We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful staff and nice area!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre
Ranked #32 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 June 2013

We stayed here in May of this year and had an amazing stay! The staff at this hotel are some of the hardest working I've ever seen! They are real multi-taskers and were all wonderful. We felt they really went above what was necessary to help people and I would stay here again without hesitation. We also felt the price was quite reasonable for what you get. We ate at only one of the restaurants there - the pavilion. The food there was really amazing, very well done and reasonably priced. It is in a nice quiet area and close to other places to eat if you prefer to do a bit more exploring.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jodenator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DistinctionHotels, General Manager at Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2013

Jodenator, thank you so much for your wonderful comments regarding the team at Distinction Rotorua. We are pleased you’ve enjoyed your stay with us, the Pavilion does have an great garden view to relax and enjoy your dining experience. Maybe on your next visit you could try one of the other restaurants on site like Mr Yakitori Sake Bar, which offers a very different dining experience. We hope to see you again !!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (435)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

307 - 313 of 435 reviews

Reviewed 29 May 2013

We have had the pleasure of staying at the Distinction before and both times it's been amazing.

The motel is a little dated but boasts 5 floors of large rooms.

We were pleased to work with Elle from the front desk and because we were meeting up with relatives; she was able to ensure our rooms were side by side with an inter connecting door.

The pools are fantastic, with a main pool, a very large jaquizzi and several small underground spa pools and sauna.

A perfect 'getaway' weekend.

Room Tip: Could only be better if they came with a kitchenette. Fridge with kettle for coffees/teas only. No...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DistinctionHotels, General Manager at Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2013

Neil S from Fielding, glad you came back to visit us again this May. Yes Elle is extremely helpful and will go out of her way to make guests have an enjoyable stay. The hotel has been undergoing a refurbishment over the last 4 years, we have completed all our Superior & deluxe rooms, all restaurants & bars and right now our suites are being upgraded. Just the corridors & reception to go. We hope to be able to welcome you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

My stay was great with one exception. The reception was an unnecessary mess. I got three room keys before I got the right room key. I was not impressed with this. The room was very clean and well presented. The TV reception was cloudy but not really an issue. Perhaps a couple more channels would be appropriate. Plastic water glasses was not appropriate for the Conference I was attending. Great meals which were reasonably priced. I would go back again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Max L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DistinctionHotels, General Manager at Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2013

Max L, I trust you enjoyed your conference and it was informative for your needs. I will look into the key issuing at reception. In regards to the plastic glasses, these are used for our water coolers and when conference numbers are large as we make up several water stations for all to be able to reach. I hope you got to use some of the facilities around the hotel and managed to get in some relaxation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

I stayed here with a group for an overnight conference and it was terrific. didn't use any of the amenties (other than the bar;) but ate at Mr Yakitori which was terrific.
Comfortable bed and nice decor in room.
Lovely service from staff, and I thought a very good price.
have since been back for a one day conference and it was as good (and this time was tempted to jump in the heated pool)

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DistinctionHotels, General Manager at Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2013

Greetings Susan T, we have a large range of facilities for the business traveller and an array of conference rooms for all company requirements, something to suit all needs. We’re pleased you have been to visit a couple of times. Mr Yakitori is great isn’t it, Now if we could just get you here for a third visit we might just be able to get you in that heated pool - relaxation!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2013

Stayed here last month for 2 nights...Really bad Customer service...Blonde at reception was too arrogant when we asked her to help us with luggage because we were having 2 kids along and ladies in Restaurant were Nice... Manager( Alen) Filipino Guy was too rude with some Employee literally rude...
Guys you need to improve standards of communication with guest and employees in your team

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DistinctionHotels, General Manager at Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2013

Kia Ora Richard T, I apologise that your stay was not up to standard with our customer service. Your comments do come as a surprise to me, I am aware of the two staff members you have pointed out and have never in the two years of managing this hotel had any customer service issues from these employees. In fact just the opposite. I will discuss your comments with them to see if they can recollect when & why they came across to you as they did. It’s a shame that you did not bring these concerns to my attention whilst you were at the hotel, where I could have apologised in person & corrected it immediately, rather than a month after the event. As you will see from the reviews on this site, our customer service is 99.9% outstanding.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2013

We've stayed in many hotels in Rotorua and this is one of the nicest. The grotto area is awesome: stylised "cave" rooms with mineral baths (including jacuzzi jets)... it's just too bad the waterfalls over them aren't working. You can tell that in it's day this hotel would have been 'the place', it's a little worn around the edges now, but it still has a real charm about it. Didn't try Mr. Yakitori but it looked great. Would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: We were above the jacuzzi area, which got a little noisy with the kids below. Wasn't too bad but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicole S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DistinctionHotels, General Manager at Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2013

Nicole S, it’s so great you could come for the short trip down and enjoy some time out with us. Thank you for your comments. Yes the Grotto spa’s are a little different, and most seem to enjoy them. I will get the waterfalls worked on immediately. I hope you can come and visit again, next time try Mr Yakitori, the food is so fresh & light, or one of our other dining options, we certainly have something for everyone here. See you then.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2013

A very impressive hotel. Our room was clean ,comfortable and had plenty of space.The general areas of the hotel were very pleasing too and the staff friendly and helpful.You definitely need a car here as everything you want to see in the area is pretty well spaced apart. The hotel itself is positioned quite close to the main tourist attraction - maouri village and geyser - so could be quite smelly at times but you get used to it . It 's also positioned on the outskirts of the town on a long road made up of mainly hotels and motels.The breakfast was good and very substantial.Whilst in the area we also ate at Valentines which is in the town and very good value for money.An enjoyable stay

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pensioner62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DistinctionHotels, General Manager at Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2013

Kia Ora pensioner62, thank you for your recent comments on Trip Advisor. I trust your time in New Zealand was relaxing & enjoyable. We appreciate your kind comments on our hotel. Perhaps next time your over this way we could convince you to try our Mr Yakitori Sake Bar or Pavilion Café & Restaurant for dinner. We hope you come and visit again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#18 of 92 in Rotorua
868 reviews
1.3 mi away
Millennium Hotel Rotorua
0.6 mi away
Rydges Rotorua
Rydges Rotorua
#48 of 92 in Rotorua
1,239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
722 reviews
1.8 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
0.5 mi away
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
#8 of 92 in Rotorua
445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre

Address: 390 Fenton Street | PO Box 983, Rotorua 3201, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
#32 Romantic Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range: £86 - £180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 133
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Distinction Rotorua Hotel And Conference Centre
Distinction Hotel Rotorua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing