We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A comfortable stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre
Ranked #31 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge, New Zealand
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A comfortable stay”
Reviewed 29 August 2014

I stayed here to attend a Conference on site. I had a Delux room that was adequate. The walls were a bit thin and had TV noise through the wall at 0200hrs on the first night! The situation was resolved for the rest of the stay. Unfortunately, the room sprung a slight leak during some heavy rain (on was on the top floor). The food throughout the Conference was superb. Well done to the Chefs for a consistent performance over 3 days.

Room Tip: My 5th floor room was okay as it had a view towards a golf course.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DistinctionHotels, General Manager at Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Greetings Jim W, I hope your conference was enjoyable and great to hear the food was so good! Our apologies for the noise from the room next door, please never hesitate to advise our team who will get volumes reduced. That storm that came through was a goodie and caused havoc all over Rotorua, We have fixed the leak so dry nights from now on. We do hope you got to enjoy some of the other facilities whist you were here like the outdoor heated pool ?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

418 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    148
    155
    72
    30
    13
See reviews for
113
143
7
66
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2014 via mobile

Brought a grabone mystery deal. Location was bit far from cbd.. too far to walk. I did'nt feel safe parking my car in their open carpark overnight. Rooms were dated and not overly clean. Beds we so soft they moved out from the wall when you sat on them. No air con. Heater in the wall was too efficient and cranked out so much heat even after turning it to the lowest point we were sweating all night and slept without the sheet in the middle of winter.

Pool was dirty as were the creepy grotto things.. not friendly at all for disabled people or even people who would struggle with small places.

Would not recommend people to stay here and i will not return.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank travellingkiwiabroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DistinctionHotels, General Manager at Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Kia Ora travellingkiwiaboard. Were sorry you did not enjoy your recent stay with us. The CBD is just a 15-20 minute walk from the hotel down the main road, there are also local buses that circle past every half an hour to assist with transporting people if they do not wish to use their vehicles. Just so you know our car park does have lighting and surveillance camera working, plus we have night time security doing checks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2014

We recently stayed in winter at the Distinction. We got a great price/special and it suited us perfectly. We ate at Mr Yakitori and had a lovely meal. The room was perfect for a couple and our 4 year old. We went into the hot pools and loved the little grotto spa pools. Our room was clean, warm and cosy. Our bathroom had a bath which is always great with kids.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DistinctionHotels, General Manager at Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
Kia Ora Susan H, thank you for your recent stay at Distinction Rotorua with your family. Even in the middle of winter our outdoor heated pool and Jacuzzi can still entertain and the private grotto spas some with waterfalls can provide get relaxation. Glad you enjoyed Mr Yakitori and I trust you enjoyed the Extensive buffet breakfast in our Kowhai restaurant. We hope you’ll come and visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

My partner and I recently stayed here for our 2nd time and stayed 3 nights in one of the deluxe super king rooms. The room had a lot of space and the bed was very comfortable. The staff were amazingly friendly and went out of their way to help. We ate at Mr Yakitori, had high tea at The Pavillion and breakfast each morning at the main restaurant- all were brilliant, particularly Mr Yakitori for a light (and cheap) dinner. The pools are lovely- we always had the whole place to ourselves. We had a car because it is a little way out from the main town. Overall we had a great stay and will return here again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate2626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DistinctionHotels, General Manager at Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
Greetings Kate2626, Wonderful that you could visit us again. And pleasing to hear that your stay was enjoyable and you got to enjoy just about every restaurant plus the outdoor heated pool and Jacuzzi. Fantastic that the staff were there to assist where ever needed. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Rotorua.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level Contributor
39 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

I had two nights at Rotorua Distinction as I had a conference to attend. The room was very disappointing with no heating, only a little ancient fan heater- quite unacceptable in the middle of winter! I did complain and was kindly offered an upgrade; this room had modern wall paneled heaters which worked properly. Surely all rooms should have adequate wall/ central heating. The spa and pool were very nice ( I didn't use the grotto spas). The gym certainly needs some attention to ensure that all equipment works safely and smoothly; the rowing machine's seat would not even move. The running machine worked, although it was very basic and could do with an upgrade. The D Bar was very nice with a good happy hour ($5 drinks).

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lailbale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DistinctionHotels, General Manager at Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Kia Ora Iaibale you are correct and yes all rooms should a have adequate heating ,the unit in the room your were first assigned was fixed the next day. In regards to the gym equipment, again we have had our maintenance team go over the items. You are correct we do not have the most up to date equipment, but we do not advertise ourselves as a gym facility, most who are keen exercise people will use our local terrain for their running, the Redwoods, just down the road offers many paths for all levels and Rotorua has all the major Gym’s for those that have memberships.
Were pleased you enjoyed the happy which we run each and every night and do hope you got to enjoy one of our four restaurants and bars for dining with such array on offer there’s something for everyone.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

We stayed at the hotel last weekend for two nights and had an absolutely fantastic time. The highlights of our stay include:
1. Very friendly staff - right from the very pleasant lady who checked us in on Friday evening, to the restaurant staff and porters were an absolute pleasure to deal with. Always had a welcoming smile on their faces every single time we happened to make eye contact with any of them and we didn't have to take no for an answer to any of our requests. They even agreed to heat up our takeaway food that we had bought before checking in as we were too tired to leave our room for dinner.
2. Outdoor heated pool, jacuzzi and grotto spas are a great place to hang out. There's a real 'cave' feel to the spas and that makes for a very unique experience. Couple of the spas even have their own little waterfall!
3. Buffet breakfast was great with plenty of variety..even though I could've done with a chocolate croissant :-)
4. Plenty of parking which is well lit throughout the night reducing the likelihood of theft. The car park is to one side of the hotel, which can take longer to get to than you'd expect, but there's valet parking available.
5. Clean rooms and bathrooms. The beds were very comfortable and good sized. The room was done up tastefully and was generally a good place to be after a tiring day exploring the various attractions.
6. Quiet rooms, free from any noise from neighbours or the hotel surroundings. There was a great view from our Level 4 room looking out to the pool/golf course.

A few things that could be improved are:
1. The grotto spas could do with a bit of forced ventilation. The air can get quite humid and steamy.
2. Personally, I don't really mind shower over baths (although I'd prefer them to be separate), but the shower heads could do with an upgrade to ensure they provide good water pressure and are easy to adjust. Also, the knob to direct water flow to the shower or bath was somewhat temperamental.
3. At least one non-vegetarian option in the buffet breakfast should be chicken based (e.g. chicken sausages) to accommodate dietary requirements for all cultures. We had to stick to the vegetarian options (of which there were quite a few) as we don't eat pork or beef.
4. The changing room near the swimming pool should be avoided as it's not up to the mark. To be fair though, one doesn't really need to use it.


That's about it really. For the price and value on offer, it's highly recommended. Once again, a special shout out to the friendly staff as that's something that usually makes or breaks an experience.

Room Tip: Go for the higher floors as the rooms there overlooking Fenton street have a pleasing view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank P B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DistinctionHotels, General Manager at Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Greetings P B,
I appreciate your comments above. It’s absolutely brilliant to hear you have enjoyed your stayed and I do appreciate your feedback on areas we can improve. Without a lie I have quotes for showerhead replacement and will be auctioning that very shortly, the architect has delivered plans for us to tidy up the changing room area, we are just trying to schedule in the best time and I have organised a meeting with my Chef to discuss chicken sausages as your point is very valid. The only concern I am unable to provide a result on is the ventilation in the grotto’s, which I will forward for discussion to the owner. Your comments on our team are really pleasing to hear and I will make sure they get to view – Thank You. We do look forward to having you come & stay again sometime soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Very friendly staff, I arrived to the hotel before check in on the off chance that my room was ready however it wasn't but they took my bags and had them in my room for when I returned later in the day. The room was very dated the carpet next to the bathroom had a half inch gap and overall looked tired. Bathroom was clean but again needed updating, the bath had a couple of stray hairs and the showerhead was very grotty. The bedside lamp didn't work which I really could have done with as I was staying with a 10 week old baby and had to use the light off my phone to walk round the room. Breakfast was lovely, the restaurant staff were plesant and helpful. Room service too was excellent. Nice quiet location, still handy to everywhere.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dawnie3883
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DistinctionHotels, General Manager at Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Hello dawnie3883, thank you for staying with us recently. It seems many items in your room were not up to standard and I will be rectifying them all, with the team. I’m pleased to hear however that the staff were great and you enjoyed the breakfast restaurant and room service. We do hope you got to enjoy the pool facilities as well during your stay and hope you shall return for us to deliver on “non dated” accommodation rooms for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#20 of 92 in Rotorua
820 reviews
1.8 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
1.3 mi away
Millennium Hotel Rotorua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Ibis Rotorua
Ibis Rotorua
#33 of 92 in Rotorua
1,130 reviews
0.3 mi away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
1.6 mi away
Princes Gate Hotel
Princes Gate Hotel
#34 of 92 in Rotorua
764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre

Property: Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre
Address: 390 Fenton Street | PO Box 983, Rotorua 3201, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
#32 Romantic Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 133
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Distinction Rotorua Hotel And Conference Centre
Distinction Hotel Rotorua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing