We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Free WiFi, nice room, interesting dining including Japanese restaurant” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre
Ranked #31 of 93 Hotels in Rotorua
West London
Level Contributor
213 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
“Free WiFi, nice room, interesting dining including Japanese restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2013

This was a good hotel. I'm between a 3.5 and a 4. We visited in Feb 2013 and the room was comfortable and well appointed with satellite TV and free WiFi - the latter much appreciated. The room was very clean and the breakfast we had was of a good standard. Indeed, we rolled in a touch late for breakfast and the staff were very gracious in making sure we had what we wanted as they cleared away around us. As we arrived late in the evening, we were not able to make use of the three restaurants on site, but I loved the idea of a Japanese restaurant. There was also a buffet or a la carte dining option. This hotel also has a nightly Maori dinner/show if that kind of thing appeals. We paid £110 for our double room, without breakfast, which was okay value but not great. We also ordered dinner in our room the night we stayed, and that was pretty good - decent portion sizes. Breakfast and room service combined was £45.

Room Tip: We had room 248 - see my photo. We didn't have a pool view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DistinctionHotels, General Manager at Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, 8 July 2013
Jo64adventures from West London, were pleased you could make it to Rotorua, New Zealand. And by the photo’s we put on some great weather for you also. Glad you enjoyed your stay with us and the staff were accommodating to your needs. The deluxe rooms you chose to book were recently upgraded so comfort and relaxation during your travels would have been high. We hope you can come visit again next time your over this way.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

401 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    145
    147
    67
    29
    13
See reviews for
111
139
6
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
63 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2013

We visited the hotel again with friends on a Grabone deal which included dinner and breakfast. All areas are still tired and in need of some care. We had different types of room than our previous stay.The covers in two of our rooms again had some stains on them. The food wasn't bad, but nothing to rave about. For us the biggest draw-card was the grotto pools and outdoor heated pool and we had a great time there.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mala1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DistinctionHotels, General Manager at Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, 24 June 2013
Greetings mala1972, were pleased you came and visited us again. Our owner has had a continuous refurbishment program running on this hotel for the last few years, our four restaurants and bars have been completely upgraded, all our superior & deluxe accommodation rooms (124 rooms) have been upgraded with our 9 suites currently being refurbished. I can only assume your comment on being tired, relates to our corridors which still need to be upgraded, they are on the plans but obviously a last priority as we are trying to make the areas our guests spent the most time the priority. The Grabone Grill special has been very popular and enjoyed by many. If you want something more inviting our restaurants & bar menus have a lot to offer and great value. Also you should try Mr Yakitori – that’s something very different and is always raved about. Were pleased you enjoyed the Grotto’s, they are very different and it seems people either like or hate them, but again something a bit different to experience here at Distinction.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2013 via mobile

I recently attended the Distiction hotel for a conference of approximate 40 people, we were pretty much the only people in the hotel and staff were sparse. Check in was good, bag in room by the end of first day of conference which was great. The room was clean and tidy but the radiator in the room was stuck on the highest setting and it couldn't be turned off, there was no air con in the room, just a noisy fan and it was the same for most colleagues. There was a strong smell of paint in the hallways also. The food overall was great, however the service on the night of 13th June was quite terrible for some, we were the ONLY people in the dining room and we asked to pull tables together in order to eat as a group, only to be told we couldn't as they didn't have a single water bottle on them. For the amount we paid overall, pushing six tables should not have been a challenge. As the customer, we were not at the heart if service and more an annoyance.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RieBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DistinctionHotels, General Manager at Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, 24 June 2013
Thank you RieBob for bringing these issues to our attention. I have been working through your comments made. My sincere apologies your stay wasn’t 100%, but we will do everything we can to fix / correct for future. The paint smell is very unfortunate, we are lucky enough to be getting another refurbishment, on the last of our accommodation rooms, our nine suites are being made over at present, and unfortunately even with the airing we did, because of the colder weather about we must have closed up to soon. I hope your able to visit again and see the marked changes at the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2013

We stayed here in May of this year and had an amazing stay! The staff at this hotel are some of the hardest working I've ever seen! They are real multi-taskers and were all wonderful. We felt they really went above what was necessary to help people and I would stay here again without hesitation. We also felt the price was quite reasonable for what you get. We ate at only one of the restaurants there - the pavilion. The food there was really amazing, very well done and reasonably priced. It is in a nice quiet area and close to other places to eat if you prefer to do a bit more exploring.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jodenator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DistinctionHotels, General Manager at Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, 6 June 2013
Jodenator, thank you so much for your wonderful comments regarding the team at Distinction Rotorua. We are pleased you’ve enjoyed your stay with us, the Pavilion does have an great garden view to relax and enjoy your dining experience. Maybe on your next visit you could try one of the other restaurants on site like Mr Yakitori Sake Bar, which offers a very different dining experience. We hope to see you again !!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Feilding, New Zealand
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2013

We have had the pleasure of staying at the Distinction before and both times it's been amazing.

The motel is a little dated but boasts 5 floors of large rooms.

We were pleased to work with Elle from the front desk and because we were meeting up with relatives; she was able to ensure our rooms were side by side with an inter connecting door.

The pools are fantastic, with a main pool, a very large jaquizzi and several small underground spa pools and sauna.

A perfect 'getaway' weekend.

Room Tip: Could only be better if they came with a kitchenette. Fridge with kettle for coffees/teas only. No...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DistinctionHotels, General Manager at Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, 5 June 2013
Neil S from Fielding, glad you came back to visit us again this May. Yes Elle is extremely helpful and will go out of her way to make guests have an enjoyable stay. The hotel has been undergoing a refurbishment over the last 4 years, we have completed all our Superior & deluxe rooms, all restaurants & bars and right now our suites are being upgraded. Just the corridors & reception to go. We hope to be able to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, Waikato, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

My stay was great with one exception. The reception was an unnecessary mess. I got three room keys before I got the right room key. I was not impressed with this. The room was very clean and well presented. The TV reception was cloudy but not really an issue. Perhaps a couple more channels would be appropriate. Plastic water glasses was not appropriate for the Conference I was attending. Great meals which were reasonably priced. I would go back again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Max L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DistinctionHotels, General Manager at Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, 5 June 2013
Max L, I trust you enjoyed your conference and it was informative for your needs. I will look into the key issuing at reception. In regards to the plastic glasses, these are used for our water coolers and when conference numbers are large as we make up several water stations for all to be able to reach. I hope you got to use some of the facilities around the hotel and managed to get in some relaxation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

I stayed here with a group for an overnight conference and it was terrific. didn't use any of the amenties (other than the bar;) but ate at Mr Yakitori which was terrific.
Comfortable bed and nice decor in room.
Lovely service from staff, and I thought a very good price.
have since been back for a one day conference and it was as good (and this time was tempted to jump in the heated pool)

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DistinctionHotels, General Manager at Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, 5 June 2013
Greetings Susan T, we have a large range of facilities for the business traveller and an array of conference rooms for all company requirements, something to suit all needs. We’re pleased you have been to visit a couple of times. Mr Yakitori is great isn’t it, Now if we could just get you here for a third visit we might just be able to get you in that heated pool - relaxation!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#20 of 93 in Rotorua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 774 reviews
1.9 mi away
Ibis Rotorua
Ibis Rotorua
#28 of 93 in Rotorua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,084 reviews
1.3 mi away
Millennium Hotel Rotorua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
1.4 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 93 in Rotorua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 660 reviews
0.7 mi away
Rydges Rotorua
Rydges Rotorua
#41 of 93 in Rotorua
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre

Property: Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre
Address: 390 Fenton Street | PO Box 983, Rotorua 3201, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
#32 Romantic Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 133
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotels.com, TravelUp and Booking.com so you can book your Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Distinction Rotorua Hotel And Conference Centre
Distinction Hotel Rotorua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing