We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent staff, lovely restaurant - a great weekend” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre
Ranked #31 of 93 Hotels in Rotorua
2 reviews
“Excellent staff, lovely restaurant - a great weekend”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2013

We got the $169 grabone deal which included a night at distinction in a deluxe room, dinner at yakitori, breakfast, bottle of wine, late checkout and use of all hotel facilities...great deal!

Hotel staff were all friendly and helpful, the Japanese restaurant served up great food by friendly, efficient staff, the breakfast was an excellent variety and all really tasty. The pool, jacuzzi and cave spas are also definitely worth a visit.

really recommend, especially with the grabone deal! Spot on, thanks!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank samm1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DistinctionHotels, General Manager at Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, 21 January 2013
You are very welcome Samm1987. I’m so pleased you got to, not only try out some of our food & Beverage outlets but also the facilities around the hotel. Keep an eye out on our website or like us on facebook as we have more specials coming soon. With the hotel getting it’s exterior paint work done, she may look different on the next visit, but the welcoming & friendly team will still be ready to greet you & do everything possible to make your next stay just as enjoyable. See you then
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

399 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    144
    147
    66
    29
    13
See reviews for
111
138
6
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2013

We went to this hotel with anothe couple on the Grab One deal. Stayed in a Deluxe room which was surprisingly good, we had a king bed, very comfortable and lots of space. A great room and the hotel was clean and modern. We also made use of the pool and spa, very unique spa underground which was fun. Would definitely recommend his hotel, a relaxing stay with a good breakfast to start the day. Thanks

Room Tip: If you are a couple, I would specify a King Bed as I think most deluxe rooms are advertised as 2 Que...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Emski22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DistinctionHotels, General Manager at Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, 31 January 2013
You’re very welcome Ermski22. Glad you got to enjoy our hotel & it’s facilities. Your right most of our deluxe rooms have two queen sized beds in them. We have a very limited number with the king bed. Hope you got to enjoy the view of the pool & golf course across the way from up on the 5th floor. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
206 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2013

The hotel is very nice, with good, clean, up to date rooms. There is a large room for the buffet breakfast, and other meals. There is also a small cafe for coffee/tea and snacks. Tea is available in the afternoon, with small sandwiches, tea and dessert. It opens to the pool area, which is nicely landscaped. They had a spa area which is different. It is in a lower area off the pool, and several rooms designed like caves. One has a water fall into the spa. The pool area would be good for a family.

There is a gift shop on site. Internet is available for a cost, rather expensive.

Location is on the outskirts of town which makes for a quiet retreat. You can walk into town, but is probably a 30 minute walk. There is a golf course two blocks from the hotel It. is also within walking distance of the TE PO Maouri culture center. You can see the steam from the geyser from the main street behind the hotel.

Overall it is a good place to relax and explore the area.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Norb W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DistinctionHotels, General Manager at Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, 13 January 2013
Hello Norb W from Tucson, a long way from home, glad you could visit our fine city on your travels. Rotorua has a lot to offer all visitors & corporate clients. Seems you got to know our hotel reasonably well during your stay with us. We do have a lot to offer with four different food & beverage outlets and a range of swimming & spa pools located close to our gym and sauna. We hope you enjoy the rest of your trips, enjoy and stay safe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2013

We took advantage of the getaway deal for 2 nights:
FREE WiFi; FREE carparking; FREE use of facilities - heated pool; jacuzzi, sauna, gym and private spas.
• One night’s accommodation in a luxury Suite.
• A complimentary bottle of bubbly on day of arrival.
• A delicious set three course dinner for two.
• Full breakfast for two.
• A late 12 noon check out.
We had stayed in a deluxe room previously - we do not really enjoy the cramped conditions of hotel rooms although here they are quite roomy.
The "luxury" of the suite was the space we had - separate bedroom/lounge/dressing room/bathroom. Possibly the suite was furnished to appear "regal" but I found it somewhat dated with an impression of a collection of various aged cheap pieces of furniture. The brown/beige decor adds to that impression. However the suite was comfortable (and the bed huge and comfortable)
Some small issues that might add to the "luxury" label are:
-The shower would be of no use to anyone with mobility issues as it required stepping high over the edge of a bath to access it.
-The huge bedside lamps were difficult to turn off having hard -to -reach buttons under the shades requiring some strength to click off. You almost had to get out of bed.
- the room had no cooking facilities but a bottle opener would have been appreciated. (there were knives and teaspoons)
The meals at the Pavilion restaurant were adequate but I thought overpriced for what they were - the wait staff were very pleasant.(Last time we dined at Mr Yakatori, on another deal, which I felt was value for money)
Anyone coming down for breakfast later in the morning will find some of the cooked food e.g. bacon is no longer crispy and fresh. Perhaps you are able to ask for it to be freshly cooked - we saw no chef. A good choice at the buffet though.
We were very disappointed that the jacuzzi ( part of the reason for our return trip) was closed for repair but understand that cannot be helped - the large pool was not warm enough for the weather we experienced and we do not fancy the "grotto" pools beneath the building - concrete caves that feel slightly claustrophobic.
I did not see any "no smoking" signs in our room - they were elsewhere - people in the room next to us were smoking on the balcony.
The staff were friendly and ready to assist, particularly the dining room staff.
My expectation of luxury is something out of the ordinary - this wasn't.

Room Tip: If you book through the hotel website for some of the deals you get free internet access otherwise y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheryl D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DistinctionHotels, General Manager at Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, 8 January 2013
Hello Sheryl D, glad you had the opportunity to come & stay with us. Sounds like you took advantage of one of our great website deals; we have a range on offer. It is agreed that our suites could do some modernising, in fact we received back design concepts from the hotels interior design at the end of last year and we are just working thorough the different concepts now, with the ideal plan of these being completed at some stage this year. But even with furniture like a dark brown desk unit the suites still provide that generous space, which it sounds like you enjoyed.
PS we do have rooms available for people who have mobility issues, normally they are requested at the time of booking.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2013 via mobile

Internet charged and at ridiculous rates! I don't understand why good hotels feel they need to do this! this stopped about decades ago everywhere else in the world!

Good pool and nice grotto caves saunas and jacuzzis. Great idea! The rooms were very nice and had nice balconies.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DistinctionHotels, General Manager at Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, 2 January 2013
Happy New Year Paulpatr, we hope you are enjoying your holiday in our wonderful country and pleased you made use of all our facilities here at the hotel. Regarding the internet - as with bringing internet into your home, it’s the same with business’s there is a cost involved for us to provide this service. Our charges are the best in town (and better than in the main cities) we base on your usage only, not time like most hotels. There is another option also – booking direct with the hotel we have deals that do include free internet. If internet is important on your travels, next time check our website for the best deal to suit you. Enjoy the rest of your travel's and we hope to see you over this side again in the years to come.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2012

Clean rooms, with all of the amenities you'd want. We stayed in a deluxe room, which had two queen size beds. There is a writing table with chair, a bath and shower, and a really nice counter top around the washing basin, which is always a good thing.

The staff were all very well trained, and the receptionist was especially calm and organised.

The breakfast was of a very high standard, and the entire experience was great.

The only negative was that the air conditioning in the room didn't work, so it was very hot until late in the night, when it started cooling down.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that does not face the street, because there are large trucks that drive along there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CorrieEngelbrecht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DistinctionHotels, General Manager at Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, 20 December 2012
Merry Christmas CorrieEnglebrecht
Thank you so much for the great comments on the hotel & the team here, they do work very hard to make sure everyone has an enjoyable stay. Sorry about the heat, with this storm approaching from the north it has brought up humidity and we have been hit very quickly with it. To assist in comfort, next time let reception know & we will have a fan brought to your room, to assist in cooling.
Stay safe this Christmas Season & we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blenheim, New Zealand
Level Contributor
57 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2012 via mobile

We really enjoyed our stay here. The staff were friendly and the room was large. We had dinner at Mr Yakitori and the food was awesome. The distance from the centre of town is the only negative part but still it's not that bad. We would stay again

Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JVR_27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DistinctionHotels, General Manager at Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, 16 December 2012
Merry Christmas JVR_27, it’s excellent to have visitors from the South, glad you could join us and we could help you enjoy your time in Rotorua. There is lots to see and do around town with all the local attractions, I do hope you got to enjoy and the team look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future. Maybe next time try our Pavilion Restaurant with its Kiwiana. Until then… take care!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#20 of 93 in Rotorua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 772 reviews
1.8 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
1.9 mi away
Ibis Rotorua
Ibis Rotorua
#28 of 93 in Rotorua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,084 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Millennium Hotel Rotorua
1.3 mi away
Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua
0.7 mi away
Rydges Rotorua
Rydges Rotorua
#41 of 93 in Rotorua
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre

Property: Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre
Address: 390 Fenton Street | PO Box 983, Rotorua 3201, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
#32 Romantic Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 133
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Distinction Rotorua Hotel And Conference Centre
Distinction Hotel Rotorua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing