We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK, but a bit "touristy"”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre
Ranked #31 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
Wetherby, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“OK, but a bit "touristy"”
Reviewed 12 March 2012

It may seem a bit strange to describe the hotel a "touristy" in a touristy town but that was the overall impression.
First impressions are good with efficient and very friendly staff at reception. However, the rooms were "tired" though spacious. The hotel is located 2.4km from the town centre which could be an issue if you didnt have a car, though it was within walking distance of a thermal park. We didnt have breakfast at the hotel so cannot comment (we drove into town and went to a very good cafe) but we did go to a "hangi" meal at the hotel and whilst the entertainment was OK, the food was poor.
There were also many coach parties in but facilities did not appear to be overloaded.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike51198092
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DistinctionHotels, General Manager at Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, 15 March 2012
Hi Mike54498092
Thanks for coming to stay with us while here in NZ. You are correct our standard rooms are looking a bit on the tired side, but I am pleased to advise we are looking at completing a refurbishment on those rooms, next month in April. Our Deluxe rooms were refurbished over the last couple of years and are still looking great. Sorry to hear your thoughts on our Maori Dinner & Show meal, we have tried to base the food groups on what was available in the area many years ago and although we do not cook the food in an actual Hangi, it is all steamed to try & retain some authentication. If your ever back this way I hope you get the chance to try our Buffet Breakfast, it is quite extensive offering something for everyone.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

421 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    149
    157
    72
    30
    13
See reviews for
116
143
7
66
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2012

Nice rooms but a little outdated. Guests need to walk through reception to get to the pool.Pool towels were tatty and falling apart. Nice spa pools and pool area though.

Room Tip: Room with a balcony over the pool is an advantage. At least you can walk outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank juliecan59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DistinctionHotels, General Manager at Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, 8 March 2012
Juliecan59
Thanks for coming and staying with us, I trust the pool & spa pool area gave you an opportunity to relax & enjoy. The pool towels will be checked and replaced. We are in the process of planning a refurbishment of our rooms (that are yet to be completed) and hope to have some underway in April.
I hope you’ll visit again so we can show the improvements made on our different levels of rooms available.

We are also in the process of changing our Pavilion lunch menu, so shall have something new for you to try on your next visit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2012

This hotel is a clean and comforable place to stay and the staff were very helpful. If there is a downside it is the location which is a good walk from town. We had very enjoyable evening at the Maori concert with the very friendly dancers who made all of us " Pakehas " welcome.
Although we travelled as a couple there seemed to be plenty of fun things to do in the pool area for families.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnboy060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DistinctionHotels, General Manager at Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, 8 March 2012
Johnboy060
Thanks for taking the time to comment on your stay, glad you got to enjoy our Maori Dinner & Concert. Yes we are about a 20 minute walk to town, but with the local bus running past the front of reception this does assist and reduce it to a 5 minute drive. I do hope you got to try our private grotto’s whist here and another option for you as a couple is the idyllic setting created in our Pavilion restaurant which offers an exquisite range of dishes to suit all tastebuds.
Hope to welcome you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2012

Kia ora to Victor & the breakfast ladies who took great care of our family - we really appreciate the extra effort the staff made to look after us & our extended whanau by giving baby attention, making bookings & talking with us. Breakfast: loved having the eggs cooked freshly infront of me, crispy hash browns & recommend the delicious muesli! fruits, yoghurt. The , jacuzzi & grotto were the early morning & late night enjoyment as well as spending a whole afternoon in & around the tepid outside pool. Thanks too for giving us the beautiful interconnected rooms so we could spend time together.
Ka nui te mihi maioha ki a koutou

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ata T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DistinctionHotels, General Manager at Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, 8 March 2012
Ata T
You are very welcome, so pleased your stay was enjoyable. It’s always great to receive comments about our team, they do try very hard. Hope we can welcome your family back again in the near future.


Kia ora ata t it was great having you an your lovely whanau stay here with us
Aroha nui
Kind regards Victor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2012

We stayed in a family room at Distiunction, this comprised two double beds and an en suite bathroom. The room was nicely furnished and immaculate when we arrived. The room had sky TV including sky movies - always good when you're travelling with kids. The bathroom had a powerful shower over the bath - I prefer a bath and my husband prefers a shower so that was perfect for us. The facilities were good, the pool wasn't large but while we were there it didn't get too crowded and the spa pools were lovely. We didn't try the restaurants but we spoke to peolp who did and they enjoyed the food. The staff were friendly and polite and happy to provide maps of the town and recommend places to visit. The only problem was the power, a large number of Koreans were staying at the same time as us and according to the staff the number of appliances they use causes power cuts. They only ever lasted for a couple of minutes so not too much of a problem.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank caremc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DistinctionHotels, General Manager at Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, 8 March 2012
Caremc
Pleased your family enjoyed themselves at our hotel. Thanks for the comments on the power, I will have that sorted very soon, our electrician is on the case. Shame you didn’t get the opportunity to try one of our restaurants, Mr Yakitori, our Japanese sake bar is very popular and all our outlets accommodate children. Next time you’re in the country don’t forget to come back for a visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2012

Stayed here with my sister - we had a nice room and the staff were really friendly and helpful - the swimming pool is great and the jacuzzi was fun. The spa pools in the grottos are hilarious especially the one with a waterfall. We had a nice snack meal in the bar too. Would recommend.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JKWG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DistinctionHotels, General Manager at Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, 8 March 2012
JKWG
So glad you and your sister had an enjoyable time. Look forward to seeing you again, next time you’re in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2012

Photos posted on the website are much misleading. it is a classy hotel but a very old built hotel. we were initially alloted a room in the old wing which is not that pleasing. but the duty manager and people at the reception were accomodating and shifted us into the new wing which was much better on the inside. room was comfortable and adequate. washroom is spacious. balcony is a plus. it has a open hot water pool with jets. personally i did not like the jacuzzi in the cave. it was creapy. again the 2 queen beds was an issue with us. overall also when we were visiting, a large group from korea was there and breakfast was prepared as per there liking. hence we felt a little left out. A nice place to spend a couple of days on a holiday. Special thanks to Mr. Arya and
Ms. Nika

Room Tip: ask for a room with the balcony and in the wing which has recently been renowated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank puneetpjl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DistinctionHotels, General Manager at Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, 8 March 2012
Puneetpjl
Thanks for your comments. Our buffet breakfast runs European as well as Asian options to provide variety to all and is quite extensive compared to most, I’m sorry we could not provide enough for your liking. Our egg station is very popular with most. You are correct one of our wings has yet to be completed, but I am pleased to advise we are looking at remedying that very soon and hope on your next visit to Rotorua we can impress you with our new furnishings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#17 of 92 in Rotorua
839 reviews
0.5 mi away
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
#15 of 92 in Rotorua
408 reviews
1.8 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Lake Rotorua Hotel
Lake Rotorua Hotel
#47 of 92 in Rotorua
244 reviews
1.3 mi away
Millennium Hotel Rotorua
0.6 mi away
Rydges Rotorua
Rydges Rotorua
#46 of 92 in Rotorua
1,203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre

Property: Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre
Address: 390 Fenton Street | PO Box 983, Rotorua 3201, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
#32 Romantic Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 133
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Distinction Rotorua Hotel And Conference Centre
Distinction Hotel Rotorua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing