We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant corporate hideaway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre
Ranked #34 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 May 2013

I stayed here with a group for an overnight conference and it was terrific. didn't use any of the amenties (other than the bar;) but ate at Mr Yakitori which was terrific.
Comfortable bed and nice decor in room.
Lovely service from staff, and I thought a very good price.
have since been back for a one day conference and it was as good (and this time was tempted to jump in the heated pool)

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DistinctionHotels, General Manager at Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2013

Greetings Susan T, we have a large range of facilities for the business traveller and an array of conference rooms for all company requirements, something to suit all needs. We’re pleased you have been to visit a couple of times. Mr Yakitori is great isn’t it, Now if we could just get you here for a third visit we might just be able to get you in that heated pool - relaxation!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (437)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

312 - 318 of 437 reviews

Reviewed 13 May 2013

Stayed here last month for 2 nights...Really bad Customer service...Blonde at reception was too arrogant when we asked her to help us with luggage because we were having 2 kids along and ladies in Restaurant were Nice... Manager( Alen) Filipino Guy was too rude with some Employee literally rude...
Guys you need to improve standards of communication with guest and employees in your team

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DistinctionHotels, General Manager at Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2013

Kia Ora Richard T, I apologise that your stay was not up to standard with our customer service. Your comments do come as a surprise to me, I am aware of the two staff members you have pointed out and have never in the two years of managing this hotel had any customer service issues from these employees. In fact just the opposite. I will discuss your comments with them to see if they can recollect when & why they came across to you as they did. It’s a shame that you did not bring these concerns to my attention whilst you were at the hotel, where I could have apologised in person & corrected it immediately, rather than a month after the event. As you will see from the reviews on this site, our customer service is 99.9% outstanding.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2013

We've stayed in many hotels in Rotorua and this is one of the nicest. The grotto area is awesome: stylised "cave" rooms with mineral baths (including jacuzzi jets)... it's just too bad the waterfalls over them aren't working. You can tell that in it's day this hotel would have been 'the place', it's a little worn around the edges now, but it still has a real charm about it. Didn't try Mr. Yakitori but it looked great. Would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: We were above the jacuzzi area, which got a little noisy with the kids below. Wasn't too bad but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicole S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DistinctionHotels, General Manager at Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2013

Nicole S, it’s so great you could come for the short trip down and enjoy some time out with us. Thank you for your comments. Yes the Grotto spa’s are a little different, and most seem to enjoy them. I will get the waterfalls worked on immediately. I hope you can come and visit again, next time try Mr Yakitori, the food is so fresh & light, or one of our other dining options, we certainly have something for everyone here. See you then.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2013

A very impressive hotel. Our room was clean ,comfortable and had plenty of space.The general areas of the hotel were very pleasing too and the staff friendly and helpful.You definitely need a car here as everything you want to see in the area is pretty well spaced apart. The hotel itself is positioned quite close to the main tourist attraction - maouri village and geyser - so could be quite smelly at times but you get used to it . It 's also positioned on the outskirts of the town on a long road made up of mainly hotels and motels.The breakfast was good and very substantial.Whilst in the area we also ate at Valentines which is in the town and very good value for money.An enjoyable stay

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pensioner62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DistinctionHotels, General Manager at Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2013

Kia Ora pensioner62, thank you for your recent comments on Trip Advisor. I trust your time in New Zealand was relaxing & enjoyable. We appreciate your kind comments on our hotel. Perhaps next time your over this way we could convince you to try our Mr Yakitori Sake Bar or Pavilion Café & Restaurant for dinner. We hope you come and visit again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2013

We stayed in this hotel for 2 nights with 2 young kids, the room is clean, with two double beds, large enough to sleep 4 of us. We booked this hotel on its website, following email exchanges with reservation manager, the communication was excellent. The hotel seems accomodate many tour groups, but I find no problem to stay as an individual guest.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JSmithDD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DistinctionHotels, General Manager at Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2013

Hello JSmithDD family, we are pleased you came to stay. We hope you got to enjoy some of the hotels facilities like the outdoor heated swimming pool & Jacuzzi as well as the food & beverage outlets, with the kids deal (eating free with a parent’s main ordered) in our Pavilion Restaurant or our Japanese style sake bar. We hope to see you again very soon. Take Care.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

We stayed here for a couple of nights last month and we are satisfied with our choice. All staff encountered was friendly and informative. Extra star for excellent service. Rooms are average, with old carpeting, but clean and comfortable. It is good to have a car while here as it is not really walkable to any shops or restaurants, but there are a few restaurants on the premises. Hotel rates are a good value, well worth it. Breakfast and Internet is an extra cost and we found those to be pricey.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chambello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DistinctionHotels, General Manager at Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2013

Thanks for taking the time to comment delineation. Your right we are a little bit from town about a twenty minute gentle walk, but it’s good to be away from the noise of the night life and it makes the internal garden more peaceful & relaxing for all, when relaxing in the Jacuzzi or swimming in the outdoor heated pool. Keep an eye on our website, we have some great Bed & Breakfast packages that might suit you better than just room only. Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2013

On behalf of our cast and crew I would like to thank you for making our stay at the Distinction above our expectations.
From the time we arrived till the time we checked out we all had a wonderful stay.
Your staff were helpful, respectful and approachable at all times.
The crew enjoyed dinner within the hotel after a long days work
and breakfast was excellent and a great way to start another very long working day.
The rooms were clean, spacious and very well appointed.
All our vehicles and equipment were safe overnight with the parking made available for us.
I would not hesitate to recommend or to book again a stay at the Distinction.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jojo24_5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DistinctionHotels, General Manager at Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2013

Jojo24_5, it was our pleasure having you, your cast and crew stay with us. What a great group of people you get to work with; the Distinction Team really enjoyed having them stay. Thank you so much for taking the time to comment. We hope to be able to welcome them all again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#18 of 92 in Rotorua
886 reviews
1.8 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
0.6 mi away
Rydges Rotorua
Rydges Rotorua
#49 of 92 in Rotorua
1,246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
735 reviews
0.5 mi away
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
#10 of 92 in Rotorua
455 reviews
1.3 mi away
Millennium Hotel Rotorua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre

Address: 390 Fenton Street | PO Box 983, Rotorua 3201, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
#32 Romantic Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range: £94 - £194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 133
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Distinction Rotorua Hotel And Conference Centre
Distinction Hotel Rotorua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing