We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nothing special and hair in bed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre
Ranked #32 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Nothing special and hair in bed”
Reviewed 4 April 2014

Hotel is very average and close to Te Puia, but on edge of everything that is downtown Rotoroa. Accomodations are very average. Found a hair in our one bed which was disappointing. With all the other options in Rotoroa, would suggest checking them out instead.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NosDucar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DistinctionHotels, General Manager at Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Kia Ora NosDucar
Were sorry we could not make your stay more enjoyable. We wish you well on the rest of your travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

411 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    147
    152
    69
    30
    13
See reviews for
112
142
7
64
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Upper Hutt
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014

Hotel was originally the Sheraton then Grand Tiara. It has been under the Distinction brand for a while now. Very easy to locate - plenty of parking which is monitored by security cameras.
Close to Whakarewarewa Thermal Village end of Fenton Street.
Reception are a little "old fashioned" looking but provides all you need on arrival.
Staff most friendly and accommodating and never seemed to get flustered even at busy check-in and check-out times.
Rooms comfortable with efficient heater panel and ceiling fan in lieu of air-conditioning.
Bathroom only real disappointment. Shower over bath that provided good supply of hot water but not a good spray and hard to adjust. Lets just say it was an older style shower head and system that I hope is high on the priority list for upgrading.
Bar and restaurants good and also noted for helpful and friendly staff.

Room Tip: 2nd floor offers access to lift or stairs (handy to reception area)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DistinctionHotels, General Manager at Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Hello John H, thank you for taking the time to place your thoughts on our property. You have really taken the time to find out about the hotel and location. You are fair in your comments on the shower head you experienced and we are pleased to advise we are in the process of changing the remaining older heads over and hope to have them finished soon. It’s pleasing to hear you got to experience some of our many restaurants and bar facilities. We hope you can visit us again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fife
Level Contributor
66 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Booked via Whitianga I site. We had requested a central motel with cooking facilities which was obviously not what we received but this was not the hotel's fault. It is on the edge of town and appears to cater for weddings and noisy coach parties using the pool at 11pm and 6 am!! We were really annoyed to be told by reception staff on arrival that we were not entitled to free wifi because we had booked via an i site. On the plus side our deluxe room was very clean, comfortable and spacious and the breakfast was excellent with a very wide choice.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HolidayHarriet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DistinctionHotels, General Manager at Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Hello HolidayHarriet, yes it seems the I-site did make an error in selecting the choice of Motel you were looking for. However we are pleased that you enjoyed our Hotel accommodation and Extensive Buffet Breakfast. In regards to our Wi-Fi we have packages available that do offer free Wi-Fi in the booking, however the package you choose was only for Accommodation & Breakfast. Take a look through our website to review different option that will suit your requirements. Enjoy the rest of your travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
236 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2014

We booked a suite for our valentines night stay and was very pleased at the result. The reception was very welcoming. The suite was huge. Very comfortable bed. 2 huge TVs. Not much in the mini bar though.

It's a little far from the centre of Rotorua if you are venturing out.

I did have to complain about the noise though as a wedding party were trying to tunnel their way out of their room and in to ours, or so it sounded. The hotel reception sorted this out immediately and after some door lamming, peace was resumed.

Breakfast was great. A huge variety to suit various different cultures.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johnnycash72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DistinctionHotels, General Manager at Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, 16 March 2014
Hi Johnnycash72. Were pleased you enjoyed your Valentines night in one of our newly refurbished suites and we hope you got to try out the heated swimming pool, Jacuzzi or private grottos whilst you were here.
Our apologies regarding the “Other” guests in the hotel making a disturbance, it’s great to hear the team sorted this immediately for you.
We hope to see you again soon !!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NJ
Level Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Stayed for two nights recently while visiting Rotorua. Pros: friendly staff, heated pool, hot tub, and "grotto" with three private hot tubs all fun amenities, secure parking, small balcony on the lower level rooms, large rooms, comfortable pillows, clean bathrooms; Cons: must use a car to get to the main downtown area of restaurants

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlsoLovesTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DistinctionHotels, General Manager at Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
AlsoLovesTravel NJ glad you could join us for a couple of nights. Sounds like you tried out all of our wonderful facilities, Brilliant !!

On the transport note – on the ground floor we have four restaurnats and bars to choose from, no need to transport, they are all just a short walk from your room.

Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryland
Level Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014 via mobile

We recently stayed at this hotel as part if a tour. Overall it met our needs, but the rooms were dated and could have been cleaned better. On the positive side, front desk personnel were very friendly and the breakfast buffet was very plentiful. Pool and spa were also top notch. The hotel was a bit far from town center, but there was bus transport if you so desired.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Madmaxwell48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DistinctionHotels, General Manager at Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Madmaxwell48 hello, were pleased you got to have a break in Rotorua. It would be interesting to know which room you stayed in, our entry level room or our Deluxe rooms, yes these cost a little bit more, but these are definitely not dated as you’ll see from our hotel photo’s loaded on this site or view on our website www.dsitinctionrotorua.co.nz
Glad you enjoyed our very extensive breakfast buffet, having a chef on site to cook your eggs to order adds that something special to it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 February 2014

This was booked through a NZ travel company because we didn't know anything about NZ. Really shocked to check into a hotel without air con. Unless you prefer sleeping in tropical climate with windows open to street traffic noises (on the side of hotel facing the main road in/out of the town), you should just look elsewhere. Carpet, bedding and the bed are old and feel old... Location-wise it's almost at the end of town and not within walking distance to anything except maybe Te Puia where you can see the big Pohutu geyser (worth a visit). Staff generally tries to be helpful if they're not busy - at least you can get a smile out of them. Lots of Asian tourists, their tour buses/engines up and running at 6AM - you can hear them loud and clear because you have to sleep with windows open on an average summer day.

Room Tip: Not sure there is one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jacksonw166
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DistinctionHotels, General Manager at Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Greetings Jackson W. Your comments regarding Air Con are noted and forwarded. With guest expectations that hotels should be environmentally friendly, it’s hard doing that using air con through the hotel. But we can look into that.
I do hope during your visit you got to use some of our many facilities such as our heated outdoor swimming pool, Jacuzzi and private grotto’s. Or dined in one our four restaurants and bars that offer such a large variety.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#17 of 92 in Rotorua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 812 reviews
1.3 mi away
Millennium Hotel Rotorua
1.8 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua
1.8 mi away
Ibis Rotorua
Ibis Rotorua
#33 of 92 in Rotorua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,122 reviews
0.3 mi away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre

Property: Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre
Address: 390 Fenton Street | PO Box 983, Rotorua 3201, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
#32 Romantic Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 133
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, TravelUp, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Distinction Rotorua Hotel And Conference Centre
Distinction Hotel Rotorua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing