We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Millennium Hotel Rotorua
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,420)
Filter reviews
1,421 results
Traveller rating
315
601
351
103
51
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
315
601
351
103
51
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspolynesian spaclub roomlake viewlarge hotelbuffet breakfastper dayduty managerlobby areanew zealandgovernment gardenscentral locationsulphur smellone night staycomfortable staytown centreeat streetspa pool
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
895 - 900 of 1,421 reviews
Reviewed 30 October 2013

We stayed 2 nights at and found the overall experience very good apart from the glaringly poor service in the small bar(Zazu?) on the 2 occasions we ate/drank there.
Bar staff completely ignored us on both occasions for several minutes and when we were finally served, the woman serving was humourless and clearly didn't want to be there. The second night we tried to get service, the young barman who was actually off duty at the time and having a quiet drink with a friend, took pity on us, took our order and we finally were served. My friend waiting beside me to be served, said she felt 'invisible' and had to ask the 2 servers for attention as they fiddled with the cash register and wouldn't look up. Needless to say, we didn't patronise the bar a third time!
Location is great - opposite Polynesian Pools and a short stroll to attractions and eateries.
However, the rooms were comfortable and clean with a large TV, adequate bathroom and more room than many hotels with a similar tariff. The inclusive breakfast is a bonus and although a little tired in places, the hotel was clean and well maintained and staff were lovely to deal with in every area except the bar.
We would stay again but would definitely avoid the bar !

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the lake!
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank McKanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pipiana W, General Manager at Millennium Hotel Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2013

I'm pleased you found the overall experience of your recent stay very good but was however dissapointed to read your comments regarding the bar service you encountered. I have discussed your feedback with the bar staff and have re-iterated our normal level of service delivery which were obviously not extended on both occasions you were in there and for this I apologise. It was heartening to read you found the rest of the staff lovely to deal with and that you would stay again, we look forward to welcoming you back. Kind Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

We stayed here overnight. The hotel itself is in a good location. Overall the hotel and rooms are looking dated and need refurbishing. The pillows were average and quite thin. From looking around rotorura there are much better accommodation options and we wouldn't stay here again.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Jenant143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pipiana W, General Manager at Millennium Hotel Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2013

I'm sorry to hear you wouldn't stay again but do wish to advise we have a rooms refurbishment planned shortly which will also include new beds & bedding with new pillows. I hope the rest of your travels in New Zealand went well and thank you for taking the time to post your feedback on Trip Advisor. Kind Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Great place, Helpful and friendly staff. We loved the warm 29 degrees pool. Delicious breakfast. Nicely fitted rooms. Nice price. Good central location, yet very close to the lakeside, where there are walking paths. We will definately stay there again.

Room Tip: Our room was a standard double, but had everything there.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IRidz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pipiana W, General Manager at Millennium Hotel Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

We are happy that you "loved it" too and that it was a great place to stay with helpful & friendly staff. Do come back again, I'm sure there are many more interesting walking paths to try out.
Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Now I understand that Rotorua's environmental conditions must place special stresses on people trying to manage buildings, but in the case of the Millenium Hotel it must go down as a place to stay where the staff try to make up for the failings of the building.

Everything about the place - once you get outside the grand entrance and bar area is older and tireder than you expect. It desperately needs a re-fresh. Even the little touches currently let it down - "you've been upgraded to a lake view room with balcony" should make you happy and give you something to enjoy, until you find that the "balcony is a 6 foot by 2 foot concrete slab with no chair or table to enjoy it. Best you don't look up at the rusting steel beams either!!

Even the hotel's layout lets it down - the pool looked lovely, and very inviting - except I didn't fancy doing my lengths before 06:30 when the poolside area is given over to the breakfast buffet; and then from 18:45 it is again out of bounds for the cultural show... strange way to maximise use of the pool!!

Room Tip: lakeview rooms worth having for the view, if not the "balcony"
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Palmytaff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pipiana W, General Manager at Millennium Hotel Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

Thank you for posting your feedback and yes the sulphur in our environment does pose certain challenges. I can advise we do have continuous maintenance programme in place and likewise we have planning underway for a rooms refresh and also some upgrading of our public spaces.
Thank you again for your comments. Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

We were very pleased with out two nights stay. Location was spot on, just a short walk away from shops and Civic Centre. The spa pool and heated pool were an added attraction. Breakfast was included in our room deal, the choice of food was your typical buffet style selection. We will return to this hotel again. Found the staff very helpful and went that extra mile. The room was fine, bed comfortable, new flat screen TV. Bathroom big, shower fine, towels were soft and fluffy, quality toiletries were supplied.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fredandkarolynne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pipiana W, General Manager at Millennium Hotel Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

The hotel is in a perfect location to venture out easily in to the city. I am pleased our staff were helpful and went the extra mile and that you got to enjoy the heated pool and spas during your stay.Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback and we look forard to your return.
Kind Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews