We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old and run down”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Millennium Hotel Rotorua
Ranked #22 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Old and run down”
Reviewed 22 April 2012

This hotel is in major need of renovation. At first glance, the lobby looks decent - but look closer and you'll notice an old and run down place. The rooms and beds are in even worse shape. There is a full breakfast included, but even that is kind of run down. The onlt good thing about this place is that is it in walking distance to downtown and the Polynesian Spa. If you are on a budget and this place is cheap - it will suffice. If you want to find a place that is a little nicer for your holiday, look elsewhere.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank doab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,226 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    278
    524
    295
    92
    37
See reviews for
250
546
64
146
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (301)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2012

This is the 3rd time I have stayed at this hotel. Great facilities with friendly and helpful staff. As this hotel caters for weekday conferences there are very good weekend prices available, even over Easter. The staff are hardworking but always have time to assist guests including efficient and friendly room and poolside service. Great location too, close to all central attractions and facilities. I would definitely recommend this hotel and will be staying there again myself.

Room Tip: Ask about different room deals available. We had a choice of lake views or complimentary breakfast f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Voyagetripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
auckland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2012

we stayed here over easter break, was a terrible experience from start to finish, the staff were unhelpful, we had to be moved rooms 3 times because they kept mucking it up, finally we got our room which was DIRTY pubic hair in the toilet, wee on it, long black hairs in the shower, lipstick on cups, was not happy at all, spoke to reception she did nothing but say sorry, didnt even get her manager, a long walk from reception to your rooms, is a rabbit warren to get around. Tv had snow like reception def not a 4.5 star hotel would not recommended it to any one, the $28 breakfast is a total waste of money, rubbery eggs and tinned fruit salad, great pool tho and spas, would give it a 1 out of 10 at best -

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank melanie o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rotorua hotels

Newcastle, UK
Level Contributor
47 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2012

We booked here for our Easter weekend 3 day break and have really enjoyed it. The rooms were lovely and clean and the restaurant and bar facilities have good menus with friendly staff.

It's handy that the fabulous Polynesian Spa is just over the road and the main batch of Rotorua restaurants are a ten minute walk at most.

Would stay again.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Reedys8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Highworth UK
Level Contributor
72 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2012

The hotel is in a superb position close to the Polynesian Spa and the town centre. A superbly fitted hotel. We had great room view over the lake.

Hotel is so big that had an 150yd walk from reception to our room. We had an excellent room service evening meal. Reception staff really helpful.

Make sure you hire a private bath at the Polynesian Spa. You get used to the sulphur smell after a few hours.

Room Tip: Room with a view of the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GrecianHighworthUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Havelock North, New Zealand
Level Contributor
174 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2012

Stayed for a single night and were upgraded to a Club Room which was very nice. Receptionist (Jo) is always very welcoming and helpful. Some parts of the hotel are dated as noted in other reviews, but overall we have found it a comfortable hotel that is close to the Rotorua CBD. Yes, there is a sulphur smell that that is the joy of visiting Rotorua and staying close to the lake - it is a weird and wonderful place and that makes it worth visiting! On previous visits the hotel restaurant has been very good, but on this visit we felt the meal represented poor value.

Room Tip: A room overlooking the lake on an upper level is a bonus
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Crazysteveb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horsham sussex
Level Contributor
267 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2012

We had a lakeside room which was great to see the geothermal activity. Breakfast was not uo to a 4 star hotel.

Room Tip: Book a lakeside room avoid breakfast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank suejm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.5 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
0.3 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
689 reviews
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#20 of 92 in Rotorua
820 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
0.1 mi away
Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua
0.7 mi away
Rydges Rotorua
Rydges Rotorua
#46 of 92 in Rotorua
1,187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Millennium Hotel Rotorua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Millennium Hotel Rotorua

Property: Millennium Hotel Rotorua
Address: Corner Eruera & Hinemaru Streets, Rotorua 3040, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Rotorua
#18 Business Hotel in Rotorua
#19 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Millennium Hotel Rotorua 4.5*
Number of rooms: 227
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Qualmark rated 4.5 star Resort Hotel with unique architectural design, located across from Polynesian Spa, near shores of Lake Rotorua, government gardens & commercial center. Fantastic facilities including gymnasium, inhouse Dayspa, The Spa, for Beauty & Massage, 2 free hot pools and a private for-hire Spa pool, saunas, 15metre heated swimming pool, Bar Zazu, Restaurant Nikau, Magically Maori Hangi & Concert, Rotorua's only Executive Club Floor with hosted Club Lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Millennium Hotel Rotorua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rotorua Millennium Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing