We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness centre
Aywon Motel(Rotorua)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (470)
Filter reviews
470 results
Traveller rating
157
167
96
33
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
157
167
96
33
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmr yakitorihigh teagrotto spadeluxe roompavilion restaurantkids roombreakfast buffetpool areatop floorfenton streetan upgradestayed here for one nighttown centrehot poolsnew zealandgrottosspas
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
385 - 390 of 470 reviews
Reviewed 30 March 2012

This was our second time to stay here, and we would definitely stay again and recommend others to stay too.

The rooms are not huge, but are big enough for a family of four - with two queen sized beds and a separate bathroom containing a shower over a bath, toilet and handbasin. A small fridge is provided in the room for keeping your drinks chilled. Although they don't have the fridge stocked with minibar items you can order these, which is a great idea after we have had problems in other hotels due to previous guests taking drinks and not telling anyone at check-out! (I wish more hotels would adopt this way of supplying minibar items!)

Our sons loved cooling off in the large outdoor swimming pool. A nearby outdoor spa pool was also great for soaking in. There are three grotto spa pools too, however they are beginning to look a bit run-down, and the bubbles didn't work when the button was pressed (at least that was the case in the pool we went in).

We didn't have breakfast here, but there is a large restaurant on the premises and also an Asian restaurant, and conference facilities.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chynna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DistinctionHotels, General Manager at Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2012

Hi chynna, Thanks so much for your comments.
Sounds like the family had a great time, having the pool & spa facilities is excellent for relaxation we are pleased you got to enjoy them.
We have a great Treat the Family deal which includes breakfast that may interest you for the next time you visit, check out our website for more information. Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2012

Very Friendly, and helpful staff. My wife and I and our 4 yr old stayed. Nice rooms, Everything clean, great breakfast.We loved the pool / spa area.
Special thanks to Victor for showing us round. We checked in here after moving from another hotel we had booked that was of a poor standard. Would definetly recommend this place to others, and will be back to stay in near future. Good value for money. Thanks to the staff for an enjoyable stay. Sean and family

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sean S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DistinctionHotels, General Manager at Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2012

SeanS & Family,
So pleased the family had a great time here at the hotel. We get a lot of great comments about Victor & our team & are delighted you got to experience their service. Breakfast being the most important meal of the day it is so important, so we are glad you enjoyed our extensive variety as we have so many nationalities & clientele through we try & cater for all. Looking forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2012

Stayed 2 nights while attending a business related conference in September, so this hotel was choosen on that basis. Notwithstanding the expectation was that this was a little more up market.

The property does seem dated, both within the reception area and the rooms, probably 15 years behind a refreshment. The staff on reception were polite but I would rate them as friendly, a job was to be done and they were doing it.

I had breakfast both mornings, but found the buffet lacking, I do not know whether that was because both days I entered after a bus load of tourist, but I would not go out of my way to say I would eat there again if other options were nearby.

The hotel is actually quite some distance from the centre of town and there is not alot around the hotel except house (note not the best neighbourhood either). So if you do not want to eat in the hotel, expect a five minute drive back into the city.

The rooms were comfortable, clean and pleasent but also aged. Though they advertise SKY, very limited selection and found the broadband service very poor, actually used my own internet connection.

So though the hotel meet it purpose, I would rate as a very OLD & TIRED 4 star and not the destination you make the trip for!

Room Tip: Car Park is not very secure, do not leave valuables.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SometimesSkiing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DistinctionHotels, General Manager at Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2012

SometimesSkiing
Thanks for your comments from your stay back in September. I am pleased to say a lot has changed within this building since then. Our Bar & restaurants were refurbished just over three years ago and are considered by clients very modern & welcoming. We are completing a refurbishment on our standard rooms from next month so will have a better product to offer for those choosing that room type. Most of our Deluxe rooms have already been upgraded in the last three years so are looking good. I hope we get to welcome you back to show the improvements.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2012

We stay here every time we are in Rotorua and love the place...Mr Yakitori - the Japanese restaurant in house is awesome! The pool & grotto spas are great - kids love the spas! I would recommend this Hotel to anyone looking for accommodation in Rotorua

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank misschiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DistinctionHotels, General Manager at Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2012

Misshiff
Thanks so much for your comments; I’m pleased our hotel is a destination of choice. I hope we can welcome you back again very soon. The facilities are great for children & adults alike and the grotto spas are something just a bit different. Take care.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2012

It may seem a bit strange to describe the hotel a "touristy" in a touristy town but that was the overall impression.
First impressions are good with efficient and very friendly staff at reception. However, the rooms were "tired" though spacious. The hotel is located 2.4km from the town centre which could be an issue if you didnt have a car, though it was within walking distance of a thermal park. We didnt have breakfast at the hotel so cannot comment (we drove into town and went to a very good cafe) but we did go to a "hangi" meal at the hotel and whilst the entertainment was OK, the food was poor.
There were also many coach parties in but facilities did not appear to be overloaded.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike51198092
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DistinctionHotels, General Manager at Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2012

Hi Mike54498092
Thanks for coming to stay with us while here in NZ. You are correct our standard rooms are looking a bit on the tired side, but I am pleased to advise we are looking at completing a refurbishment on those rooms, next month in April. Our Deluxe rooms were refurbished over the last couple of years and are still looking great. Sorry to hear your thoughts on our Maori Dinner & Show meal, we have tried to base the food groups on what was available in the area many years ago and although we do not cook the food in an actual Hangi, it is all steamed to try & retain some authentication. If your ever back this way I hope you get the chance to try our Buffet Breakfast, it is quite extensive offering something for everyone.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews