We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No air con in this hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre
Ranked #31 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 February 2014

This was booked through a NZ travel company because we didn't know anything about NZ. Really shocked to check into a hotel without air con. Unless you prefer sleeping in tropical climate with windows open to street traffic noises (on the side of hotel facing the main road in/out of the town), you should just look elsewhere. Carpet, bedding and the bed are old and feel old... Location-wise it's almost at the end of town and not within walking distance to anything except maybe Te Puia where you can see the big Pohutu geyser (worth a visit). Staff generally tries to be helpful if they're not busy - at least you can get a smile out of them. Lots of Asian tourists, their tour buses/engines up and running at 6AM - you can hear them loud and clear because you have to sleep with windows open on an average summer day.

Room Tip: Not sure there is one.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jacksonw166
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DistinctionHotels, General Manager at Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2014

Greetings Jackson W. Your comments regarding Air Con are noted and forwarded. With guest expectations that hotels should be environmentally friendly, it’s hard doing that using air con through the hotel. But we can look into that.
I do hope during your visit you got to use some of our many facilities such as our heated outdoor swimming pool, Jacuzzi and private grotto’s. Or dined in one our four restaurants and bars that offer such a large variety.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (431)
There are newer reviews for Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

277 - 283 of 431 reviews

Reviewed 11 February 2014

We have stayed twice at Distinction Hotel during peak travel season- December 2012 and January 2014 and it meets basic needs. Dated but clean rooms, access to in-hotel restaurants (food at D bar was a new addition and was lovely if not a little over priced) pool, etc. The frustrating point was both times it was chosen because of its advertised Maori Cultural Show and since we were traveling with foreign visitors we thought it was a good option..disappointingly, although the online calendar showed it as available throughout BOTH visits there was not a scheduled performance on any of the days we were staying. I feel the website is therefore misleading and at least the calendar should be updated to reflect the actual availability of performances or lack thereof, and at best the website should be altered to not portray the Maori Show as a featured highlight as it obviously isn't routinely available.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelin_monkeys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DistinctionHotels, General Manager at Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2014

Hi travelin_monkeys, glad you could visit us here in Rotorua. My apologies that you were disappointed with the hotel. As all our accommodation rooms have recently been refurbished to a high quality, I am wondering if your comment of “dated” refers to our reception area, as this area is in need of a makeover, but as it’s not one guests spend much time in, is last on the list. Our focus was to revamp the rooms and our four on site restaurants and bars. With regards to the Maori Dinner & Show our website does state subject to availability and minimum numbers. We would love to run this dinning experience every night, but if we don’t have enough numbers (like ALL hotels in Rotorua) we some time have to close it off. We do offer to book at a hotel in town that has the numbers to run.
Great to hear you thought the rooms were clean !!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

We (2 adults and 2 kids) stayed Friday and Saturday night. We found the entrance a little confusing sice its not actually on Fenton steet. In fact the hotel seems back to front on the site compared with other hotels but thats a good thing as rooms are away from the busy road.

The hotel staff, including housekeeping, were friendly and helpful so no complaints. The rooms were nice enough; clean and well presented. TV had no decent viewing channels so that was a waste of time and a bit disappointing given we had a day of rain and ran out of things to do in the city. The rain had one benefit and that was that guests did not use the pool on the first night. The weather was really warm and humid and the rooms don't have airconditioning. There is a ceiing fan but you need to have the windows open to let the slightest bit of cool into a room being warmed by 4 bodies !!!. This was impossible on the second night since the pool was used by guests until 11pm. there was a big group and they were really loud. They probably were unaware that they made it impossible for any of us to sleep and reception advised there was nothing they could do until 11pm. I would have thought they could have at least asked guests to be considerate as many rooms faced onto the pool (incidentally we asked for a quiet room at the time of booking but obviously were not allocated one). We could not understand why the pool had to be open so late, particularly since the noise carries up to so many guest rooms. On the basis of this (late night pool coupled with no aircon thus a poor sleep) we would not be in a hurry to book here again. Even the brilliant buffet breakfast doesn't make up for tired parents and grumpy tired kids for the next day.

Room Tip: Ask to be on the side AWAY from the pool. You could ask about aircon but we were told none of the ro...
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank reneelangaday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DistinctionHotels, General Manager at Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2014

Hi reneelangaday that’s for your feedback. Yes you are correct the team should have asked the guests at the pool if they could keep their noise level down. This is something we will work on with them. If there’s nothing on the normal TV channels or sky movies etc, the hotel does offer playing cards or a small range of DVD’s for entertainment, which can be taken and set up in the room for you. There are a few wet weather activities around town including ten pin bowling, which is located just down the road from the hotel. I take on board your comments on the air con, the reception will supply portable fans to assist with room cooling. Glad you thought the extensive buffet breakfast was Brilliant even under the conditions.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2014

We arrived at the hotel following a very scenic drive from Auckland and the hotel receptionist, Morgan, was incredibly helpful. Firstly she allowed us to check in early, then announced we had been upgraded without request to a lovely suite, then she guided us to a number of local attractions including the Polonesian Spa, local Geyser and Maori village. The hotel itself was ideally located in Rotorua, our suite was truly superb and offered all the facilities you could hope for, including a lovely lounge with flat screen tv ( there was another in the bedroom), kitchen area, superb bathroom, and an extremely large bedroom all fully air conditioned.Although the hotel was quite we had a nice meal in their restaurant that had an extensive menu. We could not fault the service and a few days later when we realised we had left a kindle behind at the hotel Morgan even kindly forwarded it to a hotel we were staying at in Wellington. Thanks Morgan you help and assistance was really appreciated. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DistinctionHotels, General Manager at Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2014

Greetings Colin H, thank you so much for your kind words. It’s always great to hear about our team members and the great service they offer. Morgan is new to the team and has very quickly become a strong part of the team. I will make sure your kind words are passed onto her. It’s great you enjoyed our newly refurbished suites, they complement our superior & deluxe rooms which have all had a makeover in the past few years. We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2014

A lot of hotel choices in Rotorua - we stayed here cos we had a function to attend at this Hotel. Hotel is very dated including the room. I couldn't find the TV Remote but in the end found it under the bed, along with quite a few Cadbury lolly wrappers and crumbs under a chair. Cleaner didn't seen to clean under stuff just around furniture. Dirty rooms put me off. Given the age of the Hotel thought the price was very high too. Hotel did have a great pool and spa.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nzsteve1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DistinctionHotels, General Manager at Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2014

Hi nzsteve1234, my sincere apologies about the cleanliness of your accommodation room. We have a program underway to eliminate this issue and provide a cleaner environment for all out guests. Were pleased you enjoyed the hotel facilities and trust you also enjoyed the function that you were here to attend.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2014

We did not stay here as the rooms are a bit small and the baths so teensy weensy that only tiny tourists would fit....but we did come for high tea three times because it was so lovely! Nice sandwiches, fresh, hot scones and little tarts. And only $10!! Congrats to the restaurant staff who are very helpful and efficient.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
2  Thank geyserg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DistinctionHotels, General Manager at Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2014

Greetings geyser, three visit’s to our High Tea – well those freshly made sandwiches, scones and tarts must have become your favourite. Pleased the team looked after you during your time with us. Sorry you think our rooms are small, most compliment us on the size and space. Maybe next time you’re in town have a look our newly refurbished smart suites, there’s definitely plenty of room in those, if not well be pleased to welcome you back to our High Tea !!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Please please please don't stay at the distinction Rotorua. I was embarrassed for New Zealand seeing the bus load of tourists being offloaded out the front.

The staff were nice but the decor is very tired. The room I had hadn't been cleaned very well. The ceiling had cobwebs all over it and there was a tampon wrapper in the middle of the floor. Granted it was one of those dark purple ones so would have been easy to miss but it was clear the floor hadn't been vacuumed.


Poor effort Distinction. Simply not good enough with so many great places to stay in Rotorura.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Darren R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DistinctionHotels, General Manager at Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2014

Hello Darren R, Were sorry your stay wasn’t enjoyed like so many of our other guests. Rotorua is a tourist location, as are many cities in New Zealand and tours stay in hotels. I have addressed the issues which you experienced in your room and our team have already created an actioned plan and checks so this is not experienced by others. I hope your future holidays are enjoyable !!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#17 of 92 in Rotorua
857 reviews
1.3 mi away
Millennium Hotel Rotorua
0.6 mi away
Rydges Rotorua
Rydges Rotorua
#46 of 92 in Rotorua
1,224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Lake Rotorua Hotel
Lake Rotorua Hotel
#45 of 92 in Rotorua
250 reviews
1.3 mi away
Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua
1.8 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre

Address: 390 Fenton Street | PO Box 983, Rotorua 3201, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
#32 Romantic Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range: £72 - £157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 133
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Distinction Rotorua Hotel And Conference Centre
Distinction Hotel Rotorua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing