We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tired and grubby”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre
Ranked #31 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Tired and grubby”
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Please please please don't stay at the distinction Rotorua. I was embarrassed for New Zealand seeing the bus load of tourists being offloaded out the front.

The staff were nice but the decor is very tired. The room I had hadn't been cleaned very well. The ceiling had cobwebs all over it and there was a tampon wrapper in the middle of the floor. Granted it was one of those dark purple ones so would have been easy to miss but it was clear the floor hadn't been vacuumed.


Poor effort Distinction. Simply not good enough with so many great places to stay in Rotorura.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Darren R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DistinctionHotels, General Manager at Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, 1 February 2014
Hello Darren R, Were sorry your stay wasn’t enjoyed like so many of our other guests. Rotorua is a tourist location, as are many cities in New Zealand and tours stay in hotels. I have addressed the issues which you experienced in your room and our team have already created an actioned plan and checks so this is not experienced by others. I hope your future holidays are enjoyable !!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

418 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    148
    155
    72
    30
    13
See reviews for
113
143
7
66
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 January 2014

My husband and two boys stayed here for two nights and were totally impressed with the cleanliness of the room, but most of all the friendliness of the staff - definitely recommend!!! Loved the Gotto Spas also - a must try!!!
Janie B

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DistinctionHotels, General Manager at Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, 1 February 2014
Hi Janie B, a family getaway should always be enjoyable, relaxing, busy and most of all fun!!
Were pleased we helped you have a great time in Rotorua and you got to try some of our facilities, those grotto’s are different. When you’re ready for another get away, our GREAT Treat the Family package accommodates most well.
Take care and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 21 January 2014 via mobile

We were strapped for a place to stay yesterday and rang up Distinction and the lovely woman at the desk gave us a room straight away and bumped us up to a deluxe suite for the same price. Arrived to the lady who was helpful and friendly. Room was very clean with really nice furnishings. Close to town and nice views from the balcony. Only fault would be the rusty fire hose thing in the bathroom on the roof lol. Would definitely recommend this as a place to stay. Five stars!

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kendyll H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DistinctionHotels, General Manager at Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Glad you called in Kendyll H and enjoyed your quick stay with us. Hope you got to try some of the dining options we have available for you. And the outdoor heated pool and Jacuzzi. We hope to see you again soon !!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 19 January 2014

It was a spare of the moment trip to Rotorua, to have some R&R. We hadn't stayed at Distintion Hotel before, but thought the reviews looked good and the price was good too. What we liked was that the price was for the room, not based on configuration. At other hotels we were going to have to pay for the 2 adults and then 2 children as extra.
We were pleasantly surprised by the very impressive look and feel of the Hotel, very helpful and friendly staff (especially Victor, Manager at the reception), and central location.
The facilities were fantastic, the kids had a ball in the pools and Jacuzzi - Great for families...and would be just as great for a romantic getaway with the hubby next time! Will definitely be back again!! Thanks so much :)

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Josie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DistinctionHotels, General Manager at Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
We will look forward to seeing you again Josie W and family. What can I say except thank you!

Thank you for coming to stay with us and thank you for this review !!

Your kind words on our Duty Manager Victor have been passed on.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Opotiki, New Zealand
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2014

Had a great New Years Eve at the Distinction Hotel after a spur of the moment decision to stay in Rotorua. Our room was great, 2 king size beds, very private with a leafy outlook. Large bathroom and small balcony and was in a quiet part of the hotel and had the best black out curtains. Great for those of us who like a really dark room to sleep in. The only small flaw was we couldn't get any cooling to work and it was really hot in the room when we first arrived. We had a really nice dinner outside by the pool on a beautiful sunny evening and the buffet breakfast was extensive and only $10pp. Service was great as well.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracey D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DistinctionHotels, General Manager at Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Happy New Year TraceyD, so glad you decided to pop in for a visit and enjoyed your time with us. It’s brilliant being able to relax around the pool having your evening meal, you really feel like you’re on a break. In any hotel you stay in if the temperature in the room is not where you’d like it to be, just contact reception, we can have that sorted for you in no time. Our extensive buffet breakfast would have set you right for your days travels, we hope you used the egg station and the Chef cooked them to your liking!! Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

We spent one night here during the labour weekend. We took the package deal which included the Skyline and Lug ride. The room has two double beds which can accommodate a couple with two kids comfortably. The hotel itself is not new but I think the room has been refurbished and looked very clean. The bathroom is reasonably sized but there was some difficulties to adjust the hot/cold water in the shower. There is a heated pool and spa an early work out or evening chill out. There are two parking lots on both sides of the hotel but it's more convenient to park on the street in front of the hotel. The hotel is about 10 mins walk or 5 mins drive to town centre. The heater does make some noise at night but it didn't disturb our sleep.

We had to pay for the wifi, which is now free in most hotels around the world.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KC K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DistinctionHotels, General Manager at Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Greetings KC K from Auckland. Labour weekend seems so far away now, can I suggest it’s time for another holiday? We have more packages on offer so you could try something new this time?
Don’t forget to view our website for offers on www.distinctionrotorua.co.nz or of course if you want to spread your wings more, Distinction now have nine properties nationwide, you can view all on www.distinctionhotels.co.nz. We hope to welcome you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights. Rooms were nice, and we liked the new bathrooms. Service was excellent, all the staff were friendly and happy to help. Parking is outside and security cameras only seem to record in the centre lot of the car park between their two main light poles so definitely keep that in mind when parking unattended.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shinkz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DistinctionHotels, General Manager at Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Happy New Year Shinkz, were glad you could come for a visit recently. With our four restaurants and bar facilities along with the outdoor heated pool, Jacuzzi and private grottos, there’s a lot on offer for everyone. We are really pleased to hear the “service was excellent” from our team. We hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#18 of 92 in Rotorua
820 reviews
1.8 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
1.3 mi away
Millennium Hotel Rotorua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Ibis Rotorua
Ibis Rotorua
#34 of 92 in Rotorua
1,130 reviews
0.3 mi away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
1.6 mi away
Princes Gate Hotel
Princes Gate Hotel
#32 of 92 in Rotorua
765 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre

Property: Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre
Address: 390 Fenton Street | PO Box 983, Rotorua 3201, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
#32 Romantic Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 133
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Distinction Rotorua Hotel And Conference Centre
Distinction Hotel Rotorua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing