We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Millennium Hotel Rotorua

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Millennium Hotel Rotorua
Ranked #23 of 93 Hotels in Rotorua
Whakatane, New Zealand
Level Contributor
112 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Nice Stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

Just stayed here one night but found it really lovely although some areas could do with a bit of a "spruce up". It is really conveniently located and only a short walk to a number of attractions. Check in was easy and the beds lovely. The only really bad thing were the showers - the worst shower I have very had - the spray noozles were so far apart it was just about impossible to actually get wet!! Apart from that we were really happy with our short stay and would stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TwinkD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pipiana W, General Manager at Millennium Hotel Rotorua, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay and I am pleased you were happy with your short stay and that you will return again, we look forward to welcoming you back. I have noted the comment regarding the shower and we are currently in the process of replacing the heads in some of the rooms that appear to be not spraying efficiently. Best Wishes for a safe Xmas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,171 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    264
    500
    284
    87
    36
See reviews for
237
523
62
136
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (287)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
74 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013

I selected this hotel because it offered a good internet rate which included breakfast, and was well located to the bus station, Rotorua Museum and Government Gardens. It is huge with 350 rooms, but quite nice with a Maori-inspired lobby and a lovely blooming garden at its center. Our room was spacious with large windows and a chic roomy bath. When we inquired at the desk about where to book a Maori Hangi feast, they offered to book for us and just charge it to our room. We were immediately booked for the same evening--no hassle. The breakfast buffet on the lower level was expansive, and carried quite a high price tag, so we were delighted to have gotten the included rate.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paola010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pipiana W, General Manager at Millennium Hotel Rotorua, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Thank you for posting your feedback following your recent trip to Rotorua and for choosing the hotel due to its handy location to the bus stop and some great inner city sights such as the Government Gardens and the Museum. I hope you enjoyed the Maori cultural experience evening and that you take home some wonderful holiday memories of our city and your travels. Best Wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berwick, Victoria
Level Contributor
269 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013 via mobile

Always stay here every few months when on business. Quality of restaurant very good Club Lounge package is the best. Great view of lake , comfortable and good standard.
Wifi in room makes it easy for business but you can only sign up one device otherwise you need to buy another pass.

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank GriffinFamily4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pipiana W, General Manager at Millennium Hotel Rotorua, responded to this review, 15 December 2013
Thank you for returning to stay with us on your business visits to Rotorua and I'm pleased you enjoy the quality of the restaurant and the Club facilities and services. We hope to see you again in the New Year and all the best for the festive season. Kind Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
farnham common
Level Contributor
299 reviews
178 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013

After a busy day enjoying Rotorua, the geysers, steaming hot springs and mud pools we decided to go to the comfort of a hotel rather than a B&B or motel. The Millenium met what we were looking for but was no more than acceptable. A welcoming lobby, pleasant lounge and room reasonably well fitted, were its good points; the not-so-good points were its wifi – we could not connect, the room backed-on to the bus park and was noisy and breakfast, after being hit by coach loads of visitors was poor. Overall, we might give it a poor Recommend but our tip would be to drive on to Mt Manganui where the real quality is.

Room Tip: Don't get a room on the side where the coaches park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JandJFarnhamCommon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pipiana W, General Manager at Millennium Hotel Rotorua, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback and I apologise if you were interrupted by coaches on the street. There are bus parks further down the road, so they should not have been parking across what are actually carparks, we will monitor this more closely from now on. We do have wifi through all areas and rooms within the hotel and I was not aware there had been any connection problems over this period. Nothing has been logged in the system to indicate there were issues so I am unsure as to why this occurred. I am pleased you enjoyed the lobby and lounge areas and likewise your room, so do hope we see you return. Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2013

To those of you who don't appreciate the team spirit, the professionalism, the dedication of the teams behind the teams....move on.

What if the hotel need TLC? What if it took 20 mns to check in? The millenium hotel is like a great dinner. Appreciate it, feel it. We have been using the Millenium for 4 or 5 years 3 or 4 time a year. This is not a B&B. This is IT. This is the Millenium Spirit.
So enjoy it or move on.
JPE Hvd
Auckland

Room Tip: Just enjoy the spirit and the Great Team
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank A3803XX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pipiana W, General Manager at Millennium Hotel Rotorua, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Thank you for commenting on our great team and the spirit of the hotel, it is appreciated and I will certainly share your comments with all the staff. We thank you for choosing to stay at Millennium when travelling to Rotorua and look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

We stayed here 3 nights - I thought it was excellent - clean and spacious and the rooms are nicely laid out. It's not particularly dated like many reviews state - those people must be very fussy as I thought it was neat and clean. It's not my taste stylistically but just your typical hotel - perfectly functional! We got a great price for bed and breakfast on the hotel's own website - in my opinion still the cheapest way to book a hotel (unless you have the entertainment book). My one criticism is that it was far too HOT in there. I had to throw open the balcony door - it was sweltering. A small thing as well: the hotel knew we were two adults and two kids yet they only provided three towels. I find that annoying as they obviously accept that kids stay free - why not provide enough towels without me having to chase them up. I can't be bothered having to ring housekeeping. Apart from that, top marks.

Room Tip: Lakeview rooms nice if you can get a good deal
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KatieWellington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pipiana W, General Manager at Millennium Hotel Rotorua, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Thank you for giving us top marks and for your feedback on your three night stay here with the family. I have passed on your comment regarding the extra towel to Housekeeping and with the change of season can also advise our air-conditioing systems are now set on summer mode. We hope we see you return again for a break in the near future. Kind Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

We stayed 2 nights at and found the overall experience very good apart from the glaringly poor service in the small bar(Zazu?) on the 2 occasions we ate/drank there.
Bar staff completely ignored us on both occasions for several minutes and when we were finally served, the woman serving was humourless and clearly didn't want to be there. The second night we tried to get service, the young barman who was actually off duty at the time and having a quiet drink with a friend, took pity on us, took our order and we finally were served. My friend waiting beside me to be served, said she felt 'invisible' and had to ask the 2 servers for attention as they fiddled with the cash register and wouldn't look up. Needless to say, we didn't patronise the bar a third time!
Location is great - opposite Polynesian Pools and a short stroll to attractions and eateries.
However, the rooms were comfortable and clean with a large TV, adequate bathroom and more room than many hotels with a similar tariff. The inclusive breakfast is a bonus and although a little tired in places, the hotel was clean and well maintained and staff were lovely to deal with in every area except the bar.
We would stay again but would definitely avoid the bar !

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the lake!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank McKanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pipiana W, General Manager at Millennium Hotel Rotorua, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
I'm pleased you found the overall experience of your recent stay very good but was however dissapointed to read your comments regarding the bar service you encountered. I have discussed your feedback with the bar staff and have re-iterated our normal level of service delivery which were obviously not extended on both occasions you were in there and for this I apologise. It was heartening to read you found the rest of the staff lovely to deal with and that you would stay again, we look forward to welcoming you back. Kind Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.5 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
0.3 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 93 in Rotorua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 660 reviews
1.0 mi away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#20 of 93 in Rotorua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 774 reviews
0.3 mi away
Princes Gate Hotel
Princes Gate Hotel
#39 of 93 in Rotorua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Millennium Hotel Rotorua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Millennium Hotel Rotorua

Property: Millennium Hotel Rotorua
Address: Corner Eruera & Hinemaru Streets, Rotorua 3040, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Rotorua
#18 Business Hotel in Rotorua
#20 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Millennium Hotel Rotorua 4.5*
Number of rooms: 227
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Qualmark rated 4.5 star Resort Hotel with unique architectural design, located across from Polynesian Spa, near shores of Lake Rotorua, government gardens & commercial center. Fantastic facilities including gymnasium, inhouse Dayspa, The Spa, for Beauty & Massage, 2 free hot pools and a private for-hire Spa pool, saunas, 15metre heated swimming pool, Bar Zazu, Restaurant Nikau, Magically Maori Hangi & Concert, Rotorua's only Executive Club Floor with hosted Club Lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TravelUp, HotelsClick and Ebookers so you can book your Millennium Hotel Rotorua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rotorua Millennium Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing