We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service, but one of the most uncomfortable beds”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre
Ranked #31 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
“Great service, but one of the most uncomfortable beds”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Having been recommended this hotel, I was really excited to finally have a chance to stay there.

The hotel looks impressive, friendly stuff, clean rooms and great hot pool/spas area.

But for me it all didn't matter as much after 2 night of having very little sleep. The offender - super hard and uncomfortable bed, very weirdly shaped long uncomfortable pillows and bed spread that seemed very outdated. We even asked for a second duvet the second night we stayed, but after all the efforts of trying to explain what is it exactly that we want and that the itchy throw in the cupboard would not do... we were given another coverlet and not the actual duvet (which by the way are not in the duvet covers either).

I am a bit picky about my bedding situation, but from the hotel of this level, I have expected a bit more than that.

But if you don't mind the bed, I highly recommend the hotel for a nice weekend away in Rotorua. You won't see me there though, I'll be staying in a different hotel with comfy beds and covered duvets (there is one literally across the road that I know of for sure).

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anastasia_st
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DistinctionHotels, General Manager at Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Hi anastasia_st really sad to hear about your experience with your bed, linen & pillows, our apologies it wasn’t as comfortable as our other guests experience. Pleasing to hear that that the staff were friendly and the rooms clean, and it sounds like you enjoyed the jacquzzi, pool and grottos.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

418 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    148
    155
    72
    30
    13
See reviews for
113
143
7
66
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

we stayed here for 1 night. this was our 3rd trip to rotorua & 1st time we tayed here. very nice hotel. we had free brekfast & also free wine on arrival. we enjoyed lot.big clean room. has bath tub in bathroom which was nice for relaxation. will definately come back & also will suggest freind & family to go here. thank you

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicolas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DistinctionHotels, General Manager at Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Greetings Nicolas M of Wellington, thank you for taking the time to place a review of your recent stay at Distinction Rotorua. I am very pleased you had a fantastic time. We have many different deals and packages so keep an eye on our website for deals coming through, we look forward to having you come back & visit us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NZ
Level Contributor
53 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We were in Rotorua for a sports competition and booked this hotel as a friend we were staying with recommended it, they have been here several times in the past. There were four families in total taking up 5 rooms, all next door to each other which was great. The staff were fantastic at all times, extremely helpful and informative. The rooms were good, not particularly modern but comfortable and clean. The pools were great for the children, and plenty of restaurant options. There were quite a few of us for dinner one night and the staff were great with accommodating all of us, the food was great and the service very friendly and efficient. We had two people with Coeliac Disease in the group and the chef was extremely helpful with advising which options would be suitable. We had the family package which included buffet breakfast each morning and the children ate at the restaurants for free. The hotel has a very relaxed and friendly atmosphere which contributed to our great weekend away. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kiwipoms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DistinctionHotels, General Manager at Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Thanks Kiwipoms, for taking the time to place this comment. We loved having you all. I heard the sports competition went very well. It’s great to hear the Chef’s worked with you to cater correctly to everyone needs. And Brilliant that the kids regularly used all the pool facilities. We hope to see you all again soon….

Oh how did the kids go with twister?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

First off let me say that I did not actually stay at the Distinction - I had the dubious pleasure of residing at the Silver Oaks just up the road. No, this review is based purely on my experience of the bar and restaurant as it was impossible to use either at the Silver Oaks.

Firstly, the name fits the bill. An impressive foyer leading to the bar and restaurant areas. Everything beautifully clean, spacious. elegant - immaculate. Good range of beers and wines available and a choice of menus to suit all tastes and budgets. All food is freshly prepared and is well presented by the friendly staff. Can't fault the service, the food or the friendly and welcoming atmosphere. If I ever return to Rotorua, the Distinction will be the hotel of choice!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DistinctionHotels, General Manager at Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Greetings AndrewS, were pleased that even though on this occasion we did not accommodate you, that you got to enjoy some of our food and beverage facilities. With refurbished restaurants and bars the hotel provides comfortable areas to cater to all. We do look forward to welcoming you back for the full experience on your next trip to Rotorua !!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ngaruawahia, New Zealand
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

On arrival Amanda in reception appeared to be distracted no welcome smile or greeting, only after I said hi how are you did she respond, we had a bottle of wine as part of our room deal and the duty manager asked if we would like it taken to our room which we replied yes thank you, however as we were preparing to go to our room with arms full with bags he handed it to us, after being asked again he did take it up to our room. The room was nice and very clean however very noisy until after midnight with doors slamming in adjoining rooms. The heated pools are fantastic and the Jacuzzi perfect for a relaxing dip. Breakfast was nice with a good variety.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mallyjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DistinctionHotels, General Manager at Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Greetings Mallyjo, thanks for taking the time to place your views on our hotel. We will look into the welcome and service received with the team. It’s brilliant you got to use our facilities with our outdoor heated pool & Jacuzzi, did you get to the private grotto spa’s? Were pleased you tried our extensive buffet breakfast too and the Chef to cook your eggs to order. Well work on the rest and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Once upon a time I think this hotel would have been top notch. It looks like it used to be really classy but it hasn't been updated for some time. We received friendly service from the staff even if they were a little flustered at times. We ordered room service one evening and enjoyed a really tasty meal even though it was a wee bit expensive. I would be happy to stay here again if there was nothing else available but it wouldn't be my first choice. It was good value for money and pleasant.

Room Tip: Ask for a room above the ground floor. It was not a problem but being on the same level as the foot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Miranda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DistinctionHotels, General Manager at Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Hello Miranda L, thanks for visiting our hotel. Where pleased you found the team to be friendly and you enjoyed the meal. Yes our hotel was and still is a grand lady, built by the Sheraton group. Although the reception area has yet to have a makeover, we hope you got the chance to dine in one of our 4 restaurants and bars as they have recently had a makeover and looking stunning with their very modern design yet in a comfortable setting.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monaghan, Ireland
Level Contributor
40 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We stayed here recently for 4 nights and enjoyed the spacious room with comfortable beds and sky tv. The private grotto spas were pretty cool and the outdoor heated pool is open to guests until 11pm. The meals were not very generous in the restaurant so we only ate here once but the food was great apart from the portions and the location is very convenient to the city centre and an array of bars and restaurants. We also had room service one night after arriving back to the hotel late. Its a basic menu but the service was promt, the food tasty & very affordable. My only disappointment was the wifi price . . . very expensive! My other recommendation would be to provide rooms with more information regarding the hotel layout, restaurant/bar times, local activities etc. Great stay overall! thanks!

Room Tip: We enjoyed peaceful nights' sleep on the first floor, overlooking the garden. Hope that helps. A...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShortyMc86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DistinctionHotels, General Manager at Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Greetings ShortyMC86, so excellent you could join us for 4 nights, did you try our extensive buffet breakfast, there’s nothing small about those meals – great way to start the day. After comparisons around town, our Wi-Fi is priced well as we sell on a data usage basis, not a straight $30 for 12 hours, so you only need to purchase the amount you want to actually use, nothing gets wasted. We do have some great packages that include free Wi-Fi. You must have missed the hotels array of menus in the three fold compendium, I will look into the location of this information within the room, to make sure it’s viewable when searching. We hope you wish us again next time your over this way.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#18 of 92 in Rotorua
822 reviews
1.8 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
1.3 mi away
Millennium Hotel Rotorua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Ibis Rotorua
Ibis Rotorua
#35 of 92 in Rotorua
1,130 reviews
0.3 mi away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
0.5 mi away
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
#16 of 92 in Rotorua
386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre

Property: Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre
Address: 390 Fenton Street | PO Box 983, Rotorua 3201, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
#32 Romantic Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 133
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Distinction Rotorua Hotel And Conference Centre
Distinction Hotel Rotorua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing