We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cozy, friendly, reasonable!”
Review of Fenton Court Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fenton Court Motel
Ranked #39 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
Conisbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Cozy, friendly, reasonable!”
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights (all too short a stay sadly!) in July, so the weather was rainy and windy.

Regardless of the nasty weather, the motel offered a warm welcome to their friendly establishment.

I opted for a room with a private outdoor jacuzzi/hot pool which was fantastic. This was located outside and under cover. It took a long while to fill up, but there was nothing better after a day out exploring in the wind and rain to come back and have a long soak in the hot water while listening to and watching the weather swirling around!

The room itself was also very good. Microwave and fridge (with free milk) and lots of tea/coffee/hot chocolate/biscuits. Also the usual things like a TV and free wi-fi internet access.

The bathroom was large, with a decent shower, toilet and sink. I would mention there's no bath, but when you've got a large hot tub sat outside, you don't really need one!

The free shuttle minibus was invaluable. They took me to the Polynesian Spa and also picked me up from a local supermarket when the rain was coming down.

In terms of location, it's around a 15 minute stroll from central Rotorua up Fenton Street, but in pleasant weather it's a nice enough walk. Local amenities include a supermarket and fast food restaurants within a 10 minute walk.

Would definitely come here again, hopefully in summer next time!

Room Tip: Spend the few dollars more to ask for a ground floor room with outdoor hot tub/jacuzzi!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Matt L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    106
    73
    26
    5
    3
See reviews for
67
92
11
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

Very tidy and clean motel. Friendly and helpfull staff. Great way to relax in a warm spa while it's very cold outside. Breakfast was delivered to our room, on time and still hot. Plenty of tea and coffee in our room.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank 141nicolap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
199 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Its not the newest cab off the rank, but its clean, its tidy and the owners are lovely, and most helpful. Our room was on the second storey so we had an inhouse spa bath, rather than in the courtyard. Our room was not large, but it was fine for us both and we had a microwave if we needed to heat up food bought outside. A big bathroom with towels and toiletries beautifully presented. Nice bed coverings too and a good TV with a great selection of channels to choose from. The scrambled eggs breakfast was a great touch too with hot toast served up in their own little paper jackets and cooked to perfection. Good value, outstanding service and a great nights sleep in a big bed.

Room Tip: Try and get ground floor if you have lots of luggage and youre not too fit
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shower1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We stayed at Fenton Court Motel for 2 days early june, and were impressed with the cleanliness of the well furnished rooms, not to speak about courtesy and helpfulness of the owners. Being on the first floor, we did not have a courtyard mineral pool, but no matter as it was raining both days.

Location wise, it's slightly less than a km from the Rotorua lake on a wide road, which makes the smell of sulphur substantially less than the large hotels near the lake. Conviencies in form of a Woolsworth, a mall with a food court, a liquor store, McDonalds Hungry Jacks and a few restaurents are close by, and the town center is an easy walking distance.

There are 20+ rooms in 2 buildings with ample space for parking, which ensures privacy and quiet.

What with a lovely breakfast both mornings, the helpful advice from the owners, the well lit and provided kitchenette and the comfortable beds, we had an amazing stay, and were sorry to be leaving. If we are in Rotorua again, we will surely stay here again. The accommodation is good value for money

Room Tip: Our triple room at one end on the first floor had a nice 2 person Jacuzzi in the bathroom, a TV in e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Manoj K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

I had been to this Motel on a weekend in June 2014. It is just amazing.
Spa was awesome.
Rooms were specious.
Kitchen was complete.
We had 6 beds for 5 people.
Two LED TVs with Sky.
Complementary breakfast provided was very good.
Most importantly, people and place was awesome.
Just go for it without thinking much,

Room Tip: Everything is awesome.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VikrantMulani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

The owners were fantastic. Nothing was too much trouble. The unit was clean and tidy. The breakfast was awesome. My family had a great 2 days stay. The accomodation was very cheap and the spa was amazing. Would highly recommend to any family. Cant wait to go back.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cavellmorrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Te Aroha, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Thank you so much Karen and Terry for the amazing service you gave us!!

Anyone looking for an affordable, clean and tidy (yet not a cheap dump) place to stay need look no further! Since we stayed there two years ago, Karen and Terry have made this motel a much more enjoyable place to stay!

Plenty of tea, coffee and hot chocolate in the room (not cheap stuff either), more fresh towels than we could ever need, lovely comfortable beds, and a TV in the lounge AND the bedroom! Our own private spa in the courtyard was awesome, and again HEAPS of fresh towels!

But what stood out the most for us was Terry and Karen! What amazing hosts for us, we travelled with our 3 young girls for 5 nights, so we had plenty of washing as it was raining while we were in Rotorua, so I took our washing to the office and asked Karen if I could do a load, she told me to hand over the basket, Karen washed, dried and folded our washing and delivered it back to our room. And all this at no charge!! Karen told me we have better things to be doing on our break away than watching a machine! They also work endlessly to keep the grounds looking great.

Our complimentary breakfast every morning was great too! There was plenty of food for all of us and delivered hot!

Terry and Karen, I can see that you have improved the motel in the two years that you have been there and cant wait for the next stay! Thanks so much for the chats and great service. You have my recommendation always.

See you again soon ;)
Marieke, Steve and the girls :)

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thelatimers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.1 mi away
Brylin Motel
Brylin Motel
#49 of 92 in Rotorua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
1.6 mi away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#20 of 92 in Rotorua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
0.0 mi away
ASURE Palm Court Rotorua
ASURE Palm Court Rotorua
#19 of 92 in Rotorua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
RotoVegas Motel of Rotorua
0.4 mi away
Golden Glow Motel
Golden Glow Motel
#36 of 92 in Rotorua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
0.5 mi away
BK's Rotorua Motor Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fenton Court Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fenton Court Motel

Property: Fenton Court Motel
Address: 305-307 Fenton Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Rotorua
#22 Romantic Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fenton Court Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
18 Modern units, serviced daily: 8 studio; 8 x 1 Brm; 2 x 2 Brm; 2 with access facilities. 2 X 2 Brm units with fully equipped kitchen, 8 studio units with breakfast making facilities; all with microwave, fridge, hair dryer, queen And King size beds, phone, FREE WIFI 9-channel Sky Digital TV (2 TVs in 1 & 2 Brm units), heating, electric blankets, iron/ironing board. Private spa in 8 units, individually filled/controlled; double spa bath in 10 units. Cot and highchair available. Cooked/continental breakfast available served to unit, laundry service, off-street parking with security lighting. Secure storage for bikes. Tariff (2 persons): studio and 1 brm unit $120.00 - $150.00 Extra person $20; corporate rates available; minimum unit rate may apply; 2 brm unit rates on application; peak or seasonal rates may apply. Visa, MasterCard, Amex, Eftpos. Member MANZ, Rotorua Assn of Motels. Hosts: Lin & Yong. Qualmark 4-star Self-contained & Serviced. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fenton Court Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rotorua Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing