We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“this is the Place to Stay in Rotorua”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Millennium Hotel Rotorua
Ranked #22 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Reviewed 31 October 2013

To those of you who don't appreciate the team spirit, the professionalism, the dedication of the teams behind the teams....move on.

What if the hotel need TLC? What if it took 20 mns to check in? The millenium hotel is like a great dinner. Appreciate it, feel it. We have been using the Millenium for 4 or 5 years 3 or 4 time a year. This is not a B&B. This is IT. This is the Millenium Spirit.
So enjoy it or move on.
JPE Hvd
Auckland

Room Tip: Just enjoy the spirit and the Great Team
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A3803XX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pipiana W, General Manager at Millennium Hotel Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2013

Thank you for commenting on our great team and the spirit of the hotel, it is appreciated and I will certainly share your comments with all the staff. We thank you for choosing to stay at Millennium when travelling to Rotorua and look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,326)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

811 - 817 of 1,326 reviews

Reviewed 30 October 2013

We stayed here 3 nights - I thought it was excellent - clean and spacious and the rooms are nicely laid out. It's not particularly dated like many reviews state - those people must be very fussy as I thought it was neat and clean. It's not my taste stylistically but just your typical hotel - perfectly functional! We got a great price for bed and breakfast on the hotel's own website - in my opinion still the cheapest way to book a hotel (unless you have the entertainment book). My one criticism is that it was far too HOT in there. I had to throw open the balcony door - it was sweltering. A small thing as well: the hotel knew we were two adults and two kids yet they only provided three towels. I find that annoying as they obviously accept that kids stay free - why not provide enough towels without me having to chase them up. I can't be bothered having to ring housekeeping. Apart from that, top marks.

Room Tip: Lakeview rooms nice if you can get a good deal
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KatieWellington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pipiana W, General Manager at Millennium Hotel Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2013

Thank you for giving us top marks and for your feedback on your three night stay here with the family. I have passed on your comment regarding the extra towel to Housekeeping and with the change of season can also advise our air-conditioing systems are now set on summer mode. We hope we see you return again for a break in the near future. Kind Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

We stayed 2 nights at and found the overall experience very good apart from the glaringly poor service in the small bar(Zazu?) on the 2 occasions we ate/drank there.
Bar staff completely ignored us on both occasions for several minutes and when we were finally served, the woman serving was humourless and clearly didn't want to be there. The second night we tried to get service, the young barman who was actually off duty at the time and having a quiet drink with a friend, took pity on us, took our order and we finally were served. My friend waiting beside me to be served, said she felt 'invisible' and had to ask the 2 servers for attention as they fiddled with the cash register and wouldn't look up. Needless to say, we didn't patronise the bar a third time!
Location is great - opposite Polynesian Pools and a short stroll to attractions and eateries.
However, the rooms were comfortable and clean with a large TV, adequate bathroom and more room than many hotels with a similar tariff. The inclusive breakfast is a bonus and although a little tired in places, the hotel was clean and well maintained and staff were lovely to deal with in every area except the bar.
We would stay again but would definitely avoid the bar !

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the lake!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank McKanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pipiana W, General Manager at Millennium Hotel Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2013

I'm pleased you found the overall experience of your recent stay very good but was however dissapointed to read your comments regarding the bar service you encountered. I have discussed your feedback with the bar staff and have re-iterated our normal level of service delivery which were obviously not extended on both occasions you were in there and for this I apologise. It was heartening to read you found the rest of the staff lovely to deal with and that you would stay again, we look forward to welcoming you back. Kind Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

We stayed here overnight. The hotel itself is in a good location. Overall the hotel and rooms are looking dated and need refurbishing. The pillows were average and quite thin. From looking around rotorura there are much better accommodation options and we wouldn't stay here again.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Jenant143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pipiana W, General Manager at Millennium Hotel Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2013

I'm sorry to hear you wouldn't stay again but do wish to advise we have a rooms refurbishment planned shortly which will also include new beds & bedding with new pillows. I hope the rest of your travels in New Zealand went well and thank you for taking the time to post your feedback on Trip Advisor. Kind Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Great place, Helpful and friendly staff. We loved the warm 29 degrees pool. Delicious breakfast. Nicely fitted rooms. Nice price. Good central location, yet very close to the lakeside, where there are walking paths. We will definately stay there again.

Room Tip: Our room was a standard double, but had everything there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IRidz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pipiana W, General Manager at Millennium Hotel Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

We are happy that you "loved it" too and that it was a great place to stay with helpful & friendly staff. Do come back again, I'm sure there are many more interesting walking paths to try out.
Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Now I understand that Rotorua's environmental conditions must place special stresses on people trying to manage buildings, but in the case of the Millenium Hotel it must go down as a place to stay where the staff try to make up for the failings of the building.

Everything about the place - once you get outside the grand entrance and bar area is older and tireder than you expect. It desperately needs a re-fresh. Even the little touches currently let it down - "you've been upgraded to a lake view room with balcony" should make you happy and give you something to enjoy, until you find that the "balcony is a 6 foot by 2 foot concrete slab with no chair or table to enjoy it. Best you don't look up at the rusting steel beams either!!

Even the hotel's layout lets it down - the pool looked lovely, and very inviting - except I didn't fancy doing my lengths before 06:30 when the poolside area is given over to the breakfast buffet; and then from 18:45 it is again out of bounds for the cultural show... strange way to maximise use of the pool!!

Room Tip: lakeview rooms worth having for the view, if not the "balcony"
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Palmytaff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pipiana W, General Manager at Millennium Hotel Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

Thank you for posting your feedback and yes the sulphur in our environment does pose certain challenges. I can advise we do have continuous maintenance programme in place and likewise we have planning underway for a rooms refresh and also some upgrading of our public spaces.
Thank you again for your comments. Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

We were very pleased with out two nights stay. Location was spot on, just a short walk away from shops and Civic Centre. The spa pool and heated pool were an added attraction. Breakfast was included in our room deal, the choice of food was your typical buffet style selection. We will return to this hotel again. Found the staff very helpful and went that extra mile. The room was fine, bed comfortable, new flat screen TV. Bathroom big, shower fine, towels were soft and fluffy, quality toiletries were supplied.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fredandkarolynne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pipiana W, General Manager at Millennium Hotel Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

The hotel is in a perfect location to venture out easily in to the city. I am pleased our staff were helpful and went the extra mile and that you got to enjoy the heated pool and spas during your stay.Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback and we look forard to your return.
Kind Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.5 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
0.3 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
736 reviews
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#18 of 92 in Rotorua
886 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Aura Accommodation
Aura Accommodation
#3 of 92 in Rotorua
246 reviews
0.3 mi away
Princes Gate Hotel
Princes Gate Hotel
#28 of 92 in Rotorua
819 reviews
0.8 mi away
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
#10 of 92 in Rotorua
455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Millennium Hotel Rotorua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Millennium Hotel Rotorua

Address: Corner Eruera & Hinemaru Streets, Rotorua 3040, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Rotorua
#18 Business Hotel in Rotorua
#20 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range: £89 - £198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Millennium Hotel Rotorua 4.5*
Number of rooms: 227
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Qualmark rated 4.5 star Resort Hotel with unique architectural design, located across from Polynesian Spa, near shores of Lake Rotorua, government gardens & commercial center. Fantastic facilities including gymnasium, inhouse Dayspa, The Spa, for Beauty & Massage, 2 free hot pools and a private for-hire Spa pool, saunas, 15metre heated swimming pool, Bar Zazu, Restaurant Nikau, Magically Maori Hangi & Concert, Rotorua's only Executive Club Floor with hosted Club Lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Odigeo, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Millennium Hotel Rotorua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rotorua Millennium Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing