We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Poor facilities, few food selections” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Millennium Hotel Rotorua

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Millennium Hotel Rotorua
Ranked #23 of 93 Hotels in Rotorua
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Poor facilities, few food selections”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014 via mobile

Great location. However, poor facilities, and few food selections.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Xin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pipiana W, General Manager at Millennium Hotel Rotorua, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
I appreciate you taking the time to write with your comments following your stay. I apologise that we did not meet your expectations. We always strive to maintain high standards both in food and service, and I am disappointed we did not on this occasion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,168 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    264
    500
    282
    86
    36
See reviews for
237
520
62
136
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (286)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Masterton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

Great location for Rotorua Marathon and accessing the CBD - however room was billed as Superior twin and the beds were very small- at best a double - room was small and generally very 'budget' feel- which at $190 a night isnt that budget...
We had to ring the desk to get the heating working and the porter was not very friendly and we felt that we were an annoyance ( even though it took him a wrench and adjustment of valve to fix....It wasnt that I couldnt use it!) , I asked for a jug of milk that never arrived, and extra pillows as there was only two on the bed- the TV reception was poor and trying to work out how it worked was impossible Given it is supposed to be 4.5 star hotel how come there isnt Wi-Fi?!!! and to use it is expensive ...not impressed at all

Room Tip: if you get a CHEAP deal the hotel is worth staying at as the location is great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SkinnyGreyhound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pipiana W, General Manager at Millennium Hotel Rotorua, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Thank you for your feedback, and please accept my sincere apologies we did not meet your expectations during your stay for the Rotorua Marathon. I can advise we are in the final stages of preparing for a room refurbishment and we're looking forward to offering our guests new beds, linen and furnishings in the rooms.
Rest assured your comments regarding service have been followed up with the departments concerned.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rotorua hotels

Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
117 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014 via mobile

This is a nice, clean hotel with comfortable rooms and friendly staff. It is only a few minutes walk from the lake and from the restaurant row. There seems to be sufficient off-street parking if you've driven a car to Rotorua. It's not a RitzCarlton, but it would be very satisfactory for the rest of us 99%.the nearby hydrothermal vents give off a stench of sulfur, so keep your windows closed at night. This scent is not unique to this hotel, but can be found all over town

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Madison W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pipiana W, General Manager at Millennium Hotel Rotorua, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear madison W
I appreciate you taking the time to write with your feedback following your recent stay with us. I'm happy you enjoyed the hotel, location and of course the friendly staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spotsylvania, Virginia
Level Contributor
78 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

Comfortable and our room had a great view of the lake. Very quiet, convenient to most of Rotorua's restaurants and shopping district. The buffet breakfast was decent nothing special, but good fresh fruit selection.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a view of Lake Rotorua.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jall55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pipiana W, General Manager at Millennium Hotel Rotorua, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Thanks for your feedback. I'm pleased you enjoyed your stay at Millennium Rotorua.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014

The hotel is well situated in the centre of the town and within easy reach of museum and gardens. The hotel is though rather rambling and to gain access to our room, we had to walk along several corridors with the lifts being rather badly positioned. The corridors and rooms felt dated. We did not eat at the hotel during our two night stay as we had already made other arrangements. The breakfast though was good.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pipiana W, General Manager at Millennium Hotel Rotorua, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear Frank B. Thanks for your feedback following your stay with us. Pleased you enjoyed your stay and breakfast was good!.
The hotel is one of Rotorua's largest and as such, with 227 rooms to access, some of the corridors can be quite long.
Our eagerly awaited room refurbishment is set to take place in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

Polynesian spa is next door and only a short walk to Rotorua museum and intercity bus stop. Plenty of shops, restaurants and ATM nearby. Service is good, staffs are helpful.
My room looks a bit outdated and chair need to be replaced but it has nice view of the lake so overall it was a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mike66jakarta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pipiana W, General Manager at Millennium Hotel Rotorua, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear Mike
Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback on Tripadvisor. I'm pleased you enjoyed your time with us. Your comment regarding the room is noted, and as advised in other posts, I am happy to advise we have a planned room refurbishment planned in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich
Level Contributor
154 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

The Millennium seemed a place of two halves, a very swanky reception and public area, lots of carved wood but, if our experience was anything to go buy, some very tired guest rooms in dire need of a serious revamp. Our room was allegedly a 'superior' but when I questioned what made it superior was told it was because we looked outwards, rather than onto the inner courtyard. The one chair in the room was an absolute disgrace, the plastic covering was disintegrating and you couldn't sit on it without getting bits of plastic over you, and it took two visits to reception to get it changed.

This wasn't the only Millennium Hotel we stayed in on a lengthy trip to NZ, but this was the worst in terms of decor and standards, but like the others I felt it offered poor value for money, very expensive wi fi once you'd used the free 20 minutes in reception, and a 1.5% surcharge if you paid by credit card, neither very helpful for foreign visitors. I we ever return to NZ I will make a point of avoiding the Millennium chain

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Noosaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pipiana W, General Manager at Millennium Hotel Rotorua, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Thank you for your feedback. All comments have been noted.
Please accept my apologies for the disappointment you felt with your stay. I can advise the refurbishment of our remaining rooms will take place in this quarter and we are looking forward to offering our guests a superior product.
I do hope you enjoyed the rest of your time in New Zealand
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.5 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
0.3 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 93 in Rotorua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 660 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#20 of 93 in Rotorua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 772 reviews
1.0 mi away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
0.3 mi away
Princes Gate Hotel
Princes Gate Hotel
#38 of 93 in Rotorua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Millennium Hotel Rotorua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Millennium Hotel Rotorua

Property: Millennium Hotel Rotorua
Address: Corner Eruera & Hinemaru Streets, Rotorua 3040, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Rotorua
#18 Business Hotel in Rotorua
#19 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Millennium Hotel Rotorua 4.5*
Number of rooms: 227
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Qualmark rated 4.5 star Resort Hotel with unique architectural design, located across from Polynesian Spa, near shores of Lake Rotorua, government gardens & commercial center. Fantastic facilities including gymnasium, inhouse Dayspa, The Spa, for Beauty & Massage, 2 free hot pools and a private for-hire Spa pool, saunas, 15metre heated swimming pool, Bar Zazu, Restaurant Nikau, Magically Maori Hangi & Concert, Rotorua's only Executive Club Floor with hosted Club Lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK) and TravelUp so you can book your Millennium Hotel Rotorua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rotorua Millennium Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing