We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value accommodation. A little tired but clean and efficient.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Alpin Motel and Conference Centre

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Alpin Motel and Conference Centre
Ranked #36 of 93 Hotels in Rotorua
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Good value accommodation. A little tired but clean and efficient.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2014

The owners have made a big effort to make the outside of these motel units look nice with hanging baskets. The pool could do with a new liner but plenty of comfortable seats and loungers available. The pool was quiet during the day but in the evening a couple of families were using it (and regularly banging the pool area gate not far from our room). The private hot tubs are OK but the privacy is thanks to tall, painted fences which give you the impression of being inside an open topped shed.

The rooms are a really good size. A few niggles (eg the bed slides out away from you when you lean on the headboard, sheets were quite thin and the free wifi ground to a halt in the evening).

Fairly unpleasant smell of cooking from other rooms wafted through our windows all evening - not a lot you can do about other guests though!

Having said that, a good night's sleep and the room cleaning staff were very friendly.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the main road (it's not that busy but if you can worth being on the oth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mariemusicademy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    104
    110
    32
    8
    3
See reviews for
87
84
15
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2014

After staying at ascot lodge in Hamilton, we were very wary of our next booking, as it was my first trip to New Zealand, we stayed in unit 31, which accommodated 4 people in January 2014, a self contained unit with a tv for the kids and a tv for the mum and dad, the beds were excellent, and at times I didn't want to get out of bed... Very clean, and stylish, the motel is designed for the mountain bikers, but just as suited for the weary traveller, the pool was heated to 30 degrees and the private mineral pool off the main bedroom was a plus. The staff were very accommodating and the kids were happy that the wifi actually worked and it was no problem getting more free data anytime the reception area was open, very close to all amenities and the location is off the main road, which is a big plus. Very nice stay there and would go back when I visit New Zealand again for sure. Car parking is a bit squeezy, but that is due to the layout of the building.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wayne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lviv, Ukraine
Level Contributor
163 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2014

It's located a little bit out of the centre (20 minutes walk and 30 to the beach). But only 200 meters from the living Maori village. Very friendly and good service. The rooms are wonderful, there is also a warm water swimming pool.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank francois d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whangaparaoa, New Zealand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2014

Rotorua, Boxing Day, Height of the Season, a fully self contained, spacious suite with separate lounge and bedroom plus a private mineral pool off the bedroom, free wi-fi allocation and close to all amenities. The swimming pool is heated to 30 degrees for all year round enjoyment, the rooms are pleasantly decorated and comfortable. All this for $135 inclusive for two adults. An excellent place to stay at a great price. And the manager gave me a tip on a horse which won the next time out. It doesn't get much better than that!

Room Tip: Rooms at the front face the road so ask for a room at the side or rear of the complex. Having said t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WillyH2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level Contributor
88 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014

The room layout was perfect for us - lounge with two divan beds and a kitchenette, then a small foyer area with the bathroom off it, then a double bedroom (with a second TV), and outside your private hot pool. All very clean and comfortable. There also is a warm swimming pool (which I loved) and a grassed area with picnic tables etc. The parking is right outside the unit and spacious.

The proprietors were friendly and laid back - they even allow dogs :).

The kitchenette was all we needed but very little bench space so it would be difficult to prepare a proper meal.

Sala Street is a busy road so if you are noise sensitive, you should ask for a unit away from that side.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kiwi_on_Hols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
127 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

Cons: every room has a hot tub, but the common swimming pool is a HOT pool - too hot to swim in; the Wifi was very spotty - kept cutting out on us; rooms were quite small, and our queen bed was so soft I got backache (although the kids' bed/couches in LR were firm and really comfortable).
Pros: Quiet at edge of town and near forest trails; staff and owners are very friendly, and responded to our 3 requests within minutes of asking

Room Tip: Only rooms 1-15 have air conditioning, although (being in room 16) we asked for a fan and AC was not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Claudia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

Convenient location, very friendly management, great facilities. Reading previous reviews we thought we would try this motel and we weren't disappointed. Inviting beds, modern bathroom, tv's , cooking facilities and microwave as well as internet access and off street parking . The private hot tub and pool facilities were a hit. Definitely coming back in the future.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Edr2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.4 mi away
Rotorua Coachman Spa Motel
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#20 of 93 in Rotorua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 774 reviews
0.6 mi away
Fenton Court Motel
Fenton Court Motel
#33 of 93 in Rotorua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
New Castle Motor Lodge
New Castle Motor Lodge
#39 of 93 in Rotorua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
0.4 mi away
Apex on Fenton
Apex on Fenton
#10 of 93 in Rotorua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
2.3 mi away
Cleveland Thermal Motel
Cleveland Thermal Motel
#11 of 93 in Rotorua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpin Motel and Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpin Motel and Conference Centre

Property: Alpin Motel and Conference Centre
Address: 16 Sala Street, Rotorua 6043, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in Rotorua
#31 Romantic Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Alpin Motel and Conference Centre 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Private hot tubs with all 40 one bedroom modern apartments. Sauna, bike hire, BBQs. Thermal heating, garden setting, sustainable environmental policies, guest laundry. Relax in the central garden setting, smell the flowers, whistle with the birds. Ask at reception for free and inexpensive things to do, rainy day activities, and best value for money attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Alpin Motel and Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpin Motel And Conference Centre Hotel Rotorua
Alpin Motel Rotorua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing