes Gate Hotel, responded to this review, 20 February 2011
We really appreciate your positive comments and are glad you had an enjoyable stay with us. It always helps us to know that we are providing our guests with the kind of service we are striving for. Our breakfasts we serve here are wonderful and range from our tea/coffee & toast to our full continental. Having our outdoor seating on a beautiful day is a great way to start your day off too.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tauranga
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2011

Location excellent room nice and we had a lovely meal dinner and show couldn't fault at all, When we went to bed at night the bedroom was so hot, it was unberable. I sat outside until 2.00am just to keep cool once I did go to sleep the mossie decided it was dinner time. I would stay there again if aircon was availabe or a fan, Another couple who were at the same dinner show had to move rooms because it was so hot. When I pointed this out to reception in the morning was told we have problems with contractors trying to get them to put in air con Where told that this is common complaint .(People have moved out because it is to hot) Not a good look for New Zealand see will be right attidute ) We had breakfast which was very nice and I must take my hat off to them they were fantastic, Just have to sort out the aircon, being a hotel you would think that a fan would be in every room

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jamesbondtauranga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrincesGateHotel, Owner at Princes Gate Hotel, responded to this review, 20 February 2011
Thank-you for your feedback, we really appreciate knowing that you had a wonderful experience with us and do hope we have the opportunity to have you stay with us again. In response to your comments on our rooms being very hot, we are definitely taking steps to remedy this. We have got fans for all our rooms and are currently in the process of insulating our rooms to prevent the heat distribution causing the rooms to become so hot. This will be be completed very soon and will also help to keep the rooms warmer in the winter too.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Traverse City, Michigan
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 22 January 2011

My actual stay was April, 2009. This is a beautiful little botique hotel that has charm, great service, great food, drinks and amenities. I would stay there again in a heartbeat were I to travel to New Zealand. I was only there two days, as I was on a tour, but next time I would definitely like to spend a week or more in this beautiful little community and in this charming Hotel.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Friesians52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrincesGateHotel, Owner at Princes Gate Hotel, responded to this review, 23 January 2011
We would like to thank-you for your feedback and are really please you had an enjoyable stay. We strive hard to please each and every guest and we are very happy when a guest lets us know that is exactly what we have acheived. We definitely look forward to having you stay with us again in the future. Regards, Brett Marvelly (Owner)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 January 2011

Arriving at the hotel on a rainy evening I was very impressed to have the manager greet me and accompany me to the car to collect my bag and carry it to my upstairs room. One rarely experiences such lovely service these days.I stayed two nights while attending a conference acros the road at the conference centre. The location was ideal, I loved the "old world" decor of this charming historic hotel and the warmth and friendliness of the staff. When we needed photocopies for the conference the staff were very helpful. The room was clean and comfortable and I appreciated the comfortable bed.
The only thing I would have liked was free internet access for my computer. There was a small fee for this but good to have wi-fi in room. Would definitely stay again if visiting Rotorua

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geranium_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrincesGateHotel, Owner at Princes Gate Hotel, responded to this review, 23 January 2011
Thank-you for your positive feedback. Our staff go out of their way for our guests and something like carrying a guests bags from their car to their room is all part of our expected standard of service. It is great that you enjoyed your stay with us and that we could make your life easier and provide warmth and friendliness as we strive to do for all our guests. As for the internet, we do provide both wi-fi and broadband in all our Hotel rooms for a small fee in-line with many other Hotels around New Zealand. Regards, Brett Marvelly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.3 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
706 reviews
0.3 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#17 of 92 in Rotorua
848 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Millennium Hotel Rotorua
0.1 mi away
Aura Accommodation
Aura Accommodation
#3 of 92 in Rotorua
185 reviews
1.2 mi away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Princes Gate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Princes Gate Hotel

Property: Princes Gate Hotel
Address: 1057 Arawa Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Rotorua
#25 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
#28 Romantic Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Princes Gate Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Princes Gate Hotel, the ideal accommodation whilst staying in Rotorua. The most famous Hotel in Rotorua built in 1897. This timeless, beautiful hotel is privately owned and operated. Our hotel rooms offer style and sophistication that depict a bygone era. The Princes Gate Hotel is not just a hotel but also an attraction. It has been masterfully restored through passionate attention to details. We look forward to having you stay with us in our beautiful & grand Princes Gate Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Princes Gate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Princes Gate Rotorua
Hotel Princes Gate

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing