We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chrisp autumn stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Millennium Hotel Rotorua
Ranked #24 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Auckland
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Chrisp autumn stay”
Reviewed 8 June 2012

Enjoyed warm and friendly service and appreciated well heated facilities. Gym and spa well used with helpful staff and easy access. Restaurant meal a highlight

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Murray B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,262 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    286
    540
    303
    94
    39
See reviews for
258
564
64
150
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (306)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2012

Stayed here for one night during the bank holiday weekend. Had a 4th floor Deluxe Lakeview Room.

Firstly it is quite obvious this was once the premier hotel in Rotorua, however it appears a little faded now. The set out of the hotel is very good, the views and location also great.

I must also say the service was very good, staff were very friendly and helpful. Also felt like the lady in the Bar Zazu would prefer to be somewhere else. Maybe a little personality there would go a long way, the bar and restaurant also looked tired with dated colour schemes and a terrible looking water feature with pipes going to each 'bowl'.. better to take this out completely i'd say.

The restaurant also looked very empty for a friday night, couldn't comment on it as didn't dine there though.

The rooms are average, beds appeared to be a little old and not the most comfortable. Bathrooms however were reasonable. Also wouldn't mind at least a chair on the balcony wouldn't go a miss.

Overall a pretty 'okay' stay. Service is definitely fine but the hotel needs some investment to bring it up to standard. I also believe the price was little high at $225 for the night.

Room Tip: Choose Lakeview Room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank auckguy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights over the bank holiday weekend. It was pretty busy - I think a lot of people were staying there for the Destiny Church conference over the weekend. Our room was OK - a bit tired but clean and warm. The poor lady working in the bar in the evening obviously wished she was somewhere else. Breakfast was OK - not as bad as some other reviewers have said but things kept running out as it was so busy and so had to keep waiting for toast, pancakes, bacon, coffee etc etc. The staff were doing their best - I think they just need more staff for this busy time. The pool was busy and not that warm so only our kids swam. The hot pools in the spa were nice though. I think it's not a bad place to stay if you can get a good price as the location is very central for walking to restaurants, shops, Polynesian Spa & museum.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mona84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Muscat
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2012

I stayed for 2 nights in this hotel and the rooms are of the reasonable size with standard amenities. the hotel rooms need refurbishing. location was good with a store right opposite to the hotel. walk able to restaurants and shops.
breakfast was a disappointment & if you request for an omlette when you enter it will reach you by the time you leave. can have more selection of fruits and nuts.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank barani007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2012

I was a bit wary before going to this hotel for a business meeting, as the reviews were very uneven; I was particularly worried about the quality of service. Nevertheless, the receptionist was extremely enthusiastic and friendly at my arrival and stuff were helpful whenever I requested information. Checkout was speedy and painless.

The rooms are OK, but the TV was a total let down. A small CRT TV with crappy reception in this day and age? Expensive internet and no wireless option? If they fix that I would give it 4 stars in my next visit.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zentree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toowoomba
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2012

Our party of 4 was upgraded to deluxe lakeview rooms. Didn't spend much time in the hotel, but our room was spacious, clean and had a very comfortable bed. Bathroom has good facilities but water pressure in the shower was so low it was difficult to wash shampoo out of my hair. Location was central, but used our car most of the time when we were out.

Room Tip: Go for a lakeview if you can afford it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suebToowoomba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2012

Great location. Excellent service but rooms need updating.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 108b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.5 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
0.3 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
707 reviews
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#18 of 92 in Rotorua
848 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua
0.4 mi away
Aura Accommodation
Aura Accommodation
#3 of 92 in Rotorua
187 reviews
1.0 mi away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Millennium Hotel Rotorua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Millennium Hotel Rotorua

Property: Millennium Hotel Rotorua
Address: Corner Eruera & Hinemaru Streets, Rotorua 3040, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Rotorua
#18 Business Hotel in Rotorua
#21 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Millennium Hotel Rotorua 4.5*
Number of rooms: 227
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Qualmark rated 4.5 star Resort Hotel with unique architectural design, located across from Polynesian Spa, near shores of Lake Rotorua, government gardens & commercial center. Fantastic facilities including gymnasium, inhouse Dayspa, The Spa, for Beauty & Massage, 2 free hot pools and a private for-hire Spa pool, saunas, 15metre heated swimming pool, Bar Zazu, Restaurant Nikau, Magically Maori Hangi & Concert, Rotorua's only Executive Club Floor with hosted Club Lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with World Independent Hotel Promotion, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Millennium Hotel Rotorua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rotorua Millennium Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing