We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Affordable Luxury”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Braeside Rotorua
Ranked #9 of 93 Hotels in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
County Durahm
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Affordable Luxury”
Reviewed 5 March 2014

We stayed at this resort for two nights in February. We were met in reception by Karen who I think is the manageress. She greeted us like were old friends and made us feel instantly at home. She asked us what we would like to do during our stay in Rotorua and she was provided us with an absolute wealth of knowledge on places to go and what to do and see.
Our suite was lovely with a separate lounge and kitchen, the bedroom was cosy and the bathroom was very clean and well appointed. We had our own full size Jacuzzi spa pool in the back garden which was a great treat after a day walking around the city.
Braeside is a little out of the way of the city centre but it's only a few minutes drive away by car/taxi and personally I think well worth the money for that touch of luxury and peace and quiet.

Room Tip: Book a room with the Jacuzzi spa pool...you will be glad you did :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AS42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bwbraeside, Owner at BEST WESTERN Braeside Rotorua, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Many thanks for your comments and yes Karen has a wealth of information re Rotorua, so glad she could help you make your trip a little easier. Thanks for staying with us
Kitty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

474 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    294
    145
    25
    10
    0
See reviews for
193
192
15
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014

Set far away from the usual Rotorua smell but close enough to everything.Excellent hosts kitty and John and the rooms were very well appointed.Great walking trails and a trout stream at your backdoor.Plenty of choice of things to do and great value for money.
This is one place I would recommend to anuone looking to stay in Rotorua.
Thanks for the great service and look forward to returning in the future.

Room Tip: Book a spa room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank henare1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bwbraeside, Owner at BEST WESTERN Braeside Rotorua, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Hi , thanks for your comments its great to know we are making life a little more enjoyable for those that visit us, we look forward to seeing you the next time you visit. Thanks again
kitty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
on the road
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014

We had an excellent experience at this hotel. We booked one of the spa rooms and found that we had our very own full-sized hot tub in the back. Unbelievable! The setting was lovely. The room was comfortable and clean. Kitty at the front desk was so cheerful and helpful and made us feel so welcome. Highly recommend this hotel for it's location and friendly staff. And the price was great too!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lsable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 25 February 2014

The reception staff here are FANTASTIC, both the women who checked us in and out were friendly and knowledgeable about the area and their accommodation.
The room was clean, and well presented. We had a blast playing table tennis and mini golf.
In the restaurant we were treated to one of the best meals we have had in many years, my husband is an ex chef so quite fussy, he is still raving about this to our friends!

Thank you for a wonderful experience!!!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Latania L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 February 2014 via mobile

I was booked into the Best Western Braeside for an extended work trip and I'm so thankful my head office chose this motel for me!
Kitty, John and Karen could not of made me feel more at home and Mary Ann's cooking kept me going back to the restaurant night after night.
My one bedroom apartment was well-appointed, clean and a pleasant place to call home for a while.
I wouldn't hesitate recommending this place to anyone, a little bit out of town means a quiet and safe environment to relax and enjoy what Rotorua has to offer (thanks to the knowledgable reception staff.) And luckily there is none of the signature Rotorua smell out this way either!
I know where I'll be booking next time I'm in Rotorua for business or pleasure!
Thanks so much guys!!

Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank HenryStewart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
108 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

We had two nights here, and found it comfortable, although a little small, and not as up-to-date as it could be. Our experience of Best Western is that they are good quality, and all of a similar standard. This one was OK, but needs some rejuvenating. The staff were extremely helpful, and the unit was clean and tidy. If we ever return to Rotorua, we'd probably look around for a different motel, but might go to this one.

Room Tip: Ask for a larger/newer room, if available
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ColinBut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alofi, Niue
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Stayed in a 2 bedroom unit with my partner and 2 other friends for 6 nights. The location was just perfect for us because we wanted to go to places farther from the town centre and it's only a short drive to town. the ladies at the reception were very friendly and accommodating which made us feel comfortable from the beginning.(special thanks to Kitty for giving us fresh lemons for my sick partner) the living room was spacious and the couches and beds were comfy. there was a tv inside our bedroom which was great although we didn't use it often because we were out most times. there was daily room cleaning even though they weren't able to clean our rooms because we were inside during cleaning hours but they gave us fresh towels everyday. I would have preferred laundry inside our unit but it was OK since the laundry room was not always occupied. Bathroom was average because our door was broken. The recreation facilites like the pingpong table and minigolf could have used some polishing. Also love the hot pool, wish the bigger pool was deeper though. overall its a great place. I wouldn't mind staying here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
3.4 mi away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
2.5 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 93 in Rotorua
672 reviews
2.2 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Sport of Kings Motel
Sport of Kings Motel
#2 of 93 in Rotorua
1,201 reviews
3.6 mi away
Regal Palms 5 Star City Resort
3.3 mi away
Arista of Rotorua
Arista of Rotorua
#3 of 93 in Rotorua
843 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Braeside Rotorua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Braeside Rotorua

Property: BEST WESTERN Braeside Rotorua
Address: 4 Barnard Road, Rotorua 3015, New Zealand (Formerly BEST WESTERN Braeside Resort)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
#9 Best Value Hotel in Rotorua
#11 Romantic Hotel in Rotorua
#14 Business Hotel in Rotorua
#15 Family Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Braeside Rotorua 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN Braeside Rotorua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Braeside Hotel Rotorua
Best Western Rotorua
Rotorua Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing