We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Get Away Deal”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre
Ranked #32 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 January 2013

We took advantage of the getaway deal for 2 nights:
FREE WiFi; FREE carparking; FREE use of facilities - heated pool; jacuzzi, sauna, gym and private spas.
• One night’s accommodation in a luxury Suite.
• A complimentary bottle of bubbly on day of arrival.
• A delicious set three course dinner for two.
• Full breakfast for two.
• A late 12 noon check out.
We had stayed in a deluxe room previously - we do not really enjoy the cramped conditions of hotel rooms although here they are quite roomy.
The "luxury" of the suite was the space we had - separate bedroom/lounge/dressing room/bathroom. Possibly the suite was furnished to appear "regal" but I found it somewhat dated with an impression of a collection of various aged cheap pieces of furniture. The brown/beige decor adds to that impression. However the suite was comfortable (and the bed huge and comfortable)
Some small issues that might add to the "luxury" label are:
-The shower would be of no use to anyone with mobility issues as it required stepping high over the edge of a bath to access it.
-The huge bedside lamps were difficult to turn off having hard -to -reach buttons under the shades requiring some strength to click off. You almost had to get out of bed.
- the room had no cooking facilities but a bottle opener would have been appreciated. (there were knives and teaspoons)
The meals at the Pavilion restaurant were adequate but I thought overpriced for what they were - the wait staff were very pleasant.(Last time we dined at Mr Yakatori, on another deal, which I felt was value for money)
Anyone coming down for breakfast later in the morning will find some of the cooked food e.g. bacon is no longer crispy and fresh. Perhaps you are able to ask for it to be freshly cooked - we saw no chef. A good choice at the buffet though.
We were very disappointed that the jacuzzi ( part of the reason for our return trip) was closed for repair but understand that cannot be helped - the large pool was not warm enough for the weather we experienced and we do not fancy the "grotto" pools beneath the building - concrete caves that feel slightly claustrophobic.
I did not see any "no smoking" signs in our room - they were elsewhere - people in the room next to us were smoking on the balcony.
The staff were friendly and ready to assist, particularly the dining room staff.
My expectation of luxury is something out of the ordinary - this wasn't.

Room Tip: If you book through the hotel website for some of the deals you get free internet access otherwise y...
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sheryl D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DistinctionHotels, General Manager at Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2013

Hello Sheryl D, glad you had the opportunity to come & stay with us. Sounds like you took advantage of one of our great website deals; we have a range on offer. It is agreed that our suites could do some modernising, in fact we received back design concepts from the hotels interior design at the end of last year and we are just working thorough the different concepts now, with the ideal plan of these being completed at some stage this year. But even with furniture like a dark brown desk unit the suites still provide that generous space, which it sounds like you enjoyed.
PS we do have rooms available for people who have mobility issues, normally they are requested at the time of booking.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (431)
There are newer reviews for Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

321 - 327 of 431 reviews

Reviewed 2 January 2013 via mobile

Internet charged and at ridiculous rates! I don't understand why good hotels feel they need to do this! this stopped about decades ago everywhere else in the world!

Good pool and nice grotto caves saunas and jacuzzis. Great idea! The rooms were very nice and had nice balconies.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DistinctionHotels, General Manager at Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2013

Happy New Year Paulpatr, we hope you are enjoying your holiday in our wonderful country and pleased you made use of all our facilities here at the hotel. Regarding the internet - as with bringing internet into your home, it’s the same with business’s there is a cost involved for us to provide this service. Our charges are the best in town (and better than in the main cities) we base on your usage only, not time like most hotels. There is another option also – booking direct with the hotel we have deals that do include free internet. If internet is important on your travels, next time check our website for the best deal to suit you. Enjoy the rest of your travel's and we hope to see you over this side again in the years to come.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2012

Clean rooms, with all of the amenities you'd want. We stayed in a deluxe room, which had two queen size beds. There is a writing table with chair, a bath and shower, and a really nice counter top around the washing basin, which is always a good thing.

The staff were all very well trained, and the receptionist was especially calm and organised.

The breakfast was of a very high standard, and the entire experience was great.

The only negative was that the air conditioning in the room didn't work, so it was very hot until late in the night, when it started cooling down.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that does not face the street, because there are large trucks that drive along there...
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CorrieEngelbrecht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DistinctionHotels, General Manager at Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2012

Merry Christmas CorrieEnglebrecht
Thank you so much for the great comments on the hotel & the team here, they do work very hard to make sure everyone has an enjoyable stay. Sorry about the heat, with this storm approaching from the north it has brought up humidity and we have been hit very quickly with it. To assist in comfort, next time let reception know & we will have a fan brought to your room, to assist in cooling.
Stay safe this Christmas Season & we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2012

We really enjoyed our stay here. The staff were friendly and the room was large. We had dinner at Mr Yakitori and the food was awesome. The distance from the centre of town is the only negative part but still it's not that bad. We would stay again

Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank JVR_27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DistinctionHotels, General Manager at Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2012

Merry Christmas JVR_27, it’s excellent to have visitors from the South, glad you could join us and we could help you enjoy your time in Rotorua. There is lots to see and do around town with all the local attractions, I do hope you got to enjoy and the team look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future. Maybe next time try our Pavilion Restaurant with its Kiwiana. Until then… take care!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2012

Just walked in whilst going down Fenton street and was surprised at the very competitive rate that the front desk staff offered me which was quite close to the best online rate.
The rooms are spacious, however did not appreciate the tour buses running and revving their engines outside the hotel in the morning, is this really necessary?
We were on the 5th floor and it was noisy! this went on for an hour from 7am to 8:30am!!!. Can the staff please do something about this.
Apart from this, our stay was delightful. The obvious stars at this hotel are the staff, from the front desk to the restaurant staff at the morning buffet every one was friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Get a room not on the street side or suffer early hour tour buses waiting on their customers
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deepvaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DistinctionHotels, General Manager at Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2012

Hi Deepvaid, so please you popped in and chose to stay with us. Your comments have been taken on board with regards to the bus’s and we will talk with the drivers to solve the noise issue. It’s pleasing to hear that our team were the stars of your stay and obviously made you feel very welcome. We hope to welcome you back again soon (next time you’re in NZ). Enjoy your travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2012

For a regular traveller to Rotorua this was the first time at this hotel for me and I was pleasantly surprised. We booked a special deal that also included a room upgrade (to deluxe), Dinner at the Japanese Restaurant and Breakfast (oh and a bottle of wine.. ). This was on a whole one of the best places of this category we stayed in NZ (besides luxury lodges).

The staff is very friendly and helpful, the room was spacious and super clean. The King Size bed was firm (just the way I like it) and comfortable and it helps having a big flat screen TV..

We could see our car in the Hotel Car park (they have apparently Video Surveillance there as well) and the "grotto" Spa Pools where a added bonus (though one comes to expect this kind of thing in Rotorua).

Dinner at the Jakitori Restaurant was tasty and different and breakfast the next morning also great (though we where the only European/Maori people there aside from the staff).

The Hotel is close to Te Puia (walking distance) and about 15/20min walk or 3 min drive to Rotorua Town Centre.

Our Stay was a little pre-season so very quiet during the night and not many guests (apart from some asian tour groups) - but I don't think it will be much different in Summer.

We did not see the Standard rooms though - so perhaps our stay was especially nice..

Room Tip: Top Floor rooms (Level 5) are very quiet
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank R_G_Baker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DistinctionHotels, General Manager at Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2012

So pleased you could get a break away R_G_Baker. That accommodation special has been very popular, so we will put it back out there again soon for you. It’s great you enjoyed your stay with us. It sounds like you got to try a lot of the facilities here at the hotel which is excellent. I hope it was a relaxing break for you. Next time you come down we will happily show you the standard rooms, these were upgrade this year also, we are very proud of all our rooms. Having a Kiwi owner you can achieve a lot, starting this week the exterior of the hotel is getting a face lift and March / April next year our Suites will get refurbished. SO we look forward to welcoming you back & showing you the on-going changes that are being made.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2012

The Distinction Hotel is a little under 3 kilometres (a little under 2 miles) from the middle of Rotorua CBD. So about a 25 minute walk at a reasonable pace. Fenton Street is the major road heading south out of Rotorua CBD. About a kilometre further south, it joins up with the main North-South highway.

The Hotel has a large car park so if they are not full, getting a park should be OK. The car park is not secure though so I wouldn't leave anything of value in view.

The entry to the Hotel is pleasant and the foyer area is satisfactory. The Reception staff we encountered seemed a little slow but they were eager to please. Maybe they were new at the job.

I had a Superior room (triple) which cost NZD $180. The room was a little cramped, fitting 3 singles into what is probably a twin room, but it was manageable. The room was clean, comfortable and satisfactory. It had a pleasant outlook over the local residential area.

We did not dine at the Hotel and did not use any of the other facilities so cannot comment on those.

I thought $180 for a triple was average value for money.

We had no problems during our short stay. The only downside was the location. There are many other Hotels closer to the CBD. If not for the location, I would be happy to stay there again. If you have a car or don't mind waiting for taxis, then you may be OK with the Distinction. Although I had a car, I would prefer to stay within a 10 minute walk of the CBD so next time I am in Rotorua, I will stay somewhere closer to the CBD.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rickey_T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DistinctionHotels, General Manager at Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2012

Thanks for your comments Rickey_T, you are correct that a couple of the front desk team were new when you stayed in October, so yes may have been a little slower, but it is pleasing to hear they were eager to assist you. Having the welcoming, friendly approach normally will outweigh the negative of a couple of minutes longer to check in. Majority of our rooms are equipment with two queen sized beds & they rooms are a respectable size to cater to those. Putting in the single bed, does reduce the space within the room, but does still provide areas to walk around. There is a bus that comes regularly at the front of the hotel that can transport people the short distance into town, if other transport is not available. Being only a few Kms away does reduce the noise at night, for guests to relax.

Next time your in town you should try out some of our outlets with 4 to choose from we have options & menu’s to suit everyone.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#17 of 92 in Rotorua
857 reviews
1.3 mi away
Millennium Hotel Rotorua
0.6 mi away
Rydges Rotorua
Rydges Rotorua
#47 of 92 in Rotorua
1,223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Lake Rotorua Hotel
Lake Rotorua Hotel
#45 of 92 in Rotorua
250 reviews
1.3 mi away
Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua
1.8 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre

Address: 390 Fenton Street | PO Box 983, Rotorua 3201, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
#32 Romantic Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range: £71 - £152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 133
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Distinction Rotorua Hotel And Conference Centre
Distinction Hotel Rotorua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing