We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Above expectation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre
Ranked #31 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Above expectation”
Reviewed 9 March 2013

On behalf of our cast and crew I would like to thank you for making our stay at the Distinction above our expectations.
From the time we arrived till the time we checked out we all had a wonderful stay.
Your staff were helpful, respectful and approachable at all times.
The crew enjoyed dinner within the hotel after a long days work
and breakfast was excellent and a great way to start another very long working day.
The rooms were clean, spacious and very well appointed.
All our vehicles and equipment were safe overnight with the parking made available for us.
I would not hesitate to recommend or to book again a stay at the Distinction.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jojo24_5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DistinctionHotels, General Manager at Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, 21 March 2013
Jojo24_5, it was our pleasure having you, your cast and crew stay with us. What a great group of people you get to work with; the Distinction Team really enjoyed having them stay. Thank you so much for taking the time to comment. We hope to be able to welcome them all again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

423 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    149
    159
    72
    30
    13
See reviews for
117
144
7
66
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2013

We had a great time staying here on the Grabone deal. Great staff, informative, had a great time relaxing in and around the pool in the afternoon and then went back after dinner to soak in the spa and use the sauna - it was great. Rooms slightly aged but comfortable and was in line with expectations we had read on trip advisor. Dinner at Mr Yakitori was great. Buffet breakfast good. Some TV channels a bit fuzzy though. Thanks for a good night away for our 1st wedding anniversary!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heidi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DistinctionHotels, General Manager at Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, 31 January 2013
1st Wedding Anniversary – how fabulous!! So pleased you got to enjoy it with us.
The internal gardens with heated pool and jacuzzi’s is a brilliant hidden gem for the hotel. And were pleased you located the sauna down with the private grotto spas. The buffet breakfast has an extensive range to cater for all taste buds and give a great start to any day. Sound like you managed to really take that time out together.
Hope we can celebrate many more with you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level 6 Contributor
67 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2013 via mobile

We stayed here on a Grab One deal which made it very good value. The check in staff were extremely friendly, made sure we had our bottle of wine that was included, and checked our dinner reservation. The room was a good size with two queen size beds and a nice size bathroom. The room was very clean and also had a large flat screen Tv. The pool area at this hotel was very good, heated to just the right temperature, and I loved the private spa pools in the grotto. There are sun loungers and tables for sitting around the pool area, and I really felt like I was on a mini holiday. We ate in the Japanese Yakatori restaurant, and the food was great. The hotel bar is a typical hotel lounge bar. Not much atmosphere, but a good happy hour with free snacks, and friendly bar staff.
Altogether this is a solid 4 star hotel. I would definitely stay here again if I was in the area, especially if it was another great deal.

Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank lisamarieauckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DistinctionHotels, General Manager at Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, 31 January 2013
Lisamarieauckland – there is another GREAT deal coming soon, so keep an eye out!! Again we’ll have all the trimmings here waiting for you, to make the break away a relaxing and memorable stay. It’s great to hear you got to use the range of facilities we have here, we are very lucky – there’s something for everyone really. It’s not a bad drive for a quick escape so we hope you can come back soon. Like us on Facebook & you’ll get notification of our deals as they happen. Enjoy !!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2013

Used the excellent Grab One deal. Couldn't fault the deal or the hotel. Staff were very helpful and professional, the room was large and comfortable with a balcony and the dinner at Mr Yakitori was excellent. Pool area is great with lots of loungers and tables and chairs. Buffet breakfast was exceptional. Will definitely go back.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FloraAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DistinctionHotels, General Manager at Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, 22 January 2013
And we can’t wait to welcome you back FloraAuckland. With only a 2.5 – 3 hour drive, it’s a great destination for you to make a quick escape. If you’ve read the comments below – keep an eye out more deals coming. We can let you know through Facebook when they are live, if you go on and like us. Otherwise email the hotel & we can keep in touch directly. Were pleased you stayed with us and hope we can welcome you back again very soon. Till then, take care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 20 January 2013

We bought a grabone voucher for our 15th wedding anniversary, was a bit apprehensive what we would receive as it was a cheap package deal.... Wow, from the time I made the booking, to the check in the people where so helpful and genuine, we got our chilled bottle of wine which we had many to choose from.
Our room was a 1 bedroom suite on the 4th floor, king bed, robes!
Dinner at the Japanese restaurant was so good, tasty and fresh, service was faultless.
Had the best sleep (black out curtains)
Went to full buffet breakfast at 9 am, bloody beautiful!
Had late check out at 12pm.
All this for $169, this hotel is outstanding, we are going to make this a regular getaway!
You will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank India-rose69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DistinctionHotels, General Manager at Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, 21 January 2013
Happy Anniversary India-rose69. Wow 15 years – how brilliant and how wonderful we got to help celebrate it with you. All the very best for the next 15 years, we hope they are wonderful, exciting and getaways with Distinction continue to provide you both with that time together. We have several great deals coming up, as with our other properties around New Zealand, watch our websites, or like us on Facebook so we can let you know when and where for that escape. We hope to see you again sometime soon. Congratulations!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 20 January 2013

We got the $169 grabone deal which included a night at distinction in a deluxe room, dinner at yakitori, breakfast, bottle of wine, late checkout and use of all hotel facilities...great deal!

Hotel staff were all friendly and helpful, the Japanese restaurant served up great food by friendly, efficient staff, the breakfast was an excellent variety and all really tasty. The pool, jacuzzi and cave spas are also definitely worth a visit.

really recommend, especially with the grabone deal! Spot on, thanks!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank samm1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DistinctionHotels, General Manager at Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, 21 January 2013
You are very welcome Samm1987. I’m so pleased you got to, not only try out some of our food & Beverage outlets but also the facilities around the hotel. Keep an eye out on our website or like us on facebook as we have more specials coming soon. With the hotel getting it’s exterior paint work done, she may look different on the next visit, but the welcoming & friendly team will still be ready to greet you & do everything possible to make your next stay just as enjoyable. See you then
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2013

We went to this hotel with anothe couple on the Grab One deal. Stayed in a Deluxe room which was surprisingly good, we had a king bed, very comfortable and lots of space. A great room and the hotel was clean and modern. We also made use of the pool and spa, very unique spa underground which was fun. Would definitely recommend his hotel, a relaxing stay with a good breakfast to start the day. Thanks

Room Tip: If you are a couple, I would specify a King Bed as I think most deluxe rooms are advertised as 2 Que...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emski22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DistinctionHotels, General Manager at Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, 31 January 2013
You’re very welcome Ermski22. Glad you got to enjoy our hotel & it’s facilities. Your right most of our deluxe rooms have two queen sized beds in them. We have a very limited number with the king bed. Hope you got to enjoy the view of the pool & golf course across the way from up on the 5th floor. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#18 of 92 in Rotorua
847 reviews
1.8 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
0.6 mi away
Rydges Rotorua
Rydges Rotorua
#48 of 92 in Rotorua
1,215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Lake Rotorua Hotel
Lake Rotorua Hotel
#45 of 92 in Rotorua
248 reviews
1.3 mi away
Millennium Hotel Rotorua
1.3 mi away
Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre

Property: Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre
Address: 390 Fenton Street | PO Box 983, Rotorua 3201, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
#32 Romantic Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 133
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, LateRooms and Cancelon so you can book your Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Distinction Rotorua Hotel And Conference Centre
Distinction Hotel Rotorua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing