We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value for Money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Alpin Motel and Conference Centre
Ranked #39 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 January 2014

Rotorua, Boxing Day, Height of the Season, a fully self contained, spacious suite with separate lounge and bedroom plus a private mineral pool off the bedroom, free wi-fi allocation and close to all amenities. The swimming pool is heated to 30 degrees for all year round enjoyment, the rooms are pleasantly decorated and comfortable. All this for $135 inclusive for two adults. An excellent place to stay at a great price. And the manager gave me a tip on a horse which won the next time out. It doesn't get much better than that!

Room Tip: Rooms at the front face the road so ask for a room at the side or rear of the complex. Having said t...
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WillyH2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (268)
There are newer reviews for Alpin Motel and Conference Centre
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

149 - 155 of 268 reviews

Reviewed 9 January 2014

The room layout was perfect for us - lounge with two divan beds and a kitchenette, then a small foyer area with the bathroom off it, then a double bedroom (with a second TV), and outside your private hot pool. All very clean and comfortable. There also is a warm swimming pool (which I loved) and a grassed area with picnic tables etc. The parking is right outside the unit and spacious.

The proprietors were friendly and laid back - they even allow dogs :).

The kitchenette was all we needed but very little bench space so it would be difficult to prepare a proper meal.

Sala Street is a busy road so if you are noise sensitive, you should ask for a unit away from that side.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kiwi_on_Hols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Cons: every room has a hot tub, but the common swimming pool is a HOT pool - too hot to swim in; the Wifi was very spotty - kept cutting out on us; rooms were quite small, and our queen bed was so soft I got backache (although the kids' bed/couches in LR were firm and really comfortable).
Pros: Quiet at edge of town and near forest trails; staff and owners are very friendly, and responded to our 3 requests within minutes of asking

Room Tip: Only rooms 1-15 have air conditioning, although (being in room 16) we asked for a fan and AC was not...
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claudia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Convenient location, very friendly management, great facilities. Reading previous reviews we thought we would try this motel and we weren't disappointed. Inviting beds, modern bathroom, tv's , cooking facilities and microwave as well as internet access and off street parking . The private hot tub and pool facilities were a hit. Definitely coming back in the future.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Edr2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013

This was the second time that Ive booked with Alpin, this was again the best for my family. Rooms are clean, spacious and the facilities from private punge pool, trampoline, bbq area and a bigger pool etc.. Are peerrfeeect. Tim the customer service person was friendly, and soo enjoyed everything Alpin has to offer...Will do again and again!! Keep up the great management of this place, this is wat kiwis will be proud of!

Room Tip: Ask for extra towels, they can be small.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Labrina2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

Perfect for everyone looking for a nice self contained apartment, specially awesome for mountain bikers, as it's just around the corner from the entrance of the forest. Owners are the friendliest and helpful people that we met in NZ. Room is very nice and spacious... Definitely recommend it for anyone looking for a cool little place to stay in Rotorua. We will be definitely coming back!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dank13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

We can hightly recommend this motel as convienent and the staff friendly. As an extended family we recently stayed in 10 units and found the facilities excellent. The children especially enjoyed the pool. Because the motel is on one level it was easy to feel connected to the other members of our party. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pauline F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
3.9 mi away
Best Western Braeside Rotorua
0.3 mi away
Wylie Court Motor Lodge
Wylie Court Motor Lodge
#41 of 92 in Rotorua
242 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#17 of 92 in Rotorua
857 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Cosy Cottage Thermal Holiday Park Rotorua
0.6 mi away
Fenton Court Motel
Fenton Court Motel
#43 of 92 in Rotorua
216 reviews
2.2 mi away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#24 of 92 in Rotorua
262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpin Motel and Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpin Motel and Conference Centre

Address: 16 Sala Street, Rotorua 6043, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in Rotorua
#31 Romantic Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range: £45 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Alpin Motel and Conference Centre 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Private hot tubs with all 40 one bedroom modern apartments. Sauna, bike hire, BBQs. Thermal heating, garden setting, sustainable environmental policies, guest laundry. Relax in the central garden setting, smell the flowers, whistle with the birds. Ask at reception for free and inexpensive things to do, rainy day activities, and best value for money attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Alpin Motel and Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpin Motel And Conference Centre Hotel Rotorua
Alpin Motel Rotorua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing