We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wounderful One Bedroom Apartment”
Review of Midway Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Midway Motel
Ranked #61 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Reviewed 14 February 2013

Stayed at Midway for two nights while visiting Rotorua tourist sites.
We were two friends traveling New Zealand in rental car. We booked this to get separate bedrooms. One upstairs (which holds 3 beds) and one down stairs. For this configuration, only (small) drawback is that one has to pass (and stumble into) the down stairs bed on ones way to a night time visit to the bathroom.
Room was in good condition.
Staff (the oweners) was very friendly and helpful.

However though room-walls seems very thick, if your neighbours stay up late and talk and laugh, you will definatley hear it. Had to use ear-plugs one of the nights. Even though many people finds such signs boring, a "quiet after 10pm, please" sign in every rooms would unfortunately not be completely out of place.

Free WiFi was, what we found out during the trip, very common Zenbu for hotels and such. Free WiFi was indeed free, but limited to 200 MB.

Down town Rotorua is within (european :-) ) walking distance.

Would I stay there again? - yes, definately.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LabanTheGhost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (72)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

60 - 66 of 72 reviews

Reviewed 6 November 2012

Plenty of space for 2 couples and two small children in the larger 2 storey units (a novelty for my Kiwi grandaughter). Agree with other reviews regarding the owners and the well equipped units but the units are starting to show their age. We all enjoyed the thermal pool with its constant supply of hot water. So much better than a spa bath. There is a hinged cover so safe for the children when not in use.

It was also nice and warm with the thermal spring water powering the central heating.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2012

We booked this Motel at an I~site miles away and were so pleased when we arrived! We were greeted warmly at the desk and taken to our room by Jenni (the owner/manager). The room was clean, large and had a kitchenette as well as it's own thermal soaking pool! We were only there one night, and my husband and I both wished we could have stayed longer. Very comfortable room with parking at our door. We met Ross (Jenni's husband) later, and he, too, was kind, friendly, and helpful. Rotorua has many places to stay, but this is where we would stay if we ever were able to come back!

Room Tip: Go to the I~sites (in most towns of New Zealand) and they will help you book a room in any location...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tonishel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2012

In Feb 2012 we stayed for three days in this motel and received a 1st class welcome from the owners. We had travelled all day to get there and submerging ourselves in the room spa was wonderful. The accommodation was spotless and well equipped and the service impecable, including easily obtainable free wifi, huge room on two levels, and even a free morning paper delivered to the door each day. It was an excellently situated motel with only a 15 minute walk to the i Site and bus terminal. (the owner even offered to take us down there in his car) Would thoroughly recommend this establishment and have done to friends visiting next year. Complaints, none at all, well I did have to bend down to pick the paper up though!!!! Thanks Midway, well done. - Julie & Steve

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank S B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2012

Just wanted to say a big thank you to Jenni and Ross for our stay at Midway Motel. Our kids really enjoyed the spa pool, being able to wake up and have a dip straight away was amazing!
From the very moment we stepped in we felt welcomes, with a great - nothing is too much attitude - thank you.

Room Tip: All rooms are good, especially as they have pools in them..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lise M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2012

We have been before in this motel over the years and it has been sad to see the continuous decline of this place due to lack of maintenance; so this was the last time for us. The owner keeps the same well-trained smile and the motel looks very tired indeed.

There is no lack of motels in Fenton Street and, for pretty much the same price, you could stay across the road in the Tuscany Villas or one block closer to town in the Executive on Fenton or... too numerous to mention.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zentree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2011

We spent one night here as we were travelling through different cities each day. This was a very friendly little motel. The lady who ran it was extremely helpful. She even stayed up late to let us get our laundry done! Our room was spacious and clean and had a kitchen included. All the rooms have little indoor hot tubs with natural hot spring water due to the geothermal activity in the area. The motel is in an excellent location close to the town centre and with everything you need nearby. I would highly recommend this to anyone staying in Rotorua!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AmritC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.2 mi away
PURE Motel & Guest House
PURE Motel & Guest House
#55 of 92 in Rotorua
15 reviews
0.2 mi away
Devonwood Manor
Devonwood Manor
#79 of 92 in Rotorua
83 reviews
0.1 mi away
Geneva Motor Lodge
Geneva Motor Lodge
#35 of 92 in Rotorua
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Executive on Fenton
Executive on Fenton
#44 of 92 in Rotorua
204 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ace Motor Lodge
Ace Motor Lodge
#76 of 92 in Rotorua
36 reviews
1.1 mi away
Santa Maria Motel
Santa Maria Motel
#46 of 92 in Rotorua
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Midway Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Midway Motel

Address: 293 Fenton Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Price Range: £56 - £128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Midway Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Midway Motel is situated in central Rotorua opposite Rydges Hotel Rotorua on Fenton Street Rotorua, Central North Island New Zealand within easy drive of many of New Zealand Tourist attractions. Midway motel is in walking distance of shops, the markets, restaurants and cafes, the Conference Centre and Lake Rotorua, making our location ideal for those who want to enjoy city conveniences without cars. Midway Motel is the perfect accommodation choice for couples weekends, family vacations and holidays, Rotorua Conferences, large groups and Sports teams. We have plenty of parking for trailers, second car or large vehicles and boats. Midway Motel units and Apartments are large and spacious with our Apartments on 2 levels - ideal for families or groups where some members want to stay up later than others. Every Apartment and unit has a Hot pool, Sky TV and free Wifi Internet. Explore Rotorua's scenic beauty spots, a geothermal wonderland with the Rotorua Geysers and Hot pools. Experience Rotorua's and New Zealand's unique Maori cultural heritage and many fun family and sports activities in and around Rotorua. All of this is made easy at Midway Motel. Our friendly and helpful staff are more than willing to provide information about the many tourist attractions located in close proximity to Midway Motel. Visitors vouchers and bookings are available at reception any time. So just ask away. We look forward to having you stay with us. See you when you get here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your Midway Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rotorua Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing