We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Millenium Magic”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Millennium Hotel Rotorua
Ranked #23 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Reviewed 19 February 2012

Where else would we stay...? Nowhere..! Why..? Because the staff there are so friendly, and the energy of the entire place is so warm and welcoming. There is the odd bit of building maintenance that needs refreshing, but other than that it is the BEST place that we have stayed at in Rotorua. The price is excellent too. Get a room on the top floor with a balcony and enjoy the beautiful views and complimentary access to the Club Bar for pre-dinner drinks and breakfast. Why..? Because YOU deserve the best of hospitality service.

Room Tip: The balcony suites are perfect for low noise and beautiful views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tina V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,336)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,047 - 1,053 of 1,336 reviews

Reviewed 16 February 2012

Your average hotel accommodation with great location! Nice views from our room on the first floor, overlooking Lake Rotorua. Offers free carparking. There is also free Wifi in the lobby area with nice lounge area and good drinks from the bar. They do have their own swimming pool and natural spa pool. There is no gym, but offers free entry to a local gym across the road. Handiest to the Polynesian Spa, and only a short stroll away from cafes, restaurants and shops. Tourism information centre only 2 blocks away.

Room Tip: View of Lake Rotorua ;)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wonol030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2012

Loved the walking and attractions around Rotorua so the hotel was always going to be fondly remembered. I've read other reviews but we certainly had a more than adequate room for our two night stay, didn't want more than the 30 minutes free wi-fi which enabled us to get in touch with elderly relatives at home and only used the restaurant once. This was for the "Sunday roast" which was quite classy and pleasantly served even though we were the only customers! Be prepared for a large number of Asian coach parties. This was the second hotel in our tour of NZ and we had no reason to worry about those to come since this was most agreeable. The front desk staff were helpful and the parking was free. The bathroom was excellent and the Hotel were most efficient and cheap when sending on to a future hotel a pair of shoes which I left behind. A very enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a lake view - the higher the better but ground floor rooms do have access to the lawn area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank owbutt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2012

Rooms are very average and we were in a club floor room over priced for what you get!
management don't seem to tell staff what they have told the customers e.g. you can have your drinks in the bar
only wireless in the lobby and it is free for 20 min
being on the club floor you get no free internet
the bathroom were clean but the hotel needs a major upgrade $220 per night in a room that should be 150 per night
keep in mind a $4 credit card fee apply's for your extras so a $16 in total charge incurs a $4.00 fee
great location but sadly we would not be back
the spa pools were so old they had painted over the tiles on them to make them look fresh
Oh and the high light was the smoke coming out from under the buffet table with a power point on fire! and the staff reaction was very slow THANK GOD no fire came from it as the staff would have no idea what to do

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mattanddan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2012

We stayed in Club room 5518. We had asked for "a quiet room away from the noise of lifts and people". The room met these criteria perfectly along with the most beautiful view of the lake and the Polynesian Spa. There isn't another hotel that matches this hotel on proximity to the lake and spa plus quality (4 star plus). The room has a small, untiled balcony.

The room is well appointed both in hard and soft decoration though slightly battered door frames and a mirror indicate that the room has been only partially refurbished. This isn't really worth mentioning in terms of our experience of the room. The air conditioning unit is fully functional and very efficient in reducing the temperature however its position about 2 feet from the bed and at waist height is unfortunate as this means that it cannot be operated during the night as chilly air wafts over you.

We ate in the Nikau restaurant on the first evening. We had booked there for convenience after a 5 hour drive from Wellington. The restaurant markets itself thus:

“incorporates the indigenous flavours of Aotearoa.”
“innovative cuisine with dinner menus that endorse the uniqueness of New Zealand produce.”

We felt that though the food was certainly good enough to eat, it was not really quite as special as the rather over-sold marketing might suggest. More flavourful and innovative menus are available elsewhere in Rotorua.

Our main problems at the hotel were systemic, relating to the administration of our account. We asked for a Club room with use of the Club Lounge. When we checked in we confirmed this with the check-in clerk and everything seemed fine. However when we went to the evening drinks our name "was not on the list". We asked the waiter to check with Reception and everything seemed fine. At breakfast the same thing occurred, again we asked him to check with Reception and again everything seemed fine. In the evening of the same day the very same thing occurred again! By now as you can imagine we felt rather less than welcome! My partner went down to Reception while the waiter simultaneously rang them and it was finally confirmed that both this evening and the following morning would be fine. When we checked out we paid by EFTPOS not VISA as we had been rung because our card had been cancelled due to fraudulent use by someone using the number in Germany, but later found a VISA charge of $4 added to our account. Nothing to worry about really but after our experience we thought “now just hang on a minute”. We sent an email and they agreed there was an error and asked if we would like the charge reversed to our bank or to our VISA. We wrote back that we wanted it sent to the bank and they replied that they had sent it to our VISA! A bit of a comedy of errors really.

It appears as if it is possible to book a club room without Club access. We did not do this and had specifically wanted Club access because we enjoy that little bit of icing on the cake. We checked with the clerk and if he had said that this was not included in the rate we would have been perfectly happy to pay any additional charge. Having experienced the Millennium Club Lounge in the evening and at breakfast I can say that the service is warm and friendly and the decor is very pleasant. Being at the top of the building the lounge suffers a little from heat build up, so sitting near an open window was necessary. The New Zealand wine in the evening is of good quality and very generously poured. The canapés consist of olives, bread and dips plus a single, small kebab dish. We have experienced canapés in other Club lounges which had more variety, interest and elegance than this. The breakfast is "continental" and almost identical to that in a nearby budget hotel.

In summary, a well positioned room that met most of our needs. We had minor issues with the food and the systems used to run the hotel. Next time we visit Rotorua we will certainly stay at this hotel however as there appears to be the option we will not include use of the Club Lounge and won’t dine in the restaurant as better alternatives exist.

Room Tip: Club rooms have a balcony and the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Int_Academic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2012

Good hotel if you need to stay in Rotorua. We spent 2 nights which was plenty to sprout of area and thermal areas etc.

Rotorua is not best place in NZ.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SueH9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2012

We have stayed at this Hotel a number of times and each time it has been very clean, very comfortable and very consistant.
There are spa rooms which are worth trying to book if you want your own private spa pool in a conservatory type set up - covered and accessed through a sliding door from your room. I try and book one of these rooms everytime.
The Hotel itself is one of the better ones in Rotorua and one of about 3 that I will stay at whilest in Rotorua.
Staff are excellent and very professional.
The gym you can use is fantastic (off premises, basically across the road).
only down side for me is the late night room service menu - overpriced and very limited

Room Tip: If you want your own spa pool book a spa room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank staynova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.5 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
0.3 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
746 reviews
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#17 of 92 in Rotorua
893 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Princes Gate Hotel
Princes Gate Hotel
#25 of 92 in Rotorua
831 reviews
0.4 mi away
Aura Accommodation
Aura Accommodation
#3 of 92 in Rotorua
256 reviews
0.7 mi away
Rydges Rotorua
Rydges Rotorua
#50 of 92 in Rotorua
1,251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Millennium Hotel Rotorua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Millennium Hotel Rotorua

Address: Corner Eruera & Hinemaru Streets, Rotorua 3040, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Rotorua
#18 Business Hotel in Rotorua
#20 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range: £75 - £193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Millennium Hotel Rotorua 4.5*
Number of rooms: 227
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Qualmark rated 4.5 star Resort Hotel with unique architectural design, located across from Polynesian Spa, near shores of Lake Rotorua, government gardens & commercial center. Fantastic facilities including gymnasium, inhouse Dayspa, The Spa, for Beauty & Massage, 2 free hot pools and a private for-hire Spa pool, saunas, 15metre heated swimming pool, Bar Zazu, Restaurant Nikau, Magically Maori Hangi & Concert, Rotorua's only Executive Club Floor with hosted Club Lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Millennium Hotel Rotorua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rotorua Millennium Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing