We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good conference venue”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre
Ranked #31 of 93 Hotels in Rotorua
Howick, New Zealand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good conference venue”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2012

Comfortable and very suitable venue for a conference. The rooms are very comfortable and clean, with excellent beds. Good food and very friendly efficient staff. The only downside was the very poor check-in. Long queues and rooms not ready, even later into the afternoon. Check-out was much better. Quiet location away from the main shops and tourist areas. Would highly recommend as a conference venue.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms are quieter, downstairs rooms are on the main corridor through the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BFCLSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DistinctionHotels, General Manager at Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, 26 October 2012
BFCLSC thanks for taking the time to post a comment on Trip Advisor, your recent conference ran very well with such large numbers of delegates. Unfortunately as advised rooms were not quite ready, our check in time is from 2pm, but most conference delegates were trying to check in from 10am and our rooms were in use the night before, we did work as quick as we could to get them all turned around for the early arrivals. Your event organiser selected some wonderful menu’s for you which gave great variety throughout the conference. I hope you got to try out the pool & Jacuzzi whilst you were here. We hope to see you again, maybe next time for a holiday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

407 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    147
    150
    68
    29
    13
See reviews for
111
140
7
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2012

From the moment we phoned to make our reservation (with Victor) until we left the staff at the Distinction took great care of us and made us feel extremely welcome. Loved the decor and amenities in room. Enjoyed dinner in Yakitori Restaurant and breakfast buffet in Kowhai Restaurant set us up for a day of travelling. Will definitely return - and take advantage of the hot pools onsite.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tahatoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DistinctionHotels, General Manager at Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, 24 October 2012
Greetings BruceAndSteph F, thank you so much for your wonderful comments on our service, food & Beverage outlets, and facilities. The team do work hard to make sure everyone’s stay is as enjoyable as possible. I will make sure they are aware of your kind words. Look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2012

The staff were really friendly and we were upgraded to a nicer room which was good. The room was furnished nicely but there is not much spare room. The Bathroom is a good size though. I found it too noisey at night and so used earplugs on the second night and slept like a baby. Also, everytime a truck drove by I thought we were having an earthquake. It would be a bit of a walk to the shops but we had a car so it was fine. We took the advice from others on this site and so parked in the light under the view of the camera (as suggested by the gentleman at the reception). The pool was good and I enjoyed the spa pool and the grotto pools were nice too! We did not eat at the hotel so can not comment on the food.

Room Tip: Choose one away from the road as it is really noisey at night. I got a better deal on hotel site th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DistinctionHotels, General Manager at Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, 24 October 2012
Hi Mary W
Glad you could get up for some time away from our Capital. Appreciate your comments on our hotel. I hope you get to visit again, we can accomodate you in a different location within the hotel and to try the restaurants, all our menu’s are new and very delicious.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2012 via mobile

you get what you pay for or so they say. we paid for the stay at a bargain price, so we got mediocre service with the staff at the Kowhai Restaurant an exception. Their service was awesome. A few hits and heaps of misses. The bathroom was not squeaky clean. But the linen was heavenly to lie on. The view was nothing too get excited about and the lifts were claustrophobic and needed some oil. But that said I wouldn't tell my friends to avoid it, but will not recommend staying there either.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GenUrban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DistinctionHotels, General Manager at Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, 14 October 2012
GenUrban, thank you for taking the time to place your comments on our hotel. Were pleased you picked up one of our great deals that we offer, it’s great being able to break away and have some time out. However that should not reflect in the service you received. I will seriously look into the issues you have advised. Were pleased the linen was heavenly so you night was enjoyable. We would welcome the opportunity if you choose to stay again to impress you with the service standards that we do offer and get complimented on regularly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2012

Staffs: friendly, accommodating.
Hotel amenities: very satisfactory, very neat. We did enjoy the happy hour at the bar and the private spas.
Food: melts in your mouth!
Location: nicely located. Few yards to some tourist spots near the area. We had walked from the the hotel to city center on our first day, it was a long walk (20-25 minutes) but it was good walk. We enjoyed the scenery while walking. We had completed our stay with a Maori dinner show. The show was very informative and entertaining, we loved it!

We had fun, we had seasons in the sun during our weekend stay and the hotel is truly a Distinction! Amazingly awesome!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank autumn_cloud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DistinctionHotels, General Manager at Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, 1 October 2012
Thank you so much for your wonderful comments Autumn_cloud on your recent stay. It sounds like you thoroughly enjoyed yourself and we managed to get some sun in there also. It’s brilliant that you got to experience many of our facilities. Did you know we run the Happy Hour currently on Friday & Saturday nights. We see you’re from Liverpool, but hope if your ever back over this way, we can welcome you again to stay in Distinction style.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waiouru, New Zealand
Level Contributor
69 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2012

Enjoyed a great package stay at the Distinction.The reception staff were great, the complimentary bottle of wine very acceptable and the room spacious. Dinner at the Yakatori was both filling and full of flavour. The buffet breakfast was great and we rolled out the door very satisfied travellers.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DistinctionHotels, General Manager at Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, 26 September 2012
Patrick H, Thank you for your visit to our hotel & your comments. The package you chose is very popular. I am pleased you were satisfied with the rooms as well as the food & beverage outlets. We hope to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2012

I enjoyed our 1 night stay at this Hotel with the staff being VERY friendly and helpful. The service was excellent at the buffet breakfast and the chef cooking the eggs was delightful and poached my eggs perfectly. When we had an extra person come with us we never had to ask for extra towels etc it was immediatly brought to our room without having to ask which was excellent service. The ensuite was very large and the room with 2 queen beds was ample in size. My only negatives would be that the reception is NOT off their carpark and arriving at night in the rain meant walking around in the dark and wet with our luggage about 50m. I wouldnt have been happy with this if I was a single woman, as the street lighting was poor and the street a back street. The bedspreads on the beds also desperatly need updating as they were quite tatty.
However I did enjoy my stay and would stay again.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MelBid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DistinctionHotels, General Manager at Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, 18 September 2012
MelBid, were pleased you enjoyed your overnight stay at the hotel. I will look into the bedspreads immediately and have these replaced. The egg station is quite cool to have available and I’m pleased you got to enjoy egg’s just as you like you to start your day. Next time you come for a visit, bring your car up to the reception, we will have our staff take your luggage & valet park your car for you, so you don’t need to worry about the weather or street lighting. We hope to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#18 of 93 in Rotorua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 797 reviews
1.3 mi away
Millennium Hotel Rotorua
1.8 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua
1.8 mi away
Ibis Rotorua
Ibis Rotorua
#32 of 93 in Rotorua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,100 reviews
0.3 mi away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre

Property: Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre
Address: 390 Fenton Street | PO Box 983, Rotorua 3201, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
#32 Romantic Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 133
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ebookers, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Distinction Rotorua Hotel And Conference Centre
Distinction Hotel Rotorua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing