We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre
Ranked #31 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 November 2011

We stayed as a couple for a very short break away. Booked a package through the hotel's online booking service included deluxe room, breakfast for two and 12 noon late checkout.
The east facing 5th floor room with small balcony was as new, very clean, modern soft furnishings, large flat screen TV, laptop size electronic safe, iron and board, tea & coffee plus a large bathroom with small bath (shower over) and hairdryer. No aircon in the room but a ceiling fan and opening windows. A north or west facing room may well get uncomfortably hot with late afternoon, evening sun. We got the early morning sun streaming in which I like. Point to note is that a minibar is only available on request. Breakfast had a very good selection of fruit (stewed and fresh), cereals, the usual eggs, bacon, sausages, beans, hash browns, mushrooms and also a big selection of Asian foods. There were a number of Asian groups at breakfast but the buffet was still plentifully supplied. I was surprised that omelettes and espresso coffees were at an additional charge. The breakfast restaurant is completely self-service including machine coffee. I think I might have been disappointed with this aspect had I paid full price for breakfast.
I did not try the other restaurants and bars.
The heated pool is very inviting and there is also an outdoor jacuzzi and indoor private spa pools.
Reception staff were polite, quick and efficient but not welcoming. By booking online they had most of my details so was just asked to sign the registration form, handed the key and told where the lift was. Checkout was just as formal - nothing like 'I hope you enjoyed your stay' etc.
Location is about 1.5kms south from the city centre but just a short walk to Whakarewarewa.
Plenty of off street free parking.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Retirees2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
distinction_hotel, Manager at Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2011

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on Trip Advisor. We appreciate this feedback, as it helps us to improve our service to you.

It is great to hear that you enjoyed the room and hotel facilities, however I am sorry to hear that you thought the check-in and check-out was a bit formal. We certainly do aim to be welcoming, and this has been passed on to management.

Overall it sounds like you enjoyed your stay, which is great. We hope to welcome you again soon.

Kind regards,

Distinction Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (431)
There are newer reviews for Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

365 - 371 of 431 reviews

Reviewed 23 October 2011

Stayed here Labour weekend, exceptional service and the room was great. Newly refurbished with a super king bed and big screen tv. Breakfast was huge and really well done. One of the other reviews mentioned the smell, this may have just been the standard "Rotorua" smell. It's something you just have to deal with, you can't holiday in a thermal wonderland without a bit of a smell :0)

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheTravellingFerret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
distinction_hotel, Manager at Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2011

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on Trip Advisor. We appreciate all the feedback we get, as it helps us to improve our service to you.

It is such a joy to hear that you so thoroughly enjoyed your time here at Distinction Rotorua. Thank you for the comments on our breakfast and the room furnishings, and perhaps you are right about the thermal smell!

We hope to welcome you again soon.

Kind regards,

Distinction Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2011

We stayed at this hotel with friends from South Africa , we booked the rooms through www.grabone.co.nz they were excellent value, the hotel has just been renovated and the rooms were as new. The staff were all polite and helpful with no exceptions. The buffet breakfast was standard fare but hot and tasty and the eggs cooked to order which was a nice touch. The bar was good and the pool area very nice. I would defiantly stay here again and recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shawes76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
distinction_hotel, Manager at Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2011

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments. It is great to hear that you made the most of our GrabOne deal, and that yourselves and your South African friends so thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us.

We hope to welcome you again some day.

Kind regards,

Distinction Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2011

We got a comfortable and quiet room, very well equipped (bathroom, hair dryer, television), with 2 large beds. The breakfast was also very complete. This was a good choice to visit this wild region with so many activities and parks. We had to pay for the Wifi (as everywhere else in New Zealand), only accessible at the lobby.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank amap30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
distinction_hotel, Manager at Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2011

Thank you for posting your comments on Trip Advisor.

It is fantastic to hear that you so thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us, and we hope to welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards,

Distinction Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2011

We took a deal and stayed at this hotel which was initially described as a room with a view (there were trees in front of the window, so I guess the view was of the birds?), the room was supposedly deluxe but the smell in the room was awful - musty and smelt like someone had smoked inside. We asked to change rooms (with another couple whose room also stunk), and when we were shown to the other 2 rooms, they also smelt the same. As they were full up, we had to make a choice of which room so we went back to our original room and they came sprayed with some awful commercial spray to take away the odour. Other than that, the room was okay, the bed was comfortable, the shower over the bath passable (got wet turning on the shower head), the swimming pool (both warm and hot ones) were pretty good.

The free breakfast (not sure if this is all the time or just with the deal) was a huge buffet, with choices of all you could think of to eat. Top marks for that.

Probably wouldn't stay there again just for those few good things - but I have to say that the staff did their best to try and get something better, and if there were more empty rooms they would have done their best to find one that didn't smell.

Room Tip: When asking for a room with a view, stipulate that you are into a 'view' not looking at tree...
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MacDutch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
distinction_hotel, Manager at Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2011

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on Trip Advisor. We are sorry to hear that your room smelled musty/cigarette smell. Do you remember who you booked this through? All of our deluxe rooms are non-smoking, so this must have been one of our standard rooms - perhaps there was a miscommunication between your booking agent and the hotel..

We do apologise that the inadequacy of the room put such a negative spin on your otherwise positive stay with us. It is great to hear that the staff were so helpful, and I am certain that they would have moved you had we had any available rooms.

Thank you again for this feedback, as it helps us continually improve our service to you. I hope you will consider staying with us again.

Kind regards,

Distinction Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2011

The service at this hotel was great. The people at the reception desk were helpful and knowledgeable about the area. Breakfast was included in our package and the kids really enjoyed the buffet. The spas were great, even when it was too cold to swim in the pool. Car parking was available which suited us also.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kylie29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
distinction_hotel, Manager at Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2011

Thank you for staying with us at Distinction Rotorua, and for taking the time to share your feedback. It is great to hear that you so thoroughly enjoyed your stay, and that the helpfulness of our staff made your stay even better.

We hope to have you stay with us again in the future!

Kind regards,

Distinction Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2011

Mixed feeling about this hotel, we booked a 3night stay for our 1st family holiday away with our 3 kids, Staff very friendly and helpful but after entering our room and discovering very old worn furniture felt a little let down however we left for a few hours to go site seeing. After returning and settling the kids down to watch some tv before heading downstairs for dinner in the restaurant (which we had paid for in the package) our daughter suddenly started coughing chronicly and after then noticing the very bad mould all up the walls right next to her bed understood why as she has a major reaction to any type of mould. We headed downstairs to have dinner only to be told that the restaurant was closed and were told we could have our diner in the D bar which was crazy busy with a heap of drug people ( not were we wanted to eat with a 2, 4, and 6 year old). The final straw was when we noticed the pubic hair on the soap my 6 year old son just opened to wash his hands. I headed downstairs and told them i wasn't happy and wanted to leave without a charge, which they totally understood and agreed to thank goodness so i was happy in the end. I find it totally unacceptable though that they would place anyone in such a poorly room in the first place.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nz_mumma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
distinction_hotel, Manager at Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2011

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on Trip Advisor.

We are certainly sorry to hear that you had such a bad experience, and we do understand your point of view on this. This was unacceptable, and we have taken your comments into account in regards to your room - we will do our best to rectify this situation so it does not happen again.

Kind regards,

Distinction Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#17 of 92 in Rotorua
857 reviews
1.3 mi away
Millennium Hotel Rotorua
0.6 mi away
Rydges Rotorua
Rydges Rotorua
#46 of 92 in Rotorua
1,223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Lake Rotorua Hotel
Lake Rotorua Hotel
#45 of 92 in Rotorua
250 reviews
1.3 mi away
Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua
1.8 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre

Address: 390 Fenton Street | PO Box 983, Rotorua 3201, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
#32 Romantic Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range: £71 - £155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 133
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Distinction Rotorua Hotel And Conference Centre
Distinction Hotel Rotorua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing