We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Millennium Hotel Rotorua
Ranked #23 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Reviewed 13 October 2012

Stayed here with my partner and our 4 children and nanny, got two adjoining rooms one king and one with 2 x doubles and a single.
Rooms were on the lower ground floor and although not part of the recent refit were very adequate for the 7 of us.
Heated indoor pool and large family spas got a lot of use during our time there.
Included in the package was buffet breakfast, which although was adequate could of been staffed a little more. It was school holidays and the hotel was fully booked out, a few more staff to clear and set tables and a few more kitchen staff would of seen this get a 5 star review.

Room Tip: If you are travelling as a family the rooms on the ground floor are fine, otherwise try a club room
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dion K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pipiana W, General Manager at Millennium Hotel Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2015

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I appreciate receiving your feeback as this is the best way to ascertain our standards of comfort and service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,271)
There are newer reviews for Millennium Hotel Rotorua
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

926 - 932 of 1,272 reviews

Reviewed 12 October 2012

Great location for attending a conference at Events Centre and close enough to town to make it an easy walk to the main street and alterabtive restaurants etc. Polynesian Spa just behind hotel if required but hotel has quite adequate spa of its own. Staff very professional - in recption, at the bar and when cleaning rooms. Hotel is well-dressed but beginning to look a touch tired. Could do with a makeover in near future but worth it for a reliable professional standard hotel.

Room Tip: A very nice inner courtyard garden - worth asking for a room that overlooks this.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandra T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pipiana W, General Manager at Millennium Hotel Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2015

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I appreciate receiving your feeback as this is the best way to ascertain our standards of comfort and service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2012 via mobile

I've stayed in a number of hotels in rotovegas, but have been so brilliantly surprised by this old favorite. Been around for years but well done to millennium for keeping fresh & modern. Feels and is so comfortable to stay. Lovely spa.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caroline C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pipiana W, General Manager at Millennium Hotel Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2015

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I appreciate receiving your feeback as this is the best way to ascertain our standards of comfort and service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2012

I've been to the Millennium several times now, and always find it good value for money.
The rooms are standard, but very adequate; the public areas impressed my granddaughter (aged 13), who said she felt 'out-of-place' because we had arrived clutching a bunch of bananas! The swimming pool was very crowded, but that was only to be expected in the school holidays. The breakfast was GREAT -- scrambled eggs nice and creamy, plump sausages, good-sized rashers of bacon, and proper fried new potatoes, not 'hash browns'.
We also had a pleasant evening meal, which again was reasonably priced. My only complaint would be that there weren't really enough staff on duty for Sunday breakfast, so the coffee was slow in coming.

Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
Thank Alexandra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pipiana W, General Manager at Millennium Hotel Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2015

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I appreciate receiving your feeback as this is the best way to ascertain our standards of comfort and service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2012

Review for Millennium Hotel Rotorua
Positives:
* Great location handy to everything
* Great swimming pool, spa pools, sauna
* Daily breakfast awesome
* Great value for money
* Clean and tidy rooms
* Plenty of parking in and around the Hotel
* Represents good value for money
* Views of the lake are awesome

Negatives:
* Arrived at 2pm for checkin and was told rooms were not ready until approx 3:30pm - were told to go and do something and come back later. I think considering checkout time is 10am having 4 hours to ready to rooms is more than enough.
* Towels for the swimming pool should be provided with each room rather than having to pickup from reception everytime we run out.
* Airconditioning units in room keep you awake with constant humming noice despite the units being switched off.
* Shower head sprays in multiple directions with minimal shower water pressure.
* Some floor signage needs updating and needs to be more clearer etc.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pipiana W, General Manager at Millennium Hotel Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2015

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I appreciate receiving your feeback as this is the best way to ascertain our standards of comfort and service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2012

We stayed here over the last week and while it was comfortable enough, it could do with a bit of updating. The room numbers were confusing and one of our party had someone open her door with a key that they had been given at reception - not pleasant for her to have a man open the door to her room! Otherwise, it wasn't bad. The restaurant and bar are amazing, and their best asset. Breakfast was a bit hodgepodge and very expensive down at the poolside cafe.
Overall not a bad place to stay, close to everything and comfortable. Definitely eat at the restaurant. Nikau is reasonably priced with incredible food and service.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Punkysmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pipiana W, General Manager at Millennium Hotel Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2015

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I appreciate receiving your feeback as this is the best way to ascertain our standards of comfort and service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2012

We attended a conference over the weekend at the Millennium Hotel. It is well positioned to the city center, it is within walking distant and the Polynesian Spa is at the end of the road, and the Museum a short walk away. The spa and pool area at the Hotel is a very pleasant although some seats would be nice. The hotel was very comfortable.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claudia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pipiana W, General Manager at Millennium Hotel Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2015

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I appreciate receiving your feeback as this is the best way to ascertain our standards of comfort and service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.5 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
0.3 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
717 reviews
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#17 of 92 in Rotorua
859 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Aura Accommodation
Aura Accommodation
#3 of 92 in Rotorua
206 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua
1.0 mi away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Millennium Hotel Rotorua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Millennium Hotel Rotorua

Address: Corner Eruera & Hinemaru Streets, Rotorua 3040, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Rotorua
#18 Business Hotel in Rotorua
#20 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range: £68 - £167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Millennium Hotel Rotorua 4.5*
Number of rooms: 227
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Qualmark rated 4.5 star Resort Hotel with unique architectural design, located across from Polynesian Spa, near shores of Lake Rotorua, government gardens & commercial center. Fantastic facilities including gymnasium, inhouse Dayspa, The Spa, for Beauty & Massage, 2 free hot pools and a private for-hire Spa pool, saunas, 15metre heated swimming pool, Bar Zazu, Restaurant Nikau, Magically Maori Hangi & Concert, Rotorua's only Executive Club Floor with hosted Club Lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Millennium Hotel Rotorua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rotorua Millennium Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing