We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It's just ok”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Millennium Hotel Rotorua
Ranked #24 of 93 Hotels in Rotorua
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“It's just ok”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2012

We stayed in an executive (club room) which was located on the 5th floor and had a beautiful view of the lake.

The room was pretty tired but it was clean. The bed was comfortable enough. The air conditioning was very noisy so we turned it off and opened the window.

The executive rooms have access to the Club Lounge. We went along for pre dinner drinks and nibbles. The waiter was very helpful and attentive. The lounge itself has a nber of comfortable arm chairs and sofas. There was a good range of wine and beer, as well as cheeses, cured meats, breads etc.

The executive rooms also include complimentary continental breakfast, served in the lounge. When we arrived for breakfast a sign read that breakfast was to be served in the restaurant downstairs. We got down to the restaurant and the staff had no idea about the club lounge breakfasts, so we had to convince them! A little niggle but it would be helpful of there was more communication between the staff :)

Overall we had an ok stay but didn't find the hotel to be particularly exciting or memorable.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sophie_L_2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,198 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    269
    510
    291
    91
    37
See reviews for
243
538
63
138
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (295)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
53 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2012

The room was a bit small but it had a great view of the lake and also Polynesian Spa. The sunrise was amazing from the patio of the room. Our room was near the lake and the entrance to the hotel was on the main road so we had a long walk between the check-in desk and our room. It was not too bad.

Parking can be an issue since there is at least another hotel in the area and everyone is trying to park. We went in the wintertime so I can only imagine getting worst in the summer time when it would be ideal to visit this location.

It is close to the downtown area where we ventured out to get something to eat. There are better value hotels in the area but this should be better in terms of quality.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank evildoughboi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pipiana W, General Manager at Millennium Hotel Rotorua, responded to this review, 2 February 2015
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I appreciate receiving your feeback as this is the best way to ascertain our standards of comfort and service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2012

Stayed here for a conference on the premises! Good conference facilities, adequate room and close to town.
Smell of sulphur throughout - but that's part of the Rotorua experience.
Very friendly staff, although I was overcharged for meals and even though promised a refund - none was received.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scatty51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
80 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2012

The Hotel was clean and what we expected as far as service and helpful staff.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darrel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
87 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2012

Stayed recently for business.
The hotel is a little tired as mentioned in previous posts. I stayed in a premium room with 2 double beds which was fine, but could do with an update to most fittings (old & worn), but the room was very clean.
Ate one night in the restaurant - lovely meal, and the gas log fire is a nice touch on a cold evening. Breakfasts were average - $22 for full breakfast but only instant coffee is included - you have pay extra for your cappuccino.
Staff are really lovely - all friendly and helpful without exception
The internet deal is a shocker - you get 20 mins of free internet in reception (continuous from first log-in so you can't spread it over the day), and if you sign up to internet in your room (ethernet cable) which is meant to be $115 over 7 days with up to 1000MB in downloads you get hammered because in the fine print you find you are charged a whopping .60 per minute (so your $115 plan is used up in around 3 hours of continuous usage).
Location is good - very handy to city and quick trip to airport.
Probably wouldn't stay here again, but was handy for my meetings.....

Room Tip: Lakeside rooms have a nice view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RedFraggle47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level Contributor
59 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2012

We went to Rotorua to soak in Polynesian Spa. The hotel is so close to it. Staff were helpful. The room was not amazing but very clean and comfortable. we sill stay again.

Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank tanuchao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
93 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 244 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2012

Tired hotel in need of some TLC. We stayed on a club room floor with a view over t.he Lake and Polynesian Spa. Service of the front desk was helpful given the available resources. The front desk manager worked incredible hours and had a good balance. This is a do it your self hotel so don't expect concierge services, valet parking or the like. We ate two nights in the restaurant and asked them both nights to turn on the gas fire. Creates a nice little bit of ambience, would be good if they just had it on to warm the room. Certainly created a nice flow. Our room was fine given the view, the club lounge was a little stiff and vacant, preferred the downstairs restaurant.

Room Tip: Use clubs floors overlooking lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RICHSHAR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.5 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
0.3 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 93 in Rotorua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 674 reviews
1.0 mi away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#18 of 93 in Rotorua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 797 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua
0.3 mi away
Princes Gate Hotel
Princes Gate Hotel
#39 of 93 in Rotorua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Millennium Hotel Rotorua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Millennium Hotel Rotorua

Property: Millennium Hotel Rotorua
Address: Corner Eruera & Hinemaru Streets, Rotorua 3040, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Rotorua
#18 Business Hotel in Rotorua
#21 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Millennium Hotel Rotorua 4.5*
Number of rooms: 227
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Qualmark rated 4.5 star Resort Hotel with unique architectural design, located across from Polynesian Spa, near shores of Lake Rotorua, government gardens & commercial center. Fantastic facilities including gymnasium, inhouse Dayspa, The Spa, for Beauty & Massage, 2 free hot pools and a private for-hire Spa pool, saunas, 15metre heated swimming pool, Bar Zazu, Restaurant Nikau, Magically Maori Hangi & Concert, Rotorua's only Executive Club Floor with hosted Club Lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Millennium Hotel Rotorua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rotorua Millennium Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing