We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Millennium Hotel Rotorua
Ranked #22 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Reviewed 20 May 2012

Our party of 4 was upgraded to deluxe lakeview rooms. Didn't spend much time in the hotel, but our room was spacious, clean and had a very comfortable bed. Bathroom has good facilities but water pressure in the shower was so low it was difficult to wash shampoo out of my hair. Location was central, but used our car most of the time when we were out.

Room Tip: Go for a lakeview if you can afford it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suebToowoomba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,324)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,015 - 1,021 of 1,324 reviews

Reviewed 15 May 2012

Great location. Excellent service but rooms need updating.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 108b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2012

We arrived in Rotorua on a spur of the moment road trip from Wellington. We knew it'd be a tourist town, so we weren't worried about finding a place to stay. We stopped at a couple of places to check out prices and finally decided to go to the information center to inquire there.
The attendant suggested Millenium hotel at $125NZD for the night and based on the pictures on the brochure, we decided it would be a good deal.
Boy, were we WRONG! The hotel itself is nice looking. But there is no wifi in the room, you have to pay for the broadband that IS available in the room, their internet services cost too much for what they give you and you only get free wifi in the lobby for 20 minutes PER 24 HOURS!!!
And to top it all off, you get into the room and the best part is the bathroom. The bed was so uncomfortable and the TV was an old clunker with grainy pictures. SO not worth the $125.

We had stepped into another hotel before going to information that offered free wifi and only cost $89 for the night. We shoud've stayed there.

In a town that attracts so many tourists and business people, you would think a hotel would have this one simple ammenity available to guests in order to catch up with work or family/friends, etc. That cannot be done in 20 minutes in a lobby.

I would never reccomend this place.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LuluNairobi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2012

Very standard hotel, that is showing it's age. The room was spacious & clean. I got a cheap deal on the room rate, so can't complain, wouldn't want to pay anymore. Staff friendly & helpful.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hokimai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2012

This hotel is very convenient to everything. I stayed for a conference and found it comfortable and spacious. Enjoyed bath and powerful shower. Nice toiletries. Breakfast was included with plenty of choices. It was better on the second, less busy day. The aircon worked well.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank han024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2012

I stayed here for a conference. Firstly the location of the hotel is fantastic, right in the middle of town near the polynesian spa and the domain with the museum in it. The shops are two minutes walk away. You couldn't ask for a better location in Rotorua.

The hotel itself has seen better days. It was clearly very nice once but it looking a bit tired and shabby. The room is fine, clean, spacious but again a little bit shabby and dated.

The breakfast is truly awful considering what you pay for it. For the money you could walk 50m and be right in amongst Rotorua's cafe district and get a great breakfast for half the price. Really - don't bother paying for breakfast. It's you typical can't-be-bothered-bad-hotel breakfast buffet, edible but not very appetizing, gloopy egg, bacon that looks (and tastes) like has been tanned rather than fried, dry danish pastries, weak bitter coffee from a huge urn..... I am a real pig and will pretty much eat anything but even I struggled.

In summary, great location, perfectly comfortable, very pleasant staff, no big complaints ..... just could do better ... and AVOID THE BREAKFAST.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2012

AC was broken upon check-in, no water bottles were offered for the inconvenience. We kept busy during the day and night to avoid going back to the room. We had the most difficult time trying to shower and get ready for our night activities because the showers steamed up the entire room, making it impossible to even breathe. We mentioned it was our honeymoon before and at check-in, and there was no acknowlegement. The breakfast was poorly made and the service sucked. I nearly took a dive at the buffet area because the floor was wet and no caution signs or cleaning.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank piglet99Scottsale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.5 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
0.3 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
734 reviews
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#18 of 92 in Rotorua
885 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Aura Accommodation
Aura Accommodation
#3 of 92 in Rotorua
242 reviews
0.3 mi away
Princes Gate Hotel
Princes Gate Hotel
#25 of 92 in Rotorua
818 reviews
0.8 mi away
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
#8 of 92 in Rotorua
454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Millennium Hotel Rotorua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Millennium Hotel Rotorua

Address: Corner Eruera & Hinemaru Streets, Rotorua 3040, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Rotorua
#18 Business Hotel in Rotorua
#20 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range: £92 - £201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Millennium Hotel Rotorua 4.5*
Number of rooms: 227
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Qualmark rated 4.5 star Resort Hotel with unique architectural design, located across from Polynesian Spa, near shores of Lake Rotorua, government gardens & commercial center. Fantastic facilities including gymnasium, inhouse Dayspa, The Spa, for Beauty & Massage, 2 free hot pools and a private for-hire Spa pool, saunas, 15metre heated swimming pool, Bar Zazu, Restaurant Nikau, Magically Maori Hangi & Concert, Rotorua's only Executive Club Floor with hosted Club Lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Millennium Hotel Rotorua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rotorua Millennium Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing