We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Dated Room - Cleaniness of the room was an issue”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre
Ranked #32 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 February 2014

A lot of hotel choices in Rotorua - we stayed here cos we had a function to attend at this Hotel. Hotel is very dated including the room. I couldn't find the TV Remote but in the end found it under the bed, along with quite a few Cadbury lolly wrappers and crumbs under a chair. Cleaner didn't seen to clean under stuff just around furniture. Dirty rooms put me off. Given the age of the Hotel thought the price was very high too. Hotel did have a great pool and spa.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nzsteve1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DistinctionHotels, General Manager at Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2014

Hi nzsteve1234, my sincere apologies about the cleanliness of your accommodation room. We have a program underway to eliminate this issue and provide a cleaner environment for all out guests. Were pleased you enjoyed the hotel facilities and trust you also enjoyed the function that you were here to attend.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (434)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

284 - 290 of 434 reviews

Reviewed 28 January 2014

We did not stay here as the rooms are a bit small and the baths so teensy weensy that only tiny tourists would fit....but we did come for high tea three times because it was so lovely! Nice sandwiches, fresh, hot scones and little tarts. And only $10!! Congrats to the restaurant staff who are very helpful and efficient.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
2  Thank geyserg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DistinctionHotels, General Manager at Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2014

Greetings geyser, three visit’s to our High Tea – well those freshly made sandwiches, scones and tarts must have become your favourite. Pleased the team looked after you during your time with us. Sorry you think our rooms are small, most compliment us on the size and space. Maybe next time you’re in town have a look our newly refurbished smart suites, there’s definitely plenty of room in those, if not well be pleased to welcome you back to our High Tea !!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Please please please don't stay at the distinction Rotorua. I was embarrassed for New Zealand seeing the bus load of tourists being offloaded out the front.

The staff were nice but the decor is very tired. The room I had hadn't been cleaned very well. The ceiling had cobwebs all over it and there was a tampon wrapper in the middle of the floor. Granted it was one of those dark purple ones so would have been easy to miss but it was clear the floor hadn't been vacuumed.


Poor effort Distinction. Simply not good enough with so many great places to stay in Rotorura.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Darren R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DistinctionHotels, General Manager at Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2014

Hello Darren R, Were sorry your stay wasn’t enjoyed like so many of our other guests. Rotorua is a tourist location, as are many cities in New Zealand and tours stay in hotels. I have addressed the issues which you experienced in your room and our team have already created an actioned plan and checks so this is not experienced by others. I hope your future holidays are enjoyable !!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

My husband and two boys stayed here for two nights and were totally impressed with the cleanliness of the room, but most of all the friendliness of the staff - definitely recommend!!! Loved the Gotto Spas also - a must try!!!
Janie B

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DistinctionHotels, General Manager at Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2014

Hi Janie B, a family getaway should always be enjoyable, relaxing, busy and most of all fun!!
Were pleased we helped you have a great time in Rotorua and you got to try some of our facilities, those grotto’s are different. When you’re ready for another get away, our GREAT Treat the Family package accommodates most well.
Take care and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014

We were strapped for a place to stay yesterday and rang up Distinction and the lovely woman at the desk gave us a room straight away and bumped us up to a deluxe suite for the same price. Arrived to the lady who was helpful and friendly. Room was very clean with really nice furnishings. Close to town and nice views from the balcony. Only fault would be the rusty fire hose thing in the bathroom on the roof lol. Would definitely recommend this as a place to stay. Five stars!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Kendyll H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DistinctionHotels, General Manager at Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2014

Glad you called in Kendyll H and enjoyed your quick stay with us. Hope you got to try some of the dining options we have available for you. And the outdoor heated pool and Jacuzzi. We hope to see you again soon !!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

It was a spare of the moment trip to Rotorua, to have some R&R. We hadn't stayed at Distintion Hotel before, but thought the reviews looked good and the price was good too. What we liked was that the price was for the room, not based on configuration. At other hotels we were going to have to pay for the 2 adults and then 2 children as extra.
We were pleasantly surprised by the very impressive look and feel of the Hotel, very helpful and friendly staff (especially Victor, Manager at the reception), and central location.
The facilities were fantastic, the kids had a ball in the pools and Jacuzzi - Great for families...and would be just as great for a romantic getaway with the hubby next time! Will definitely be back again!! Thanks so much :)

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Josie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DistinctionHotels, General Manager at Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2014

We will look forward to seeing you again Josie W and family. What can I say except thank you!

Thank you for coming to stay with us and thank you for this review !!

Your kind words on our Duty Manager Victor have been passed on.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2014

Had a great New Years Eve at the Distinction Hotel after a spur of the moment decision to stay in Rotorua. Our room was great, 2 king size beds, very private with a leafy outlook. Large bathroom and small balcony and was in a quiet part of the hotel and had the best black out curtains. Great for those of us who like a really dark room to sleep in. The only small flaw was we couldn't get any cooling to work and it was really hot in the room when we first arrived. We had a really nice dinner outside by the pool on a beautiful sunny evening and the buffet breakfast was extensive and only $10pp. Service was great as well.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tracey D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DistinctionHotels, General Manager at Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2014

Happy New Year TraceyD, so glad you decided to pop in for a visit and enjoyed your time with us. It’s brilliant being able to relax around the pool having your evening meal, you really feel like you’re on a break. In any hotel you stay in if the temperature in the room is not where you’d like it to be, just contact reception, we can have that sorted for you in no time. Our extensive buffet breakfast would have set you right for your days travels, we hope you used the egg station and the Chef cooked them to your liking!! Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#18 of 92 in Rotorua
868 reviews
1.3 mi away
Millennium Hotel Rotorua
0.6 mi away
Rydges Rotorua
Rydges Rotorua
#48 of 92 in Rotorua
1,238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua
1.4 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
721 reviews
0.5 mi away
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
#10 of 92 in Rotorua
444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre

Address: 390 Fenton Street | PO Box 983, Rotorua 3201, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
#32 Romantic Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range: £86 - £178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 133
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Distinction Rotorua Hotel And Conference Centre
Distinction Hotel Rotorua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing