We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Alpin Motel and Conference Centre
Nearby Hotels
US$180
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$174
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$175
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$154
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Holiday Inn Rotorua(Rotorua)(Great Value!)
US$199
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$174
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Wai Ora Lakeside Spa Resort(Rotorua)(Great Value!)
US$138
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$114
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Prince's Gate Hotel(Rotorua)(Great Value!)
US$165
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$86
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$557
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$471
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Braeside Rotorua(Rotorua)(Great Value!)
US$118
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$106
Hotwire.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$140
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$136
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$112
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$87
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cedarwood Lakeside(Rotorua)(Great Value!)
US$114
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$111
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (293)
Filter reviews
293 results
Traveller rating
120
125
34
11
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
120
125
34
11
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsplunge poolhot tubprivate courtyardbike washmountain bikingfree unlimited wifiseparate bedroomfamily holidayqueen bedbusy roadstayed here for nightsshort stayquiet locationmain roadwould stay againgreat facilitieslounge area
Filter
Updating list...
183 - 188 of 293 reviews
Reviewed 5 August 2013

The Alpin is located on the outskirts of Rotorua - a good 30 minute walk or a short drive from the centre. It may feel a little isolated though this didn't bother us at all. The motel rooms form a square with the centre containing a communal area with pools. Our room had a lounge / kitchenette with two sofas which converted to single beds, a somewhat small bathroom, a master bedroom, and it's own enclosed terrace with thermally heated spa.

Furnishings were basic but clean, comfortable, and functional. The kitchen contained everything we needed and there was ample bedding etc. Perhaps the only complaint was a lack of heating which was provided by radiators and a portable fan heater. We found the radiator in our lounge area didn't work well at all, giving the room a cold feeling in the morning and with small children we were reluctant to use the fan heater for long periods.

Our children used the pool just once and found it a little cold despite the thermal claims. The spa on the other hand was excellent and very welcome after a long day.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ACNM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2013

We had a choice of a number of similar motels, we got an online deal for the Alpin which was the deciding factor and we were really impressed.
The reception at the front desk was warm and friendly, albeit surprised at the deal we had online.. they hadn't had clear information from the company we brought these from.
We didn't realize we could get free wifi from the desk until we were on our way out, this would have come in handy if we'd known about it at check-in.
The room was very clean, very modern and had great facilities, including plunger coffee!
There was more than enough room for my teenage daughter and I, and the plunge pool was just perfect after a long day traveling, we could watch the flat screen TV while relaxing in hot water.
There was a huge cockroach outside near our private pool which my daughter did not appreciate but I think is to be expected with so much bush and water around, there didn't seem to be any sign of insects in the unit.
The bathroom was extremely clean and modern, but no soap left in dispenser.
We were in a unit near the road but didn't hear any traffic noise and although the motel seemed to be full we didn't hear a lot of noise from the neighbors.
Bed was comfy and extra blankets and pillows in wardrobe were appreciated.
I will definitely stay again when we have longer to enjoy the area, the Alpin makes a great base for adventuring around Rotorua.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Angry_Angel65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2013

My wife and I stayed back in January for a one night stopover. The Alpin has been my main stay in Rotorua going back to the '80s (formally the Puhi Nuhi) so I knew what to expect when we arrived. Our room was in a very clean and tidy state and the basic format kept the same as in past visits which works really well. One thing I did notice was the change in the unit spa pool. This seemed much smaller than the previous one ( the old one being circular about 7 ft in diameter). Where as in previous times I could really lie down, relax and soak it up under the stars, the new one is a basic sit down model. Not a biggie but to me it was a special feature that set Alpin apart from the rest of the motels. The Alpin is still a great motel and would definitely recommend it, just really missed the big tub...

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy20159
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2013

The Alpin Motel is one of my husband and my favourite motels to stay. From the individual plunge/spa pools in the courtyard of the unit to the full size heated swimming pool in the grounds available for all guests . You can actually have a holiday without leaving the complex. Great for a rest from busy lives

Room Tip: They all seem to be great the complex is off the Main Road in Rotorua so traffic noise is no problem. The 3 nights we stayed the unit was lovely and peaceful
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carolyn F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2013

We stayed for 2 nights in Mid March 2012. It was a good choice and suited us well.

The really good parts were the quality of the reception people, the main large heated pool, the personal spa pool attached to our room, and the almost complete absence of any traffic noise.

Although we did not use the Conference facility it did appear to be more than adequate for groups of maybe up to 30-50. The space outside the Conference area would be very useful on fine days. There is no restaurant but the recommendation to walk across the road to the Holiday Inn was a top recommendation.

It is a large Motel with probably as many as 40 units, an older Motel but very well maintained. The kitchen is small and adequate for 2 people. It had 2 hot plates, microwave, and utensils & cutlery for 3 people. Like many Motels the lighting inside the Unit was poor & difficult to read under.

Car parking was excellent, straight outside the Unit and under cover.

The personal heated spa being part of the Unit was really good but does take 30 mins to fill and cannot be filled after 9.30 p.m. I think. The main general heated pool is better and is available 24 hours a day.

Wireless Internet worked okay but the free amount of data is minimal - there is a cost above the free minimal allowance.

Room Tip: All Units appear to be the same.
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AytonWellington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews