We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice rooms, affordable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre
Ranked #31 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice rooms, affordable”
Reviewed 2 March 2012

Nice rooms but a little outdated. Guests need to walk through reception to get to the pool.Pool towels were tatty and falling apart. Nice spa pools and pool area though.

Room Tip: Room with a balcony over the pool is an advantage. At least you can walk outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank juliecan59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DistinctionHotels, General Manager at Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, 8 March 2012
Juliecan59
Thanks for coming and staying with us, I trust the pool & spa pool area gave you an opportunity to relax & enjoy. The pool towels will be checked and replaced. We are in the process of planning a refurbishment of our rooms (that are yet to be completed) and hope to have some underway in April.
I hope you’ll visit again so we can show the improvements made on our different levels of rooms available.

We are also in the process of changing our Pavilion lunch menu, so shall have something new for you to try on your next visit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

421 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    149
    157
    72
    30
    13
See reviews for
116
143
7
66
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2012

This hotel is a clean and comforable place to stay and the staff were very helpful. If there is a downside it is the location which is a good walk from town. We had very enjoyable evening at the Maori concert with the very friendly dancers who made all of us " Pakehas " welcome.
Although we travelled as a couple there seemed to be plenty of fun things to do in the pool area for families.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnboy060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DistinctionHotels, General Manager at Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, 8 March 2012
Johnboy060
Thanks for taking the time to comment on your stay, glad you got to enjoy our Maori Dinner & Concert. Yes we are about a 20 minute walk to town, but with the local bus running past the front of reception this does assist and reduce it to a 5 minute drive. I do hope you got to try our private grotto’s whist here and another option for you as a couple is the idyllic setting created in our Pavilion restaurant which offers an exquisite range of dishes to suit all tastebuds.
Hope to welcome you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2012

Kia ora to Victor & the breakfast ladies who took great care of our family - we really appreciate the extra effort the staff made to look after us & our extended whanau by giving baby attention, making bookings & talking with us. Breakfast: loved having the eggs cooked freshly infront of me, crispy hash browns & recommend the delicious muesli! fruits, yoghurt. The , jacuzzi & grotto were the early morning & late night enjoyment as well as spending a whole afternoon in & around the tepid outside pool. Thanks too for giving us the beautiful interconnected rooms so we could spend time together.
Ka nui te mihi maioha ki a koutou

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ata T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DistinctionHotels, General Manager at Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, 8 March 2012
Ata T
You are very welcome, so pleased your stay was enjoyable. It’s always great to receive comments about our team, they do try very hard. Hope we can welcome your family back again in the near future.


Kia ora ata t it was great having you an your lovely whanau stay here with us
Aroha nui
Kind regards Victor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2012

We stayed in a family room at Distiunction, this comprised two double beds and an en suite bathroom. The room was nicely furnished and immaculate when we arrived. The room had sky TV including sky movies - always good when you're travelling with kids. The bathroom had a powerful shower over the bath - I prefer a bath and my husband prefers a shower so that was perfect for us. The facilities were good, the pool wasn't large but while we were there it didn't get too crowded and the spa pools were lovely. We didn't try the restaurants but we spoke to peolp who did and they enjoyed the food. The staff were friendly and polite and happy to provide maps of the town and recommend places to visit. The only problem was the power, a large number of Koreans were staying at the same time as us and according to the staff the number of appliances they use causes power cuts. They only ever lasted for a couple of minutes so not too much of a problem.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank caremc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DistinctionHotels, General Manager at Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, 8 March 2012
Caremc
Pleased your family enjoyed themselves at our hotel. Thanks for the comments on the power, I will have that sorted very soon, our electrician is on the case. Shame you didn’t get the opportunity to try one of our restaurants, Mr Yakitori, our Japanese sake bar is very popular and all our outlets accommodate children. Next time you’re in the country don’t forget to come back for a visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2012

Stayed here with my sister - we had a nice room and the staff were really friendly and helpful - the swimming pool is great and the jacuzzi was fun. The spa pools in the grottos are hilarious especially the one with a waterfall. We had a nice snack meal in the bar too. Would recommend.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JKWG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DistinctionHotels, General Manager at Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, 8 March 2012
JKWG
So glad you and your sister had an enjoyable time. Look forward to seeing you again, next time you’re in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2012

Photos posted on the website are much misleading. it is a classy hotel but a very old built hotel. we were initially alloted a room in the old wing which is not that pleasing. but the duty manager and people at the reception were accomodating and shifted us into the new wing which was much better on the inside. room was comfortable and adequate. washroom is spacious. balcony is a plus. it has a open hot water pool with jets. personally i did not like the jacuzzi in the cave. it was creapy. again the 2 queen beds was an issue with us. overall also when we were visiting, a large group from korea was there and breakfast was prepared as per there liking. hence we felt a little left out. A nice place to spend a couple of days on a holiday. Special thanks to Mr. Arya and
Ms. Nika

Room Tip: ask for a room with the balcony and in the wing which has recently been renowated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank puneetpjl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DistinctionHotels, General Manager at Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, 8 March 2012
Puneetpjl
Thanks for your comments. Our buffet breakfast runs European as well as Asian options to provide variety to all and is quite extensive compared to most, I’m sorry we could not provide enough for your liking. Our egg station is very popular with most. You are correct one of our wings has yet to be completed, but I am pleased to advise we are looking at remedying that very soon and hope on your next visit to Rotorua we can impress you with our new furnishings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2011

We booked to stay one night in December 2011, after searching long and wide we were drawn by the fact that the rooms had been recently refurbished. Not sure when the rooms had been refurbished but the bathroom were looking a little grottly with mould growth in the sealant around the bath and grubby shower head. Bathroom have no heaters which means if you have used your towels on arrival they are still wet the next morning. Rooms have no air conditioning which is a big problem in Rotorua....you will have to suffer the eggy sulphur smell. The pool and out door jacuzzi were good but again the indoor "Grotto spa baths" were grotty and some what dangerous with slippery floors and sharp walls. When leaving the ppol you have to pretty much roam back through the hotel wet as there are no changing facilities. There is one shower which again is grubby and dangerous with no free soap to use. We opted for a "Treat the Family Package" as we liked the idea of a lie in. The deal advises that you can have a late check out of 12.00. At 10.30 we had a knock on the door from the house keeping staff who wanted to know when we are leaving.....! When we arived at 12.30 we were told that our room wasn't ready and that we could leave our stuff in the hotel safe room and go exploring. We returned at 2.30 to be told our room still wasn't ready,!!!! So in short late start to stay and pressure to leave early. The food in the Pavillion Restaurant ws good unfortunatley it took about 1 hour to receive food which considering the restaurant was hald full was a poor show. Understanderbly the kids were bored !!!! After complaining to the hotel management I was told that the Hotel had a late in flux of people staying and they were understaffed. After a long conversation wth a nice but full of her own importance, the manager begrudglenly offered a discount of 25%. Breakfast was less than average, fried eggs looked like they had been made by a chimp and thrown into a cement mixure, poor quality sausages and sloppy tastelss scrambled eggs, and a far cry from the advertised photos in the hotel literature. At check-out staf did not have a clue as to whether my credit card booking had been paid or whether ths was a holding deposit which took time to resolve. In summary, only stay if you can't get anywhere else, don;t be fooled by the large discounts they offer, the rack rate doesn't mean a thing. When we stayed a couple hadn't booked and were told that a deluxe room was available for $160.00

Room Tip: ASk for rooms overlooking the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PEDRO0811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#17 of 92 in Rotorua
840 reviews
1.8 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
0.5 mi away
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
#14 of 92 in Rotorua
415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Lake Rotorua Hotel
Lake Rotorua Hotel
#47 of 92 in Rotorua
245 reviews
1.3 mi away
Millennium Hotel Rotorua
0.6 mi away
Rydges Rotorua
Rydges Rotorua
#49 of 92 in Rotorua
1,206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre

Property: Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre
Address: 390 Fenton Street | PO Box 983, Rotorua 3201, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
#32 Romantic Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 133
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Distinction Rotorua Hotel And Conference Centre
Distinction Hotel Rotorua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing