We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfy, clean, hassle free” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre
Ranked #31 of 93 Hotels in Rotorua
Auckland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Comfy, clean, hassle free”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2010

Enjoyed 2 nights here on a midweek promotional rate, which delivered great value for money. Plus points are cleanliness, good pool facilities, friendly staff and a great little on-site yakitori bar. Only minor downsides are that its location is slightly further out of town (10 mins in a taxi), and a slightly soulless atmosphere (target market seems to primarily be tour groups, conferences and business travellers)

  • Stayed March 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JTG1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DistinctionMgmt, Manager at Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, 27 April 2010
Thank you for choosing to stay at Distinction Rotorua and for taking the time to comment on Trip Advisor. It’s pleasing to read that you enjoyed the cleanliness, good pool facilities, friendly staff and our Mr. Yakitori Restaurant. Our location is not in town centre but is very close to town. I was disappointed to read your comment that the hotel has a slightly soulless atmosphere and that our target market seems to be more towards groups, conferences and business travellers. Our hotel handles different market types. During school holidays we are very busy with families and during the time of your stay we had a big wedding party. Being main tourist destination in the North Island, Rotorua is always busy with tour groups. Hope this will not prevent you from coming back in Rotorua.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

401 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    145
    147
    67
    29
    13
See reviews for
111
139
6
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2010

Booked this as a last minute break via internet/phone was offered a "deluxe room" discounted including a complimentary breakfast which we were well chuffed about. Staff were excellent very polite and friendly and bags were carried to our room. We had checked in early and reception did their best to ensure room ready a bit earlier which was great. The only small thing was there were no bath towels in our room, (there were hand towels though). When we asked reception they sorted this for us and warm fluffy towels were waiting for us when we got back a while later. Room was immaculate and so was bathroom (and I am very fussy)! The room had everything we needed we were well impressed.! Infact the whole hotel was immaculately presented from what we saw. Pool facilites great and the spa pool was wonderful (really warm and relaxing). Hotel was very quiet and it was great to have Sky TV (home from home). We talked to a few people who thought it was great value for money and have been back 2 or 3 times. It was ideally situated and town is not far down the road with a big Pak N Save supermarket on the doorstep and lots of other shops and restaurants on the doorstep. We ate out at one of the local pubs and the food there was brilliant. The hotels bar was nice and relaxing and the complimentary breakfast was excellent too. We wished we had booked another nights stay.
Will definitely go back again hopefully same time next year.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mandymoo17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DistinctionMgmt, Manager at Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, 19 April 2010
Thank you very much for taking time to place your comment on Trip Advisor. It is pleasing to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. I have noted your comments about having no bath towels in your room upon check in. Please accept my sincere apologies for the inconvenience during your stay. I would also like to thank you for your positive feedback about our team members and the hotel facilities. I have passed your comments onto the Department Heads concerened so that they can share this with our team members.

Thank you again for your feedback; it is with feedback such as yours that we are able to continually improve our service.

We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Regrds

Distinction Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
176 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2009

Renovations haven't reached the room we had, and the lake and mountain view didn't make up for the tired fittings. And one morning we had no hot water in our part of the hotel, and we were told we could use the showers down by the gym - or wait half an hour for maintenance to fix the problem.
The pool, and the outdoor spa pool, were clean and nice - but the hot spas in the basement were unwelcoming and appeared grimy, as well as having the 'Flintstone' shaping another reviewer described.
The bar, with friendly service, and the generous-portioned bar snacks, were good, though.
We also went to the Maori concert and buffet. Performers worked hard and managed to appear fresh, but many dishes in the buffet ran out before we got there, particularly the desserts, which weren't replenished.

  • Stayed December 2009
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank olderromantic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DistinctionMgmt, Manager at Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, 27 April 2010
Thank you very much for taking the time to comment on Trip Advisor. Firstly I would like to thank you for such a detailed synopsis of your recent stay, it is only with comments from our guests that we can meet and exceed your expectations. We are delighted that you enjoyed the cleanliness of the hotel, our friendly service and the generous-portioned bar snacks. We are busy with a multi million dollar refurbishment program and are continuing the renovations which will cover the next lot accommodation rooms. I was disappointed to read your comments about no hot water. During your stay we had a problem with one of our tank that supplies hot water to the accommodation rooms. And the only parts of the hotel that are not affected are the gym, conference area and restaurants. Because it was going to take 30 minutes to rectify the problem you were offered the gym shower as a solution if you were on a time schedule. Hope this will not prevent you for coming back and looking forward to welcoming you back in Rotorua.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2009

After Google searching accommodation in Rotorua, I came across the Suite Celebrations package at Distinction - one night in a suite, dinner, breakfast and complementary use of all pools/spas for $249 per night; so I booked two nights.
When we arrived staff were polite, professional, fun and chatty; it was the easiest and most hassle-free check in I have ever experienced. They answered all requests promptly and with pleasure. Dinner was simple but tasty; breakfast was AMAZING, and the bedroom, sitting room and bathroom were clean, comfortable and stylish - I felt quite posh!
Every thing on our whole romantic weekend away went perfectly - and I have no doubt it was mainly because of our time at Distinction Hotel, and its staff. I've recommended it to others, who have had the same fantastic experience, and we are going back for two nights on a mini-honeymoon in January. I can't wait!!!!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsBoswell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DistinctionMgmt, Manager at Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, 19 April 2010
Thank you very much for taking time to place your comment on Trip Advisor. We are happy to read that the hotel met your expectation during your stay. It is good to hear that you enjoy your romantic weekend. It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and your comments are very important to us.

Thank you again for your feedback; it is with feedback such as yours that we are able to continually improve our service.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Regards

Distinction Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
65 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2009

I booked in with friends through i-Site. I think our rate was $140 NZ/night although the person who booked claimed that the rooms "usually go for $300". Not sure how that could ever be the case.

Hotel was OK - they must do some conference business there. They did have a bar on-site with a little activity on the Sat night we were there. I probably got one of the last rooms, since it was at the end of the hall and tucked underneath the stairwell. It was on the first floor and fairly dark. I'm assuming the 2nd floor rooms overlooking the pool (back side) are probably a little more cheery.

It was fairly cold the nights we were there and I couldn't figure out how to turn on my heat. The lad at the front desk was able to help me out and got things sorted in 5 minutes.

Hotel was a short drive to downtown Rotorua, the hot springs spas, etc, and there was a supermarket fairly close by.

Overall, not bad, but I think you can do better in this area.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank glbtrttr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DistinctionMgmt, Manager at Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, 5 July 2010
Thank you for choosing to stay at Distinction Rotorua in October 2009 and for taking the time to comment on Trip Advisor. Your positive comments in relation to your stay are greatly appreciated by the whole team here at Distinction Rotorua. I was disappointed to read your comments that the hotel did not really meet your expectations. Please accept my sincere apologies. October is one of our busiest months in the hotel especially with conferences; unfortunately that was one of the last rooms that night. We only have two or that types of rooms located under the stairwell and it is the way the hotel was build. Hope this will not prevent you for coming back and looking forward to welcoming you back in Rotorua.

Sincerely
Distinction Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
everywhere
Level Contributor
88 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2009

We chose to stay at The Distinction Hotel because we had a coupon for discounted rate. We planned to stay two nights but the receptionist informed us that the town is booked out for a conference and we had to pay full price for our second night, which we did not. As walk-in customers, they managed to give us a room for the night
We guessed it might be the location, the room smelt of sulphur when we entered. Just the basic room - a place to rest & shower. The indoor spa pool wasn't too bad, felt like being in the Flintstones era, which is interesting.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wtgn_ling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2009

Rooms were old and tired
Stains on room furniture and lamps
Spa area to close to rooms and very noisey at night
Bathroom was old, cracked tiles and mould in shower

We were disappointed as this was recommended as one of the best hotels in Rotorua by the tourist information centre in the town. Would not pay full price for a room and wished we'd seen a room before booking in.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank weens9294
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#20 of 93 in Rotorua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 774 reviews
1.9 mi away
Ibis Rotorua
Ibis Rotorua
#28 of 93 in Rotorua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,084 reviews
1.3 mi away
Millennium Hotel Rotorua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
1.4 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 93 in Rotorua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 660 reviews
0.7 mi away
Rydges Rotorua
Rydges Rotorua
#41 of 93 in Rotorua
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre

Property: Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre
Address: 390 Fenton Street | PO Box 983, Rotorua 3201, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
#32 Romantic Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 133
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TravelUp, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Distinction Rotorua Hotel And Conference Centre
Distinction Hotel Rotorua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing