We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel, Good Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Millennium Hotel Rotorua
Ranked #23 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Reviewed 30 April 2014 via mobile

This is a nice, clean hotel with comfortable rooms and friendly staff. It is only a few minutes walk from the lake and from the restaurant row. There seems to be sufficient off-street parking if you've driven a car to Rotorua. It's not a RitzCarlton, but it would be very satisfactory for the rest of us 99%.the nearby hydrothermal vents give off a stench of sulfur, so keep your windows closed at night. This scent is not unique to this hotel, but can be found all over town

Stayed: April 2014
Thank Madison W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pipiana W, General Manager at Millennium Hotel Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Dear madison W
I appreciate you taking the time to write with your feedback following your recent stay with us. I'm happy you enjoyed the hotel, location and of course the friendly staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,271)
There are newer reviews for Millennium Hotel Rotorua
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

682 - 688 of 1,272 reviews

Reviewed 27 April 2014

Comfortable and our room had a great view of the lake. Very quiet, convenient to most of Rotorua's restaurants and shopping district. The buffet breakfast was decent nothing special, but good fresh fruit selection.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a view of Lake Rotorua.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jall55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pipiana W, General Manager at Millennium Hotel Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Thanks for your feedback. I'm pleased you enjoyed your stay at Millennium Rotorua.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

The hotel is well situated in the centre of the town and within easy reach of museum and gardens. The hotel is though rather rambling and to gain access to our room, we had to walk along several corridors with the lifts being rather badly positioned. The corridors and rooms felt dated. We did not eat at the hotel during our two night stay as we had already made other arrangements. The breakfast though was good.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frank B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pipiana W, General Manager at Millennium Hotel Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Dear Frank B. Thanks for your feedback following your stay with us. Pleased you enjoyed your stay and breakfast was good!.
The hotel is one of Rotorua's largest and as such, with 227 rooms to access, some of the corridors can be quite long.
Our eagerly awaited room refurbishment is set to take place in the very near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Polynesian spa is next door and only a short walk to Rotorua museum and intercity bus stop. Plenty of shops, restaurants and ATM nearby. Service is good, staffs are helpful.
My room looks a bit outdated and chair need to be replaced but it has nice view of the lake so overall it was a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mike66jakarta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pipiana W, General Manager at Millennium Hotel Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Dear Mike
Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback on Tripadvisor. I'm pleased you enjoyed your time with us. Your comment regarding the room is noted, and as advised in other posts, I am happy to advise we have a planned room refurbishment planned in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

The Millennium seemed a place of two halves, a very swanky reception and public area, lots of carved wood but, if our experience was anything to go buy, some very tired guest rooms in dire need of a serious revamp. Our room was allegedly a 'superior' but when I questioned what made it superior was told it was because we looked outwards, rather than onto the inner courtyard. The one chair in the room was an absolute disgrace, the plastic covering was disintegrating and you couldn't sit on it without getting bits of plastic over you, and it took two visits to reception to get it changed.

This wasn't the only Millennium Hotel we stayed in on a lengthy trip to NZ, but this was the worst in terms of decor and standards, but like the others I felt it offered poor value for money, very expensive wi fi once you'd used the free 20 minutes in reception, and a 1.5% surcharge if you paid by credit card, neither very helpful for foreign visitors. I we ever return to NZ I will make a point of avoiding the Millennium chain

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Noosaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pipiana W, General Manager at Millennium Hotel Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Thank you for your feedback. All comments have been noted.
Please accept my apologies for the disappointment you felt with your stay. I can advise the refurbishment of our remaining rooms will take place in this quarter and we are looking forward to offering our guests a superior product.
I do hope you enjoyed the rest of your time in New Zealand

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We stayed for one night over Easter and went for an Executive Club Lounge room. I'd recommend this, as it's a pretty good deal. We had a room on the fifth floor, which looked out on the lake. The deal also includes access to the club lounge. It's not super flash, but is well worth it as it includes continental breakfast and also snacks (cheese and crackers etc) and drinks in the evening. Our only grumble was that we thought the atmosphere of the lounge would be far more pleasant if the volume of the television was turned down and if it was relegated to the far end of the room, as it's central location dominates the lounge.

The room was pleasant and looked to have been recently refurbished, with new carpet and a new bathroom fit out. However, the showerheads are hopeless. I'm not sure if it's some sort of water saving design, but the spray has gaps in it, so that you end up with dry patches!

There is a heated pool, two large spa pools and a sauna. We didn't use the pool, but enjoyed using the spa.

The staff were mostly friendly, however the receptionist on arrival was abrupt. We were greeted with "checking in?", no welcome or good evening. She also told us drinks weren't included in the club lounge. This didn't seem to be the case, as we had a glass of wine each and juice in the morning and did not have any extra charges when we checked out.

The hotel is in a quiet location, away from the main road and next to the Polynesian Spa. It's about a 10 minute walk to the main restaurant area. A solid choice.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank RaqueDD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pipiana W, General Manager at Millennium Hotel Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Thank you for your feedback and I'm pleased you enjoyed the Club Floor, Club Lounge and the Spa facilities. Your suggestion regarding the TV location has been noted, with thanks.
I apologise you were not greeted in a friendly manner by Reception, as is expected when arriving at our hotel. I will be discussing this further with the receptionist concerned.
I do hope the next time you are in Rotorua you will choose to return to stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Arrived tired after a drive from Auckland, having had 30 hr flight two days before from the UK to be told that our room wasn't ready and this was at 2:30pm. We decided to have lunch but restaurant only open in the evening. Cafeteria by pool is where we ended up and ordered a burger and sandwich and after many requests to check on why we are waiting after 30mins, 40 mins and an hour, we were told the chef (surely they don't just have the one!) says he's too busy with a party to cater for hotel guests. So, we were tired, hungry, no room and generally not pleased at all.
When we did get our room at 3:30pm, it was pleasant with a good view of the lake. Breakfast was good with a huge choice. Concierge was extremely helpful and recommended very good places to visit and also recommended the Polynesian Spa to help our jet lag, what a fab decision.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Moosie57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pipiana W, General Manager at Millennium Hotel Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Thank you for writing with your feedback. Your arrival didn't go well and I apologise for this. I am astonished to read your comments regarding your experience at our poolside café! Please accept my sincere apologies and you can rest assured I will be taking this up with the poolside staff and our Executive Chef. We certainly do cater for our guests at all times, including being able to offer lunch at Cha Bar.
I'm pleased however, once you got to your room, it appears the rest of your stay was a pleasant one.
Enjoy the rest of your time in New Zealand.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.5 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
0.3 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
717 reviews
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#17 of 92 in Rotorua
859 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Aura Accommodation
Aura Accommodation
#3 of 92 in Rotorua
206 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua
1.0 mi away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Millennium Hotel Rotorua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Millennium Hotel Rotorua

Address: Corner Eruera & Hinemaru Streets, Rotorua 3040, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Rotorua
#18 Business Hotel in Rotorua
#20 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range: £68 - £167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Millennium Hotel Rotorua 4.5*
Number of rooms: 227
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Qualmark rated 4.5 star Resort Hotel with unique architectural design, located across from Polynesian Spa, near shores of Lake Rotorua, government gardens & commercial center. Fantastic facilities including gymnasium, inhouse Dayspa, The Spa, for Beauty & Massage, 2 free hot pools and a private for-hire Spa pool, saunas, 15metre heated swimming pool, Bar Zazu, Restaurant Nikau, Magically Maori Hangi & Concert, Rotorua's only Executive Club Floor with hosted Club Lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Millennium Hotel Rotorua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rotorua Millennium Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing