We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, lovely service, but a few niggles”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Millennium Hotel Rotorua
Ranked #24 of 93 Hotels in Rotorua
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good location, lovely service, but a few niggles”
Reviewed 3 February 2014

We had an enjoyable stay on the whole but were disappointed by two issues: firstly our special rate included a 30 minute massage at the hotel spa but when I tried to make an appointment the only time available was 9.30am the next morning. The hotel did allow us a late checkout but I thought it was a bit poor. Also we had a twin room which supposedly was able to sleep 4 (ie two adults and 2 children) but the two "double" beds were definitely on the narrow side for 2 adults... in fact not even wide enough to fit two pillows! This was a particular disappointment and made for a pretty restless night for everyone - certainly has not been an issue in any other similarly-bedded room I have stayed in. Would wonder whether the superior rooms are any better in this aspect - it would be well worth the cost of the upgrade if the beds are bigger. On the whole though we had great service and the kids loved the buffet breakfast and the pool, so not a bad stay - just could be better.

Room Tip: The twin beds are very narrow - definitely not proper double-sized beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pipiana W, General Manager at Millennium Hotel Rotorua, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Hi, thanks for taking the time to give your feedback. Please accept my apologies that you were unable to book a Spa treatment at a time to suit. We make an effort to phone guests prior to them arriving so that an appointment can be made well in advance, to avoid disappointment. Sorry we missed you on this occasion. There's also a note on the website encourging people to pre-book, especially on the weekends, but this can be overlooked.
Our twin - double-bed rooms are soon to be replaced with two Queen beds making a more comfortable night for families.
I hope you will consider returning some time in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,195 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    269
    510
    290
    89
    37
See reviews for
241
537
63
138
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (295)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
300 reviews
200 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 259 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014

Stayed for one night. Quiet location. The place is somewhat dated and has a confusing layout. Good size room with comfortable bed. Good size bathroom, although dated. Shower with poor shower head. Amenities include coffee maker and safe that fits laptop. Wifi was included for our group. Breakfast with very limited selection.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cqfp123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pipiana W, General Manager at Millennium Hotel Rotorua, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Thank you for your feedback. We're looking forward to our guest room and lobby upgrade in the next few months. The Brasserie breakfast buffet is quite extensive, so I wonder if your comment refers to our Club Lounge Healthy breakfast and you were expecting a full buffet?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berwick, Victoria
Level Contributor
269 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2014 via mobile

Always good to return to my favorite Rotorua hotel. Thank you for making me feel welcome again.

Love the location and view of the lake. Rex always looks after me in the Club Lounge.

Would like to see a lamb dish return to the menu in the Restaurant next time.

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank GriffinFamily4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pipiana W, General Manager at Millennium Hotel Rotorua, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
We're happy your enjoyed your stay and you felt welcome to the hotel.
We currently have a lamb shank special every Monday night, however with the change of menu for Winter we will ensure we include a lamb dish!
Look forward to seeing you back one day soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Jakarta Raya, Indonesia
Level Contributor
302 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2014

We spent two nights in this old, but nice & clean hotel that was very good located. The hotel had a big lobby. The staff were nice, kind and helpful. Our room was spacious with clean and convenient bed that provided us good sleep. The bathroom was also spacious, however, the shower nozzle was leaking. The hotel provided a 20 minutes free wifi connection per day in the lobby. Unfortunately (again), the choices for breakfast were not so broad, especially for our Moslem group members as there were not so many halal food for them ....... :-( Nevertheless, the Hangi Dinner in this hotel was nice and attractive which buffet dinner offered plenty of food of various choices .......

Room Tip: Try to get a room with the lake view :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Octovianus G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pipiana W, General Manager at Millennium Hotel Rotorua, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write following your stay with us. We're pleased you enjoyed your stay, and had a good sleep.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014 via mobile

The hotel's in a good location and is easy to fine, it has loads of parking and very helpful staff. Nice bar area and the swimming pool was a bonus.
The room was of a good size and had everything you'd need.

The staff recommended various places to see and could book them for you. Definitely on the right side of town for the many attractions the town has to offer.
Well worth a visit.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Paul A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pipiana W, General Manager at Millennium Hotel Rotorua, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Thank you for your positive feedback. Happy you enjoyed your stay and found the staff helpful in recommending places to visit.
We hope you will return one day soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester
Level Contributor
177 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Stayed for two nights whilst exploring this exciting city.
Reception were excellent, but the concierge was the jewel in the crown here - he was from San Francisco and I recall that he was called Sam. He gave us some great tips over which Maori show to attend, the museum, the Polynesian spa etc. Thanks to him we made the most of our brief stay.
Room was great, reasonable size. Great lake view - watching the steam rise was a wonderful experience. Bathroom was standard sized. Cleaning was great - and considerate.
Laundry facilities were good, but on the expensive side - however, the hotel laundry was located next to the guest facilities and their staff were very helpful.
We ate in the hotel restaurant one night (thunderstorm so didn't want to venture far). Food was good with a $20 special being extra good value. We rate their service.
Pool was good sized, two hot spas to soak in. Bar service was good too. Beware - the swimming pool can be accessed from the street so be careful with any valuables you may leave unattended whilst you swim - common sense I know but worth a mention.
Excellent location close to everything in the city - which is laid out very sensibly.
We loved out stay here.
Oh, and free car-parking.

Room Tip: Lake views are brilliant - worth the extra you pay to stay in them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ClareandChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pipiana W, General Manager at Millennium Hotel Rotorua, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write, we appreciate your positive feedback.
We're happy you loved your stay and hope you will return one day soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
65 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2014

I stayed here for one night on a business trip to Rotorua. I'm not going to do a big review as this is a chain hotel with the usual accoutrements. The room was large and well equipped, I had a view of the lake, which is nice. The room took quite a bit of finding as the lifts you get to first when you leave reception don't go to the guest rooms on the 4th floor? I know! So I came back down, went over a walkway and found another lift which did go to the guest rooms on the 4th floor. Go figure. Anyway. inside the lift is no signage advising what is on any of the floors. SO make a note which floor reception is on as it's on the 2nd floor, which is kind of the ground floor but not quite.

I couldn't be bothered going out for my meal so I chose to eat in the restaurant. I had a duck thing to start that was $16 but should have been $10. I had a fish thing for my main course which was over $30 and should have been $15. The wine is over priced as well. The food and beverage is priced like a premium hotel which it has no justification for based on the quality and range. Very poor value for too much money.

The rooms have a mini bar but my room had no price list so I gave it a miss except for a small bottle of water, which as you'll know in most hotels is complementary. Not here, they wanted $5 for a small bottle of water!! I know!

The wired broadband costs about $29 for 24 hours which is information super highway robbery. The Wifi is free for 20 mins or so but who charges for cabled internet supply? The millennium Rotorua do that's who.

Would I stay here again? Maybe, if I got a great deal on a booking site as the room was fine and the staff were very nice. I wouldn't eat or drink anything again in the hotel though, so lesson learned.

Happy travels

Room Tip: Ask for a lake view room, if you want to see the lake of course
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sandysviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pipiana W, General Manager at Millennium Hotel Rotorua, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
Thank you for posting your comments on Trip Advisor. I do appreciate the time you have taken to share your thoughts. Please accept my apologies that you did not feel you received value for money in the restaurant. I am working closely with our Executive Chef to ensure consistently high standards are maintainted in all food outlets.
The Housekeeping staff have been reminded to ensure the minibar lists are replaced following a room clean. We do provide free chilled filtered water in the lobby and conference room areas for those not wanting to purchase minibar bottled water.

Your comments regarding wifi costs are also appreciated, and noted for future.

I do hope you will consider returning next time you are in Rotorua.

regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.5 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
0.3 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 93 in Rotorua
672 reviews
1.0 mi away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#19 of 93 in Rotorua
792 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua
0.3 mi away
Princes Gate Hotel
Princes Gate Hotel
#39 of 93 in Rotorua
743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Millennium Hotel Rotorua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Millennium Hotel Rotorua

Property: Millennium Hotel Rotorua
Address: Corner Eruera & Hinemaru Streets, Rotorua 3040, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Rotorua
#18 Business Hotel in Rotorua
#21 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Millennium Hotel Rotorua 4.5*
Number of rooms: 227
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Qualmark rated 4.5 star Resort Hotel with unique architectural design, located across from Polynesian Spa, near shores of Lake Rotorua, government gardens & commercial center. Fantastic facilities including gymnasium, inhouse Dayspa, The Spa, for Beauty & Massage, 2 free hot pools and a private for-hire Spa pool, saunas, 15metre heated swimming pool, Bar Zazu, Restaurant Nikau, Magically Maori Hangi & Concert, Rotorua's only Executive Club Floor with hosted Club Lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Millennium Hotel Rotorua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rotorua Millennium Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing