We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Distinction Rotorua”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre
Ranked #33 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 January 2014

We were strapped for a place to stay yesterday and rang up Distinction and the lovely woman at the desk gave us a room straight away and bumped us up to a deluxe suite for the same price. Arrived to the lady who was helpful and friendly. Room was very clean with really nice furnishings. Close to town and nice views from the balcony. Only fault would be the rusty fire hose thing in the bathroom on the roof lol. Would definitely recommend this as a place to stay. Five stars!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Kendyll H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DistinctionHotels, General Manager at Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2014

Glad you called in Kendyll H and enjoyed your quick stay with us. Hope you got to try some of the dining options we have available for you. And the outdoor heated pool and Jacuzzi. We hope to see you again soon !!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (439)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

291 - 297 of 439 reviews

Reviewed 19 January 2014

It was a spare of the moment trip to Rotorua, to have some R&R. We hadn't stayed at Distintion Hotel before, but thought the reviews looked good and the price was good too. What we liked was that the price was for the room, not based on configuration. At other hotels we were going to have to pay for the 2 adults and then 2 children as extra.
We were pleasantly surprised by the very impressive look and feel of the Hotel, very helpful and friendly staff (especially Victor, Manager at the reception), and central location.
The facilities were fantastic, the kids had a ball in the pools and Jacuzzi - Great for families...and would be just as great for a romantic getaway with the hubby next time! Will definitely be back again!! Thanks so much :)

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Josie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DistinctionHotels, General Manager at Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2014

We will look forward to seeing you again Josie W and family. What can I say except thank you!

Thank you for coming to stay with us and thank you for this review !!

Your kind words on our Duty Manager Victor have been passed on.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2014

Had a great New Years Eve at the Distinction Hotel after a spur of the moment decision to stay in Rotorua. Our room was great, 2 king size beds, very private with a leafy outlook. Large bathroom and small balcony and was in a quiet part of the hotel and had the best black out curtains. Great for those of us who like a really dark room to sleep in. The only small flaw was we couldn't get any cooling to work and it was really hot in the room when we first arrived. We had a really nice dinner outside by the pool on a beautiful sunny evening and the buffet breakfast was extensive and only $10pp. Service was great as well.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tracey D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DistinctionHotels, General Manager at Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2014

Happy New Year TraceyD, so glad you decided to pop in for a visit and enjoyed your time with us. It’s brilliant being able to relax around the pool having your evening meal, you really feel like you’re on a break. In any hotel you stay in if the temperature in the room is not where you’d like it to be, just contact reception, we can have that sorted for you in no time. Our extensive buffet breakfast would have set you right for your days travels, we hope you used the egg station and the Chef cooked them to your liking!! Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

We spent one night here during the labour weekend. We took the package deal which included the Skyline and Lug ride. The room has two double beds which can accommodate a couple with two kids comfortably. The hotel itself is not new but I think the room has been refurbished and looked very clean. The bathroom is reasonably sized but there was some difficulties to adjust the hot/cold water in the shower. There is a heated pool and spa an early work out or evening chill out. There are two parking lots on both sides of the hotel but it's more convenient to park on the street in front of the hotel. The hotel is about 10 mins walk or 5 mins drive to town centre. The heater does make some noise at night but it didn't disturb our sleep.

We had to pay for the wifi, which is now free in most hotels around the world.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KC K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DistinctionHotels, General Manager at Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2014

Greetings KC K from Auckland. Labour weekend seems so far away now, can I suggest it’s time for another holiday? We have more packages on offer so you could try something new this time?
Don’t forget to view our website for offers on www.distinctionrotorua.co.nz or of course if you want to spread your wings more, Distinction now have nine properties nationwide, you can view all on www.distinctionhotels.co.nz. We hope to welcome you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights. Rooms were nice, and we liked the new bathrooms. Service was excellent, all the staff were friendly and happy to help. Parking is outside and security cameras only seem to record in the centre lot of the car park between their two main light poles so definitely keep that in mind when parking unattended.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shinkz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DistinctionHotels, General Manager at Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2014

Happy New Year Shinkz, were glad you could come for a visit recently. With our four restaurants and bar facilities along with the outdoor heated pool, Jacuzzi and private grottos, there’s a lot on offer for everyone. We are really pleased to hear the “service was excellent” from our team. We hope to see you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

We stayed for 3 nights at Distinction hotel Rotorua (Superior room on the second floor) for new year holidays. It is an old hotel, with some renovations but it definitely needs more renovations (like the bath tube, sink, etc)
Hot pool (Jacuzzi) and the heated pool are both lovely and comfortable. Although there were some leaves in the pool (comparing to the Polynesian Spa in town, I prefer the hot pool in the hotel as it's not crowded, no bad smell like Polynesian Spa and also free!!)
There are a few bar/restaurants in the hotel that we haven't tried but seemed to be a good place to spend an afternoon/evening with friends.
Fan in our room was still old and it made a noise when I turned it on so we preferred not to use it (a negative point, as it was a bit warm in the room even with the window open)
I left the window open, and at night I found a small cockroach on the wall.
Big flat TV which was great. Internet was available and free for our room but we had a lot of disconnections.
Reception staff were great, they helped us with the tourist attractions of Rotorua. (thanks to you all)

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arash V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DistinctionHotels, General Manager at Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2014

Happy New Year Arash V, from Tehran Iran. Thank you for visiting Rotorua New Zealand for your recent holiday Christmas / New Year Holidays. Were pleased you enjoyed the hotel facilities, unfortunately we do sometimes get leaves in the pool, having a large garden setting around the pool, does create this, however to do try to clear regularly through the day / night. I’m sure once you advised your concerns on the fan & internet the team worked hard to get rectified for you on the spot. We hope you get to visit New Zealand again soon. Safe travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2013

Our room was spacious and had everything we needed. Breakfast was great but what I loved the most were the heated spas and heated outdoor pool. The hotel is a bit out of town and we needed to drive to get to the shops or for restaurants though the hotel restaurant was good and reasonably priced.

Room Tip: Our top floor room only had a view towards the south of Rotorua - no lake view for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KittyKatch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DistinctionHotels, General Manager at Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2013

Merry Christmas KittyKatch, thank you for trying out so many of the hotels facilities. Having four restaurants and bars on site, means you don’t have to travel far from your room. And I hope you had the most relaxing spa whilst you were here. We hope to welcome you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#17 of 92 in Rotorua
891 reviews
1.8 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
1.3 mi away
Millennium Hotel Rotorua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
#10 of 92 in Rotorua
461 reviews
0.6 mi away
Rydges Rotorua
Rydges Rotorua
#49 of 92 in Rotorua
1,250 reviews
1.4 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre

Address: 390 Fenton Street | PO Box 983, Rotorua 3201, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
#32 Romantic Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range: £84 - £181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 133
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, LateRooms, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Distinction Rotorua Hotel And Conference Centre
Distinction Hotel Rotorua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing